Bent Collector Flange - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 05-17-2016, 09:36 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Bent Collector Flange

Hello all,
I'm pretty new to exhaust systems, but I just had to buy a replacement set of BBK shorty headers, and one of the collector flanges was bent. If I didn't need the car the next day I wouldn't have put them on. Does this look normal? Could this cause a small leak? I'm getting a small puffing sound..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160503_174716.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	1.04 MB
ID:	201078   Click image for larger version

Name:	bent.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	919.5 KB
ID:	201079  

rgstelzner is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-17-2016, 09:53 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Texas
Typically that donut style gasket will prevent leaks, but that bend looks like it goes all the way to the "flare" of the donut... i'd say that very well could be posing an exhaust leak, as well as maybe some adverse (hard to say how much exactly) affects on performance.
Voltwings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016, 10:15 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Virginia
I had that on my BBK Long Tubes. Easy to bend back in to shape.
DiESeven is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-17-2016, 10:19 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular

Thanks for the quick replies, and you mentioned a gasket Volt? There aren't any gaskets there, it's just the ball and socket joint (from my understanding, could very well be wrong). I just got these from American Muscle, I'd rather try and get a replacement set than attempt to bend them back if possible.
Old 05-18-2016, 06:16 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Maryland