Warranty and mods - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 05-26-2015, 12:46 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Warranty and mods

Hey guys, noob here but does anyone know if changing the headers and the factory mid pipe void the warranty? I plan on getting bbk ceramic shorty headers and mrt high flow catted h pipe. Do these require a tune? Also, would both these combined with borla atak sound too obnoxious?

Sent from my SM-N910T using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Advertisement

Old 05-26-2015, 01:22 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Headers would void warranty forsure. I mean I'm pretty sure you could take them off before you took it in and be ok as long as you can't tell you messed with it. but if you tune it I believe you have to put the stock tune back in it and drive a couple hundred miles. If I'm not mistaking they can check it more than a couple hundred miles back but from what I understand most places won't go through it that far. Think it just kind of depends on the dealer for the most part though.
regattabluefox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 04:29 AM   #3
Staff

Regular
Staff

Region: Connecticut
According to Ford a tune MAY be reason to void good bits of your wtty. I imagine you will need one for those mods. Newer ECU's (like yours) have a non-resettable counter in them so they can tell it's been changed. I will say some of the wtty decision comes from your dealer and having a relationship with them can help. I do my own service and only use them for wtty work but I buy filters from them and make it a point to say "hi" to my sales person every time I go in. It helped me once with a wtty claim.
Advertisement

Old 05-26-2015, 06:54 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Massachusetts
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegreenofguam View Post