Advice needed for 3.7L base model - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-27-2015, 01:07 PM   #1

Region: Florida
Advice needed for 3.7L base model

Hi guys (and gals), newbie here...

I bought a 2014 new last in April of last year and noticed some issues with it I'll list here. This is a base 3.7 manual. The only reason I haven't gone to the dealer with it before now is I figured it was mostly just break-in issues. However, I finally DID take it to the local service department at the dealer this past Friday, but felt like I was getting the run-around, as everything I pointed out the service manager said felt/looked/acted fine to him. Towing the company line was the phrase that came to mind. So here we go:

1. Shifting. Dear Lord, it's almost like I have to kick the stick into gear, especially at higher RPM's. Either that, or I need to cut a hole in the floor directly behind the clutch pedal so it can get at least another 3 inches of travel, because it ACTS like the clutch isn't being engaged completely. Services guy said it felt super-smooth and perfect for him. On a side note, I've also noticed when my hand is resting on the shifter crusiing down the highway, I can literally feel the tranny move slightly everytime I hit any kind of bump or dip in the road. Seems like that could be related to the primary issue.