Spark Plug change - Page 2 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-24-2015, 08:01 PM   #36
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rosariors3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Usa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,388
If u can't find anything look at the gap on the ones that are in the car right now. Or u could simply call firs and I'm sure u can get an answer


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
I might not know as much as you but i know how to drive better than you!!!
Rosariors3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-24-2015, 08:01 PM   #37
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I saw that. But doesn't he say "over .45"? Wasn't sure if he meant more or just .45.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 08:05 PM   #38
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rosariors3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Usa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,388
I believe it's .50


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
I might not know as much as you but i know how to drive better than you!!!
Rosariors3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-24-2015, 08:07 PM   #39
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rosariors3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Usa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,388
For some reason I heard about this once for a 6 banger and the number stuck with me because it was .50 like (5.0)


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
I might not know as much as you but i know how to drive better than you!!!
Rosariors3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 08:08 PM   #40
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rosariors3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Usa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,388
Kev look at motorcraft plugs from factory for ur car u should find something


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
I might not know as much as you but i know how to drive better than you!!!
Rosariors3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 08:09 PM   #41
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rosariors3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Usa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,388
Motorcraft sp 520


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
I might not know as much as you but i know how to drive better than you!!!
Rosariors3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 08:13 PM   #42
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I looked but what I found didn't have the gap listed. I know I could check one of my existing plugs but i want to have all the info before I start tearing stuff apart if possible.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 08:16 PM   #43
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rosariors3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Usa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,388
Carpartkings.com I found it. Motorcraft plugs .50 gap. Check it out


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
I might not know as much as you but i know how to drive better than you!!!
Rosariors3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 08:18 PM   #44
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Ok. So do I just bend out the tips to slightly widen the current gap?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 08:22 PM   #45
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
You cannot trust a gap from a old plug. Can't tell you how many times I've checked gap on a old plug and it was not what it should have been. Just ask the parts desk at ford. Or purchase a service manual.
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 08:23 PM   #46
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rosariors3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Usa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,388
That's it!!!


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
I might not know as much as you but i know how to drive better than you!!!
Rosariors3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 08:27 PM   #47
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Nashville
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 46
Just checked my manual and the gap is 0.049-0.053

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900AZ using Mustang Evolution mobile app
stangingit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 08:28 PM   #48
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rosariors3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Usa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by oxford5pointoh View Post
You cannot trust a gap from a old plug. Can't tell you how many times I've checked gap on a old plug and it was not what it should have been. Just ask the parts desk at ford. Or purchase a service manual.

I look at it this way if it's ur last resort then it's fine. And if it's firing and your car is running without skipping a beat than its good enough


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
I might not know as much as you but i know how to drive better than you!!!
Rosariors3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 08:31 PM   #49
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rosariors3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Usa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangingit View Post
Just checked my manual and the gap is 0.049-0.053

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900AZ using Mustang Evolution mobile app

There u go so I guess if u set it to 50 it's good


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
I might not know as much as you but i know how to drive better than you!!!
Rosariors3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 08:47 PM   #50
Registered Member
Commercial Member
Regular
 
au01st's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Alexandria
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 869
Any reason you went with NGK plugs over Motorcraft?
__________________
Have a Raxiom nav system? Hate having two antennas? Contact me to wire your nav thru your factory satellite radio antenna!

"Holy crap bro. You're a genius." - 2011 Kona Blue
au01st is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 08:54 PM   #51
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I had these already. Lol. Before i got the 11. Figured i would use them.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 08:57 PM   #52
Registered Member
Regular
 
Diehard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: North Reading
Region: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
I will keep googling but I am sure someone has changed plugs on a 3.7 that can lend this info.
Hey Kevin
Gap should 0.049–0.053 in (based on owners manual)
Torque: 133 in lbs (based on Ford repair manual)
Wait 'til the weekend. Not hard but you want to take your time.(based on me.)
__________________
____________________________________________________
14 V6 auto, MCA, PP, BBK Shorties, MMD Hood Struts, Borla Touring A/B's, MAC ProChamber, aFe drop-in Filter
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Lets not forget, an opinion is a judgment, viewpoint, or statement about matters commonly considered to be subjective.
Diehard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 09:01 PM   #53
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diehard View Post
Hey Kevin
Wait 'til the weekend. Not hard but you want to take your time.
Gap should 0.049–0.053 in (
Torque: 133 in lbs
Thanks. Will do. I dont want to try and rush it after work during the week. Plus the engine would be hot from the drive home.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 08:59 AM   #54
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosariors3 View Post
I look at it this way if it's ur last resort then it's fine. And if it's firing and your car is running without skipping a beat than its good enough


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution

But doesn't that defeat the overall purpose of replacing the part? Why would you go to the trouble and then flub the gap setting?

Just because it was running doesn't mean it optimal. Doesn't mean it's good for it. Doesn't mean your getting the best performance.

I'm not trying to give you a hard time man, but it's not fair to anyone looking for the proper way to complete this task.
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 09:04 AM   #55
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rosariors3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Usa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,388
Like I said in a situation where all else fails!! If for some reason u don't know the gap and u can't find the answer then what else is one supposed to do. This guy was asking for help and no one seemed to post anything. I was just trying to help him figure this out. It's not unheard of it's been done before with no problem. Obviously he found the answer he was looking for so he doesnt have to go that route.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
I might not know as much as you but i know how to drive better than you!!!
Rosariors3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 09:05 AM   #56
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by oxford5pointoh View Post
But doesn't that defeat the overall purpose of replacing the part? Why would you go to the trouble and then flub the gap setting?

Just because it was running doesn't mean it optimal. Doesn't mean it's good for it. Doesn't mean your getting the best performance.

I'm not trying to give you a hard time man, but it's not fair to anyone looking for the proper way to complete this task.
Hey Oxford, what do you use to widen or shorten the gap on these plugs? I dont want to use something that might damage the tips on them.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 09:14 AM   #57
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
Spark Plug change

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
Hey Oxford, what do you use to widen or shorten the gap on these plugs? I dont want to use something that might damage the tips on them.

I just use a regular gap tool found at any auto parts store. You won't damage anything as long as you don't get crazy with it.

If it the gap is too big just bend it down by pressing it on the ground then checking gap again.

They make tools that do this, but they are vintage tools. I had one once and it did work great.
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 09:18 AM   #58
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
So from what I have been reading, if they are slightly gapped more narrow, it won't cause as much issues as if it were gapped too wide? Is that correct? Just wanting to see where my margin is because I don't want to keep bending it back and forth to get it right at .5 if I can't get it the first time or so.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 09:20 AM   #59
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosariors3 View Post
Like I said in a situation where all else fails!! If for some reason u don't know the gap and u can't find the answer then what else is one supposed to do. This guy was asking for help and no one seemed to post anything. I was just trying to help him figure this out. It's not unheard of it's been done before with no problem. Obviously he found the answer he was looking for so he doesnt have to go that route.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution

In his situation he is not in a hurry and has time to find the proper gap. So that's why I don't quite understand your advice.

Again I'm not busting your balls man, why you continue to defend your answer is also confusing.
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 09:21 AM   #60
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
So from what I have been reading, if they are slightly gapped more narrow, it won't cause as much issues as if it were gapped too wide? Is that correct? Just wanting to see where my margin is because I don't want to keep bending it back and forth to get it right at .5 if I can't get it the first time or so.

You will be able to get them gapped to spec no prob man. Just use the tool.
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 09:25 AM   #61
Registered Member
Commercial Member
Regular
 
au01st's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Alexandria
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
So from what I have been reading, if they are slightly gapped more narrow, it won't cause as much issues as if it were gapped too wide? Is that correct? Just wanting to see where my margin is because I don't want to keep bending it back and forth to get it right at .5 if I can't get it the first time or so.

You're not going to be bending it a tone like you do when playing with paper clips. We are talking 1/1000 of an inch adjustments. Too big, just a few taps on the counter or ground (you'll find that you have to tap a bit harder than you first thought). Too small and bend it out a bit using the tool.


Sent from my #racecar
__________________
Have a Raxiom nav system? Hate having two antennas? Contact me to wire your nav thru your factory satellite radio antenna!

"Holy crap bro. You're a genius." - 2011 Kona Blue
au01st is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 09:26 AM   #62
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by oxford5pointoh View Post
You will be able to get them gapped to spec no prob man. Just use the tool.
I appreciate all the help! Hopefully all goes well and I will have finished my first full tune up on a3.7. I already cleaned the Throttle Body (caked with gunk), Cleaned the MAF sensor, used fuel system cleaner, and I also used some sea foam on the engine. Loved the big white cloud. Dude came out of his apartment looking startled when he saw the white clouds. lol.

Car smoothed out a little after running it around for a bit after doing that. My guess is, no one ever took care of that car. But it has a good home now.

I am also going to take the opportunity to clean the upper and lower intake manifolds when I do my spark plugs.

Anything else I should worry about?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 09:29 AM   #63
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rosariors3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Usa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by oxford5pointoh View Post
In his situation he is not in a hurry and has time to find the proper gap. So that's why I don't quite understand your advice.

Again I'm not busting your balls man, why you continue to defend your answer is also confusing.

Bro I've done this before ppl I know done this before U obviously had bad experience doing it. U talk from ur experience I talk from mine. So don't tell me it can't be done. I give myb2 cents if anyone wants to use it fine. But don't tell me I'm wrong cause obviously my car runs fine. The gap ranges between .048-.052 there's no way his plugs will be outta that range. If they were his car would not run right period


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
I might not know as much as you but i know how to drive better than you!!!
Rosariors3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 09:30 AM   #64
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
I would replace all fluids. Trans, diff, brake, power steering, coolant. (Obviously engine oil)

You just never know when they were last done unless they have you service records
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 09:33 AM   #65
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Yup. Definitely plan on doing all that. I also replaced the intake and cabin filters. I love how they always say they replaced or checked the cabin air filter and when you take it out to double check, the darn thing is filthy.

---------- Post added at 09:33 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:33 AM ----------

I thought the rack and pinion on these were electric and didn't need power steering fluid?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 09:36 AM   #66
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosariors3 View Post
Bro I've done this before ppl I know done this before U obviously had bad experience doing it. U talk from ur experience I talk from mine. So don't tell me it can't be done. I give myb2 cents if anyone wants to use it fine. But don't tell me I'm wrong cause obviously my car runs fine. The gap ranges between .048-.052 there's no way his plugs will be outta that range. If they were his car would not run right period


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution

Alright since you refuse to understand why this is not even close to good advice here we go.

Tell me how you would get the proper gap from this spark plug

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMustang Evolution1440513214.424084.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	100.4 KB
ID:	190039

A spark plug that has 100k on it or even half that is going to be worn out. The gap will not be anywhere close to where it should be. Gap does not determine if the car will run or not, but how it will run.

So because you and your friends use the "check what I got and stick with that" method, I would rather tell a guy to find the actual specs.
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 09:38 AM   #67
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post

[/COLOR]I thought the rack and pinion on these were electric and didn't need power steering fluid?

You may be correct. I haven't had the pleasure of messing with that yet on my car.
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 09:39 AM   #68
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rosariors3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Usa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,388
If unread my post I said it won't run right I never said it won't run.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
I might not know as much as you but i know how to drive better than you!!!
Rosariors3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 09:39 AM   #69
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I also plan on replacing the battery because it has the same one it had when it was first sold back in like the end of 2010. Lol.

Nothing like being proud of your own work. And when this is all done, i will know where i stand with the car and what still needs replaced.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 09:40 AM   #70
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rosariors3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Usa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,388
Besides I've never pulled plugs that look like that .


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
I might not know as much as you but i know how to drive better than you!!!
Rosariors3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mustang turning off after spark plug change nsguido415 1979-1995 Mustang GT 24 08-25-2015 07:58 PM
Spark plugs and spark plug wires??? Moyhuerta 1979-1995 Mustang GT 11 12-05-2012 09:42 AM
E3 Spark Plugs Diamond Fire - Spark Plug gonzo56 2005-2010 V6 Mustang 6 09-28-2011 10:45 AM
spark plug change? maximus 1996-2004 Mustang GT 17 07-08-2009 08:18 AM
Spark plug change Rellik The Bar 7 08-20-2003 07:04 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



06:19 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.