New Cel codes after removing Midpipe - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-14-2015, 03:08 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
RomanG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Whittier
Region: California
Posts: 163
New Cel codes after removing Midpipe

Yesterday i had installed a lethal performance H pipe. After having ground clearance issues i removed the H pipe and reinstalled my factory pipe.

2 codes had come up

P0365 which is Camshaft position sensor B circuit bank 1

And

P0369 Camshaft position sensor B circuit intermittent bank 1.

It is also important to mention that I had installed a used BBK 73mm throttle body at the same time, which is still on the car.

Has anyone had a problem with this sensor, where is the location and how could it be fixed. Thank you.
RomanG is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-14-2015, 03:12 PM   #2
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by RomanG View Post
Yesterday i had installed a lethal performance H pipe. After having ground clearance issues i removed the H pipe and reinstalled my factory pipe.

2 codes had come up

P0365 which is Camshaft position sensor B circuit bank 1

And

P0369 Camshaft position sensor B circuit intermittent bank 1.

It is also important to mention that I had installed a used BBK 73mm throttle body at the same time, which is still on the car.

Has anyone had a problem with this sensor, where is the location and how could it be fixed. Thank you.
BBK throttle body=trouble for almost everyone
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 03:13 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
RomanG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Whittier
Region: California
Posts: 163
How so?
RomanG is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-14-2015, 03:14 PM   #4
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by RomanG View Post
How so?
They throw codes often. Bbk being crap is one thing around here most people agree on lol
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 03:16 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
RomanG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Whittier
Region: California
Posts: 163
Would these codes and the throttle body be related though
RomanG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 03:34 PM   #6
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Lots of things can cause the code. Could be as simple as a bad alternator, could be a voltage issue.
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 03:49 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Voltwings's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 3,451
My BBK on my old 2001 had the throttle position sensor in a whacked spot, you had to shave the mounting holes or it would idle at like 2000 rpms lol ... Something very similar could be at play here. Typically in my experience, crankshaft codes come from increased idle or idle airflow that the computer is not expecting.

When going from 2" to 3" - 3.5" intakes the airspeed velocity slows down a lot, and can often register lower amounts. What we had to do (mazdaspeed platform) was literally zero out the MAF below a certain point and raise the idle up a few hundred rpm to get the velocity back up. All the sensors on today's cars are really sensitive to changes and things like this.
Voltwings is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 04:12 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
AJcruz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: OKC
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by natestang07 View Post
BBK throttle body=trouble for almost everyone
6K mi. and zero problems with my BBK TB or my shorty headers
AJcruz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 04:41 PM   #9
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJcruz1 View Post
6K mi. and zero problems with my BBK TB or my shorty headers
Do you want a cookie?
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 10:32 PM   #10
Registered Member

Regular
 
Socal Stangman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Temecula Ca.
Region: California
Posts: 1,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by natestang07 View Post
Do you want a cookie?
I don't think it's fair to say all of BBK stuff is crap. Some times you get a bad part, that's life. To say all their stuff is bad,I wouldn't agree with that at all.
Socal Stangman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 10:39 PM   #11
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Socal Stangman View Post
I don't think it's fair to say all of BBK stuff is crap. Some times you get a bad part, that's life. To say all their stuff is bad,I wouldn't agree with that at all.
I don't like their headers and their throttle bodies don't seem worth the likelihood of hassle.
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 10:54 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
iguanaman3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Bokeelia
Region: Florida
Posts: 327
Not liking is one thing but make stuff up to bad mouth them is not right. I have used the BBK 73mm throttle body for over a year and am quite pleased. It doesn't throw codes and I have never heard of that happening either. They use the same Ford electronics and drive so they are no more likely to go bad than stock and they give a definite boost in mid range power which is where the Cyclone needs it most.
iguanaman3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 11:14 PM   #13
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by iguanaman3 View Post
Not liking is one thing but make stuff up to bad mouth them is not right. I have used the BBK 73mm throttle body for over a year and am quite pleased. It doesn't throw codes and I have never heard of that happening either. They use the same Ford electronics and drive so they are no more likely to go bad than stock and they give a definite boost in mid range power which is where the Cyclone needs it most.
I don't see where I made things up at all. I along with many around would not put BBK stuff on my car due to quality and problems. Seems like at least 3 or 4 times a month someone pops up with a problem pertaining to bbk.
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 11:57 PM   #14
Registered Member

Regular
 
Socal Stangman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Temecula Ca.
Region: California
Posts: 1,872
Lets just move on. His thread is not about bashing any product. Let's see if he could get some help. Thanks
Socal Stangman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 12:23 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
NewMtang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 1,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by natestang07 View Post
Do you want a cookie?
Got any Oreos?
__________________
2013 Silver V6 Premium, Ford Racing Handling Package, MGP Black Caliper Covers, Airaid CAI, Bama Tuner, BBK Catted X-Pipes, Corsa Sport Axle-Back Exhaust, Alum One Piece Driveshaft, BBK Ceramic Shorties, Whiteline Adj. UCA, Whiteling ADJ. Lower Control Arms, Whiteline Adj. Pan Hard Bar, Upgraded Rotors (Cross Cut and Drilled), Ceramic Pads, J&M Stainless Steel Brake Lines (Front and Back), 18" Staggered Chrome Bullitts, MMD Eleanor Side Scoops, Side Scoops, Roush Front and Lower Grilles and Super Snake Stripes.
NewMtang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 12:25 AM   #16
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Socal Stangman View Post
Lets just move on. His thread is not about bashing any product. Let's see if he could get some help. Thanks
To be fair he was getting help and ideas until you guys came in..

---------- Post added at 10:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:24 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by NewMtang View Post
Got any Oreos?
My pregnant wife does not let those hang around for long lol
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 01:24 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
iguanaman3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Bokeelia
Region: Florida
Posts: 327
You are right. So I would say there is no chance those codes are from the BBK throttle body. He needs to look else where. Could be that some wire got damaged in the midpipe install.
iguanaman3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 06:47 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
2011fastford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: albuquerque
Region: New Mexico
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by natestang07 View Post
BBK throttle body=trouble for almost everyone
never heard of any body having issues with the bbk throttle body, a few here and there with shorty headers.. i've been running one on my car for about 30k miles.
__________________

2011 Mustang V6 auto/procharger p1sc kit with 3.70 pulley/circle d 3200 stall/4:10 gears/dss aluminum driveshaft/tial q bov/bbk long tubes with catted x pipe/dynomax ultra flo catback/bbk throttle body/accel super coils/cyclone ported upper and lower intake manifolds/brembo front brake kit
INSTAGRAM @2011fastford505
2011fastford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 04:17 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
RomanG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Whittier
Region: California
Posts: 163
After removing BBK throttle body and resetting the codes and battery, both codes reappeared shortly after.

Might be a placebo, but oddly enough the car feels alot more sluggish. Not sure whats going on.

Will have to jack up the car and recheck the 4 sensors connected to the midpipe.
RomanG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 04:19 PM   #20
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by RomanG View Post
After removing BBK throttle body and resetting the codes and battery, both codes reappeared shortly after.

Might be a placebo, but oddly enough the car feels alot more sluggish. Not sure whats going on.

Will have to jack up the car and recheck the 4 sensors connected to the midpipe.
After that it could be a voltage issue
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 04:27 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
RomanG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Whittier
Region: California
Posts: 163
Where would that stem from?
RomanG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 04:28 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
RomanG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Whittier
Region: California
Posts: 163
Where is that sensor even located on our 3.7?

From what i understand those 4 sensors on the midpipe are oxygen sensors if im not mistaken
RomanG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 04:38 PM   #23
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by RomanG View Post
Where is that sensor even located on our 3.7?

From what i understand those 4 sensors on the midpipe are oxygen sensors if im not mistaken
You are correct about the o2 sensors being on the midpipe. Let me look around a bit.
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 04:49 PM   #24
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Man I'm having a tough time tracking that down online lol
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 05:29 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
RomanG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Whittier
Region: California
Posts: 163
Same here, apparently beamers have this problem more than anything.
RomanG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 09:51 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
RomanG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Whittier
Region: California
Posts: 163
After doing a little bit of research i found the position sensor from motor craft. However im not sure if the Bank A sensor is different from the bank B sensor. (Doubt it)

However this sensor does not look familiar what soever and cant find it on the car. If anyone could possibly chime in with this.

Ive also been reading that its possibly failing due to a bad alternator. Apparently a failing alternator sends out high Ac waves affecting the sensor?

Will be looking for the location of the sensor in the meantime lol.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	170
Size:	130.8 KB
ID:	180097  
RomanG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 09:54 PM   #27
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by RomanG View Post
After doing a little bit of research i found the position sensor from motor craft. However im not sure if the Bank A sensor is different from the bank B sensor. (Doubt it)

However this sensor does not look familiar what soever and cant find it on the car. If anyone could possibly chime in with this.

Ive also been reading that its possibly failing due to a bad alternator. Apparently a failing alternator sends out high Ac waves affecting the sensor?

Will be looking for the location of the sensor in the meantime lol.
I said alternator from the beginning lol
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 10:03 PM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
RomanG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Whittier
Region: California
Posts: 163
Didnt see that lol, got distracted by the mentioning of cookies on my thread
RomanG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 10:04 PM   #29
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by RomanG View Post
Didnt see that lol, got distracted by the mentioning of cookies on my thread
I would start there first. If you are going to buy a new sensor check out Rockauto. They have great prices
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 10:08 PM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
RomanG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Whittier
Region: California
Posts: 163
Just found their website and it is pretty cheap. Im trying to find a schematic of the sensor layout on the engine, to dark here to try and find it.
RomanG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 03:12 PM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
RomanG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Whittier
Region: California
Posts: 163
Update:

Spoke with Jared from Mpt (very helpful) about the revision of the tune. I am expecting the tune to be emailed today. I informed him of the problem that occured after i uploaded the tune. He said i will receive the tune today, to upload it and run te car for a bit to see if anything different happens. If nothing good happens i will be switching out to a new sensor. I believe i found thr location of them (back of the engine block)
RomanG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 03:26 PM   #32
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by RomanG View Post
Update:

Spoke with Jared from Mpt (very helpful) about the revision of the tune. I am expecting the tune to be emailed today. I informed him of the problem that occured after i uploaded the tune. He said i will receive the tune today, to upload it and run te car for a bit to see if anything different happens. If nothing good happens i will be switching out to a new sensor. I believe i found thr location of them (back of the engine block)
Did he say it could be tune related?
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 09:44 AM   #33
Registered Member
Regular
 
AJcruz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: OKC
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by natestang07 View Post
Do you want a cookie?

Don't like there stuff then don't buy it. I simply stating my experience. Dick!
AJcruz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 01:08 PM   #34
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJcruz1 View Post
Don't like there stuff then don't buy it. I simply stating my experience. Dick!
That took awhile! Your cookies are already gone bro
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2015, 01:24 PM   #35
Registered Member
Regular
 
RomanG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Whittier
Region: California
Posts: 163
Edit: found the problem! After digging around the engine on my day off, i found the problem. One of the wires connecting to a camshaft sensor was ripped. Must of occured when changing out the midpipe. Removing this sensor involved removing the uppet manifold to make room behind the block. Wiring will be replaced today and and will update the results.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	426
Size:	1.40 MB
ID:	180367  
RomanG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help CEL codes Vazqueza90 1979-1995 Mustang GT 12 02-08-2015 11:57 AM
Smoking after O/r midpipe RollDat 2011-2014 Mustang GT 11 08-30-2014 02:47 AM
Help with CEL codes 96smoke 1996-2004 Mustang GT 7 03-20-2014 04:08 PM
CEL and 2 codes, need help Kevo91 1996-2004 Mustang GT 12 04-29-2013 02:39 PM
Problem - throwing CEL codes Eturner 1996-2004 Mustang GT 13 10-05-2012 04:56 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



11:42 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.