Boom!!! - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-02-2015, 01:02 PM   #1
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Boom!!!

13 14 Ford Mustang Speedometer Speedo Cluster LKQ | eBay

Have at it guys. You know your 13/14 base models want this.
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-02-2015, 01:33 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 73
Ooooo I really want that. How many steps are there to get it all functioning correctly?


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Dhawk1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 01:39 PM   #3
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You gotta get the steering wheel buttons - Ford Mustang Shelby GT 500 LH Steering Wheel Navigation Switch 2013 2014 | eBay

You then have to get the Ford VCM II tool - (This is for example) China vcm ii for Ford New Ford ids vcm 2 scan tool Ford ids v94 patch

Lastly, you will need the AS Built sheet from a 13/14 Premium with similar features as yours (Reverse Sensing, etc) - https://www.motorcraftservice.com/vd...ageid=&gutsid=

You have to purchase a 72 hour description to Motorcrafts database to fetch the codes.

The VCM tool is to allow you to enter certain codes to allow Track Apps and MyColor (in some situations) to work. Also, you need the VCM tool to reprogram your keys or your car will not start with the swapped cluster.

Expect to spend about 500-700 altogether getting everything for this. I did this for mine and it was well worth it.

This is just a high level overview. I don't remember the exact specifics as I did mine back in December/January.
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-02-2015, 01:41 PM   #4
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Here is a how to video:
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 01:43 PM   #5
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
That doesn't look like a 13-14 overlay. Unless it's a boss?


IG @Oxford5pointoh
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 01:55 PM   #6
Registered Member

Regular
 
tym_v6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Suck it, Goodell
Region: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,340
^ From memory, that looks exactly like my 2013 Premium's cluster overlay...I think the 2014's have a slightly different overlay.
__________________
2013 Grabber Blue V6 Premium auto | MCA | Performance Package | BMR/Shelby Panhard Bar | Steeda Rear End Links | BMR Rear LCAs | JLT Oil Sep | FRPP Diff Cover | DSS Aluminum Shaft | Adaptive Shift Delete | Cervini Type 4 Ram Air Hood
Order: 10/13/12 | VIN: 10/19/12 | Sticker: 11/3/12 | Build: 11/30/12 | Mine: 12/22/12!

Restoration project back on the road: my dad's 1969 Camaro SS 350
tym_v6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 02:25 PM   #7
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by tym_v6 View Post
^ From memory, that looks exactly like my 2013 Premium's cluster overlay...I think the 2014's have a slightly different overlay.

Ahh. I'm wondering if this would mess me up when I go to get a trackey. From what I have heard the cluster is part of what makes that process happen and the car has to be made after July 2013 for it to work.


IG @Oxford5pointoh
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 02:31 PM   #8
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I wouldnt risk it then. For example: my 2014 was made Nov 2013. So I assume most 2013s were made 2nd half of 2012.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 03:10 PM   #9
Registered Member

Regular
 
tym_v6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Suck it, Goodell
Region: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
I wouldnt risk it then. For example: my 2014 was made Nov 2013. So I assume most 2013s were made 2nd half of 2012.
That sounds about right. My '13 was built at the end of November, 2012.
__________________
2013 Grabber Blue V6 Premium auto | MCA | Performance Package | BMR/Shelby Panhard Bar | Steeda Rear End Links | BMR Rear LCAs | JLT Oil Sep | FRPP Diff Cover | DSS Aluminum Shaft | Adaptive Shift Delete | Cervini Type 4 Ram Air Hood
Order: 10/13/12 | VIN: 10/19/12 | Sticker: 11/3/12 | Build: 11/30/12 | Mine: 12/22/12!

Restoration project back on the road: my dad's 1969 Camaro SS 350
tym_v6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 03:23 PM   #10
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
Yeah but they build that model year through sept-November. My 14 was built in March 14. You never know.


IG @Oxford5pointoh
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 03:28 PM   #11
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
If you gamble with this cluster, this is totally you right now...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mil37z5.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	26.9 KB
ID:	186361  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 03:46 PM   #12
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
I might take a stab at it.


IG @Oxford5pointoh
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 06:04 PM   #13
doyouevenforum
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Was going to do this. Bought aeroforce interceptor gauge with the roush vent pod instead. Not as fancy but idc. Works for me.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 08:10 PM   #14
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
Mine


IG @Oxford5pointoh
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 08:14 PM   #15
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You got it?!!!! I was wondering who bidded on it! Congrats man. Definitely saved a good chunk vs buying from Ford.

Curious what your ebay username is now. I only saw the first and last letters. Lol
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 08:35 PM   #16
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
Yeah I did get it. Pretty cheap with no core charge. I'm happy about it. I really don't care about the my color so much but the track apps and extra gauges is what I have been wanting to do the upgrade for.

My eBay user name is a secret. Nah it's sinister_xr

Feel free to buy some of my crap I have for sale.


IG @Oxford5pointoh
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 08:39 PM   #17
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hmm...were you the only bidder?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 08:41 PM   #18
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
Yeah. Got it for the starting bid


IG @Oxford5pointoh
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 08:47 PM   #19
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Weird. Ebay said the bidder was E******R.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 08:52 PM   #20
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
Boom!!!

Attachment 186730

No idea why.

Now who has a vcm I can borrow? And a non Mac laptop.


IG @Oxford5pointoh
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 08:54 PM   #21
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by oxford5pointoh View Post
Attachment 186730

No idea why.

Now who has a vcm I can borrow? And a non Mac laptop.


IG @Oxford5pointoh

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMustang Evolution1436406884.825276.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	139.9 KB
ID:	186731


IG @Oxford5pointoh
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 08:58 PM   #22
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Sold my vcm a couple of months ago. i am selling a bit older Windows 7 HP laptop xD good enough to run the tool. Lol!
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 09:02 PM   #23
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
I can probably use a friends laptop. But I need to find a vcm. I refuse to pay the dealer to do this.


IG @Oxford5pointoh
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 09:05 PM   #24
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Well, they only cost like $150. Then you can reprogram the keys and stuff whenever you want. That tool can do lots of cool stuff.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 09:07 PM   #25
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
Where did you get yours? I watched a ton of videos on this and one thing that never got covered unless I missed it was if the mileage needed to be programmed? I have seen some cars where the mileage is not stored in the cluster so it doesn't matter. Is that the case with these?


IG @Oxford5pointoh
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 09:15 PM   #26
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mileage is stored in the cluster. If I read that ebay post right, the cluster you bought has about 47,000 miles. So you will be on par with my mileage. LOL!

There are places you can send the cluster off to in order to get the mileage reprogrammed. I just left mine how it was. My car has a little over 10k miles but the cluster shows just over 45k. LOL.

Most places won't roll back the odometer due to being considered "illegal".

Some place like this is where you can get the tool: New Arrival V94 for Ford VCM II Diagnostic Tool VCM II with the Integrated Diagnostics Software with from Obd2tool,$119.38 | DHgate.com

I don't remember the specific site I got mine. All those foreign stores look the same to me. LOL!

IF you could find my old cluster swap thread on here, you will find all of the info you need for this. Or just about all the info.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 09:18 PM   #27
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
I might wait till my car has that mileage to install it then. Thanks for the info.


IG @Oxford5pointoh
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 09:21 PM   #28
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You will say that, but as you sit and stare at the cluster, you might eventually say F it. The dark side of the force is too tempting.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 09:28 PM   #29
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
Well I won't have to wait long. I drive 800 miles a week. I almost have 25k and I've only had the car 8 months.


IG @Oxford5pointoh
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 10:15 PM   #30
Registered Member

Regular
 
tym_v6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Suck it, Goodell
Region: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
Mileage is stored in the cluster. If I read that ebay post right, the cluster you bought has about 47,000 miles. So you will be on par with my mileage. LOL!

There are places you can send the cluster off to in order to get the mileage reprogrammed. I just left mine how it was. My car has a little over 10k miles but the cluster shows just over 45k. LOL.

Most places won't roll back the odometer due to being considered "illegal".

Some place like this is where you can get the tool: New Arrival V94 for Ford VCM II Diagnostic Tool VCM II with the Integrated Diagnostics Software with from Obd2tool,$119.38 | DHgate.com

I don't remember the specific site I got mine. All those foreign stores look the same to me. LOL!

IF you could find my old cluster swap thread on here, you will find all of the info you need for this. Or just about all the info.
I thought you put the car on jack stands and ran it in reverse to roll back the odometer... just like Ferris Bueller.
tym_v6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 10:19 PM   #31
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by tym_v6 View Post
I thought you put the car on jack stands and ran it in reverse to roll back the odometer... just like Ferris Bueller.

Yeah! Well I know of some places I can send it that will change the miles. But at the rate I drive I would only have to wait about 6-7 months before the actual miles on the car match what the cluster has. I don't know. This was such a good deal I couldn't pass it up.


IG @Oxford5pointoh
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2015, 04:00 AM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mlp07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Weslaco
Region: Texas
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by oxford5pointoh View Post
Well I won't have to wait long. I drive 800 miles a week. I almost have 25k and I've only had the car 8 months.


IG @Oxford5pointoh
Yeah, with a lot of mods in those little months lol.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
Mileage is stored in the cluster. If I read that ebay post right, the cluster you bought has about 47,000 miles. So you will be on par with my mileage. LOL!

There are places you can send the cluster off to in order to get the mileage reprogrammed. I just left mine how it was. My car has a little over 10k miles but the cluster shows just over 45k. LOL.

Most places won't roll back the odometer due to being considered "illegal".

Some place like this is where you can get the tool: New Arrival V94 for Ford VCM II Diagnostic Tool VCM II with the Integrated Diagnostics Software with from Obd2tool,$119.38 | DHgate.com

I don't remember the specific site I got mine. All those foreign stores look the same to me. LOL!

IF you could find my old cluster swap thread on here, you will find all of the info you need for this. Or just about all the info.

Someone is selling me his sync, leather back seats, and cluster from their 14 v6 for 200. Don't know if he knows the value of them, but I'll be willing to drive the 4 hour drive for them. What bothers me is the mileage, which is 34k I believe. I wonder if the dealership will deny whatever warranty needed just, because the cluster will have the mileage.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Mlp07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2015, 06:02 AM   #33
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
Yeah the dealership will have a problem with the miles for sure. In my case my car has like 25k on it. New cluster has like 47k

Install it and then go to get some b2b work done and I'm instantly out of warranty. Try explaining it to them. "Well really the car has this because it had this and the cluster had this. So minus this from that and blah blah blah. They are already denying your work. Lol


IG @Oxford5pointoh
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2015, 07:28 AM   #34
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I went to Ford to have something check (something trivial, I cannot remember), and they asked about my cluster. I just told them my old one broke so I installed a Premium one as a replacement. They were like "Ok, that's neat". Not all "techs" at Ford are very techy. lol

But every dealer is different. So you might luck out. Just depends on your relationship with them. I got my last Mustang and this one from them. And I also got my F150 from them. So after about 70-80k worth of cars, they like me. lol

Funny thing is, my old cluster really did mess up. The needle for the MPHs keeps falling way below 0. I think a gear broke but I am not about to open it up to see. Not about that life...
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2015, 07:35 AM   #35
Registered Member
Regular
 
DiESeven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Richmond
Region: Virginia
Posts: 1,909
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
I went to Ford to have something check (something trivial, I cannot remember), and they asked about my cluster. I just told them my old one broke so I installed a Premium one as a replacement. They were like "Ok, that's neat". Not all "techs" at Ford are very techy. lol

But every dealer is different. So you might luck out. Just depends on your relationship with them. I got my last Mustang and this one from them. And I also got my F150 from them. So after about 70-80k worth of cars, they like me. lol

Funny thing is, my old cluster really did mess up. The needle for the MPHs keeps falling way below 0. I think a gear broke but I am not about to open it up to see. Not about that life...

You should be able to just yank it off to see if it's broken or not!! 😉


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
DiESeven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Added some Boom Boom GE3G Mustang Audio & Video 5 10-02-2012 11:22 AM
New Boom Boom! ColeJohnson Mustang Audio & Video 18 11-18-2011 04:09 PM
Boom! Dark02Pony The Bar 3 08-30-2005 11:31 PM
BooM!! 03redfire cobra The Bar 8 06-04-2005 09:43 PM
When a good Nitrous WOT Switch Goes Bad... BOOM!! michael.konor Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 13 11-17-2004 03:39 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



09:00 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.