Should I upgrade my own interior or have someone else do it? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Join Mustang Evolution Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-22-2016, 08:37 PM   #1
Registered Member
Region: Tennessee
Should I upgrade my own interior or have someone else do it?

Hey, y'all! Looking for some advice about some interior upgrades to my new 2012 Mustang!

So the base speaker system is decent, but still really lacking in my opinion. Initially I was pretty gung-ho about installing my own new radio and speakers, along with hardwiring some blue LED underdash lights and dome lights. I started looking into it a bit more and got very intimidated. I'm not very good with wires and technical things, but I also appreciate the feeling of doing something on your own. For example, the computer I am on right now I built myself. It's a good feeling.

But I'm wondering if it's worth it since it's just a one time upgrade? I'm kinda nervous about cosmetic damage to the dash, door panels, etc. if I try to take them off by myself. I'm also worried I might wire something wrong and mess everything up! So I found a good shop locally and thought I might have them do it. Does anyone have experience upgrading their own interior and speaker system? What would you rate the difficulty?

I was looking specifically into getting:
- this JBL subwoofer/amp combo, click here
- these JBL speakers, click here (but I'm not sure if I need two speakers or four)
- this radio system, click here Pumpkin Quad Core 7 inch 2 DIN Universal Android 4.4 Car Stereo Radio HD
- this dash kit, click here ADS MUS1 Radio Installation Kit