Gauge Mod - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-09-2015, 04:08 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
AngryTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Los angeles
Region: California
Posts: 179
Gauge Mod

Hey Guys, Wanted to share my newest DIY mod. I was in the market for a new gauge cluster. But all I'd want it for was the newer gauge look. Not really interested in the track apps. So before I went spending 300+ just for a newer look. I decided to improve the one I had. Was pretty easy to do. Wired them into the headlight switch, so whenever I unlock or open the door, they come on.

$20 later... Let me know what you guys think.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20151009_131820.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	1.41 MB
ID:	192106   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151009_131829.jpg
Views:	120
Size:	1.50 MB
ID:	192107  

AngryTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-09-2015, 04:09 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Voltwings's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 3,444
Just change the lights?
Voltwings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 04:11 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
AngryTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Los angeles
Region: California
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Voltwings View Post
Just change the lights?
Would have but I would need to solder the colored LED's on the board itself. This was much less invasive and cheaper.

Edit: I bought red halos and installed them to the Gauge cover. My car is a Base V6 and did not come with the My color option.
AngryTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-09-2015, 04:26 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Fintile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Boston
Region: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,830
Track apps? They didnt have that for 2011' or 12's. WOuld that have even worked?
Fintile is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 04:30 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
AngryTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Los angeles
Region: California
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fintile View Post
Track apps? They didnt have that for 2011' or 12's. WOuld that have even worked?
It would have, but you'd need the "as built" codes for a car that did have them. Once you have those, it would allow you to access the apps. Plus, you'd need the steering wheel that has the D pad to control it normally.
AngryTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 04:42 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Fintile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Boston
Region: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,830
NO ****?! not a bad idea...wouldnt mind that. i though they installed sensors everywhere on the car, you mean its all just in the gauge? Very cool to know. Is it the whole steering wheel or just the left hand insert with the D-pad?
Fintile is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 04:48 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
AngryTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Los angeles
Region: California
Posts: 179
That's what I thought too. But reading a whole bunch of other forums and Google searches. It's just the apps that run from the cluster. A ford dealer would have to install the codes for you, or you could buy the software that Ford uses and do it yourself. If you have a premium wheel, then it would just be the controls on the left side of the wheel. So that's why I just went with buying red halos and installed them myself. Such an easy project and love the way it looks at night.
AngryTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 07:09 PM   #8
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I did a cluster swap on my 2014 😂

You need the Ford VCM II tool, steering wheel button, cluster, as built codes, and 2 keys.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 07:25 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
AngryTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Los angeles
Region: California
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
I did a cluster swap on my 2014 😂

You need the Ford VCM II tool, steering wheel button, cluster, as built codes, and 2 keys.
That's the one.
AngryTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 07:47 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,259
Good job, looks really good!!

Sent from LG G3.
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 09:23 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
AngryTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Los angeles
Region: California
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by FastFord13 View Post
Good job, looks really good!!

Sent from LG G3.
Thank you sir!
AngryTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 09:27 PM   #12
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryTech View Post
Thank you sir!

You are very welcome
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 09:32 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
AngryTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Los angeles
Region: California
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
You are very welcome
Strikes again!
AngryTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 09:36 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
ponie1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lexington
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 1,052
Details on which halos and how you installed them, please!

Jeremy
2012 Black PP V6
__________________
Jeremy
2016 Ruby Red PP GT
ponie1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 10:01 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
AngryTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Los angeles
Region: California
Posts: 179
Halo rings 130mm
http://pages.ebay.com/motors/link/?n...044355&alt=web

Already had the led dimmer from a different project.
http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item...037061&alt=web

How to:
I pulled off the gauge cover and glued the halo rings facing me. I then soldered the Leds together to the dimmer controller. I ran two wires from the headlight switch behind the gauge cover(YouTube video on how to expose the wires I describe
https:// youtu.be/x2aKeaEjpLc.)
I connected the first wire to the black/purple wire(ground). Then connected the second wire to purple/orange wire(power). I then soldered the ground and power wires together to the dimmer controller and reattached the cover into the dash. Pressed the unlock button on the fob and bam! These are bright! So I turned up the car dimmer wheel and then dimmed the halos with the little switch until it was comfortable. All done! Took me about 30min to complete.
AngryTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 10:25 PM   #16
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryTech View Post
Strikes again!

I aim to please!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2015, 12:26 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
ponie1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lexington
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 1,052
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryTech View Post
Halo rings 130mm
http://pages.ebay.com/motors/link/?n...044355&alt=web

Already had the led dimmer from a different project.
http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item...037061&alt=web

How to:
I pulled off the gauge cover and glued the halo rings facing me. I then soldered the Leds together to the dimmer controller. I ran two wires from the headlight switch behind the gauge cover(YouTube video on how to expose the wires I describe
https:// youtu.be/x2aKeaEjpLc.)
I connected the first wire to the black/purple wire(ground). Then connected the second wire to purple/orange wire(power). I then soldered the ground and power wires together to the dimmer controller and reattached the cover into the dash. Pressed the unlock button on the fob and bam! These are bright! So I turned up the car dimmer wheel and then dimmed the halos with the little switch until it was comfortable. All done! Took me about 30min to complete.
Thanks for the info!

Jeremy
2012 Black PP V6
__________________
Jeremy
2016 Ruby Red PP GT
ponie1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2015, 12:28 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
CodyMustang3.7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: parkville
Region: Maryland
Posts: 138
Love it so much looks Great!!


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
CodyMustang3.7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2015, 06:34 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Fintile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Boston
Region: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
I did a cluster swap on my 2014 😂

You need the Ford VCM II tool, steering wheel button, cluster, as built codes, and 2 keys.
2 keys? Do they need to be special 2013-14 keys or something? It does sound like a lot just to have a 0-60 and 1/4 mules app. I've seen stand alone units that you can plug into your OBDII port and run the same thing there. They some times can even give you a hp and trq number too (it's all estimated)
__________________
“anybody driving slower than you is an idiot, and anyone going faster than you is a maniac”
-George Carlin
Fintile is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2015, 09:00 AM   #20
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Just the two keys that came with the car. Or if you had to get a 2nd one made.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2015, 09:16 AM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
Fintile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Boston
Region: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
Just the two keys that came with the car. Or if you had to get a 2nd one made.
Oh shoot, so you would need the keys that came from the car that had the gauges?
Or just 2 keys that came with your own car?
Sorry it could just be too early for and im over thinking this.
Fintile is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2015, 10:04 AM   #22
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fintile View Post
Oh shoot, so you would need the keys that came from the car that had the gauges?
Or just 2 keys that came with your own car?
Sorry it could just be too early for and im over thinking this.
Just 2 keys for your car. Because the tool needs to resync the keys to the new cluster but only does it if you have 2.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2015, 10:35 AM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
AngryTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Los angeles
Region: California
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
Just 2 keys for your car. Because the tool needs to resync the keys to the new cluster but only does it if you have 2.
Hence why I chose to go this route. Nothing wrong with the experience in getting this to work. Just wasn't for me. Another way someone could change the look is to order a new gauge background from blackcatcustom.com. But just for looks.
AngryTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2015, 11:07 AM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
Fintile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Boston
Region: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,830
AAAhhhh...ok ok I got it...well thats not too bad except for the Ford tool and the codes
Fintile is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2015, 02:20 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
3.7Muscle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 544
I LOVE IT! Sorry for the caps, this kind of DIY makes me happy in my pants!
__________________
See my Baby Here

2012 101a Mustang V6 M/T 6-Speed
3.7Muscle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2015, 02:27 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
ponie1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lexington
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 1,052
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryTech View Post
Hence why I chose to go this route. Nothing wrong with the experience in getting this to work. Just wasn't for me. Another way someone could change the look is to order a new gauge background from blackcatcustom.com. But just for looks.
Checked them out a bit ago. They can do some pretty cool stuff. Maybe in the future.

Jeremy
2012 Black PP V6
__________________
Jeremy
2016 Ruby Red PP GT
ponie1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2015, 02:54 PM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
AngryTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Los angeles
Region: California
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.7Muscle View Post
I LOVE IT! Sorry for the caps, this kind of DIY makes me happy in my pants!
Thank you sir! Yeah, I was super excited to get this done. They have different colors available too. I did think about doing the RGB color changing. But my theme is red on the inside.
AngryTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2015, 02:59 PM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
AngryTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Los angeles
Region: California
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by ponie1992 View Post
Checked them out a bit ago. They can do some pretty cool stuff. Maybe in the future.

Jeremy
2012 Black PP V6
Yeah. I liked the GT500 version. But for 125... Maybe later when I want to change the gauge again.
AngryTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2015, 07:32 PM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
ponie1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lexington
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 1,052
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryTech View Post
Yeah. I liked the GT500 version. But for 125... Maybe later when I want to change the gauge again.
If I were to get a set, I'd have them add a running pony and my forum name. That'd be pretty cool.

Jeremy
2012 Black PP V6
__________________
Jeremy
2016 Ruby Red PP GT
ponie1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2015, 07:42 PM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
AngryTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Los angeles
Region: California
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by ponie1992 View Post
If I were to get a set, I'd have them add a running pony and my forum name. That'd be pretty cool.

Jeremy
2012 Black PP V6
I like the running pony too. Was going to pull the trigger until I realized what I actually liked about the new gauge. Then I thought of this mod.
AngryTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2015, 08:33 PM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
ponie1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lexington
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 1,052
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryTech View Post
I like the running pony too. Was going to pull the trigger until I realized what I actually liked about the new gauge. Then I thought of this mod.
I'm wondering, would the pony light up? Now, that would be sweet!

Jeremy
2012 Black PP V6
__________________
Jeremy
2016 Ruby Red PP GT
ponie1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2005 4 gauge cluster upgrade to 6 gauge wessstblvdd 2005-2010 Mustang GT 6 07-07-2014 09:29 AM
Best Mod and Worst Mod Rcary 2011-2014 V6 Mustang 30 06-04-2012 07:26 AM
Gauge mod 813floridaracin Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 27 03-31-2012 05:27 PM
20 gauge to 18 gauge XXSTEVEO66 General Mustang Discussion 0 08-16-2011 07:58 PM
Gauge Wire Routing w/CDC gauge pod tripod_2005 2005-2010 Mustang GT 13 04-30-2010 12:46 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



10:40 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.