My first amp/speaker install......problems. - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 05-21-2016, 06:29 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
My first amp/speaker install......problems.

So last week I removed my 12" sub from my trunk due to not being able to put anything in it anymore like my kids hockey bag and so on, and decided to replace all the speakers and add a 7" in each door (Rockford fosgate all around) and added a small amp to improve the sound.
Our stock pos radio has no line outs so I used the alternative speaker line inputs to the amp for the signal.
Well in my garage with the car not running it sounded great no issues whatsoever, but when I took my car out last night i have this annoying high pitched sound when the engine is running only.
The sound level of the high pitch sound does not change with increased Rpms, and when I power off the radio the speakers do like a pop sound.
Again its only when the car is running.
Here's a little video, please help if you have some audio experience, I have almost none. Lol.
https://youtu.be/3X9YrOKNebE

Sent from the future.
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-21-2016, 06:48 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Hawkstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Sioux City
Region: Iowa
Posts: 1,273
Is the amp grounded?


Also, how hard was it to hook the amp up?
Hawkstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 07:05 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
Yeah I grounded the amp to the body, removed some paint down to the bare metal.
Wasn't really that hard, but then again it isn't working perfectly lol.

Sent from the future.
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-21-2016, 07:13 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
Also picked up one of these this week, just waiting for the Schosche face plate.
Gonna assume I can run Rca's with this head?

Sent from the future.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1463875975849.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	36.7 KB
ID:	201306   Click image for larger version

Name:	1463875989072.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	57.2 KB
ID:	201307  

FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 07:31 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Hawkstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Sioux City
Region: Iowa
Posts: 1,273
Nice! Let us know the sound difference!


Try grounding to a different spot. I remember when I was younger I rigged a new stereo and the ground was causing that weird noise when the car was running.


Oh, and pics after install please!!
Hawkstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 07:45 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
KATO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cutler Bay
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,593
Send a message via Yahoo to KATO
I think your noise problem will disappear when you hook up the New Head unit.
__________________
07 GT. SCT: CUSTOM TUNE by "MUSTANG SPECIALTIES". LMR: GEN2 2010 STYLE HEADLIGHTS, RAXIOM: 2010 SMOKED COYOTE TAIL LIGHTS, WHEELS: STAGGERED WHL 22X8.5F-22X10R.
KATO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 07:52 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
I really hope so!
Right now I'm running the speaker wires directly into the amp.
Maybe Rcas will fix the issue.

Sent from the future.
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 08:27 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
KATO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cutler Bay
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,593
Send a message via Yahoo to KATO
I think they will, I believe that's where your noise is coming from.
__________________
07 GT. SCT: CUSTOM TUNE by "MUSTANG SPECIALTIES". LMR: GEN2 2010 STYLE HEADLIGHTS, RAXIOM: 2010 SMOKED COYOTE TAIL LIGHTS, WHEELS: STAGGERED WHL 22X8.5F-22X10R.
KATO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 10:42 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cooolbreeez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Arizona
Region: Arizona
Posts: 789
Did you use an inline output converter to hook up the amp? Recheck all your wiring and make sure the speaker wires aren't crossed. Make sure the wires you tapped into are going to the correct negative and positive on the inline converter if you used one. Also running the rca wires and power wires next to each other will give you noise.
Cooolbreeez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 08:16 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
Anyone have the complete wiring harness color codes for the radio? So far only found 12v constant,ground, and power antenna.
Missing illumination, reverse, ignition and parking.
Sent from the future.
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 08:45 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Burleson
Region: Texas
Posts: 86
I know orange is the illumination, but not sure on the others. I am 98% sure green is parking.
I'll know sooner or later when i hook mine up in my new car again.
Thatdude156 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 08:54 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
Orange is the illumination on my new radio, but I don't see an orange from the car.
I do see a green for the parking but I don't even see the ignition power.

Sent from the future.
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 08:55 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
.

Sent from the future.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1463968516244.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	32.4 KB
ID:	201402   Click image for larger version

Name:	1463968531274.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	43.5 KB
ID:	201403  

FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 08:34 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
So after testing those wires there is no accessory 12v? Wtf?

Sent from the future.
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 02:57 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
Nope no accessory wire, thanks ford.

Sent from the future.
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 07:27 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Elizabeth City
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 148
Did you at least buy a car specific harness adaptor for the new radio?? A big no no is cutting up the factory wires before the harness plug
__________________
2013 v6, performance pack, mt82 manual, MGW Race Spec shifter, SVE Drifts 19x9.5, H&R Supersport springs, Koni yellows, BMR panhard bar, adjustable UCA and LCA, shorty antenna, GT500 strut mounts, black painted roof, Roush splitters all around, GT hood and fog lights.
Josh_101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 07:44 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Hawkstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Sioux City
Region: Iowa
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh_101 View Post
Did you at least buy a car specific harness adaptor for the new radio?? A big no no is cutting up the factory wires before the harness plug
Yeah you only make that mistake once. Lol
Hawkstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 08:01 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh_101 View Post
Did you at least buy a car specific harness adaptor for the new radio?? A big no no is cutting up the factory wires before the harness plug
Bought 2 that didn't fit and had to return them. Called schosche and they said their 40$ kit, which IMO would have worked, but insisted that their 99$ adapter was needed to make it work, which would have cost me well over 200 CAD with duty/shipping/taxes.
Then after all that I get the sorry we don't ship to Canada Grrr.

Anyways got it hooked up today, just needed three wires, constant, ground and amp wire. The amp wire turns on and shuts off my amp automatically when the radio is turned on or off.
Then ran new Schosche Rca' s to the amp and no more engine noise ect.
Just waiting on the schosche face plate to arrive now.
As for cutting the factory wires its an easy reconnect to put it back to stock, just as long as I don't lose the stock clips lol.

Sent from the future.
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 08:03 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Hawkstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Sioux City
Region: Iowa
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by FastFord13 View Post
Bought 2 that didn't fit and had to return. Called schosche and said their 40$ kit, which IMO would have worked but insisted that the 99$ adapter needed to be purchased to make it work, which would have cost me well over 200 CAD.
Then after all that I get the sorry we don't ship to Canada Grrr.

Anyways got it hooked up today, just needed three wires, constant, ground and amp wire. The amp wire turns on and shuts off my amp automatically when the radio is turned on or off.
Then ran new Schosche Rca' s to the amp and no more engine noise ect.
Just waiting on the schosche face plate to arrive now.
As for cutting the factory wires its an easy reconnect to put it back to stock.

Sent from the future.
Congrats! Now make sure to let us know the sound clarity difference and share some pics please!
Hawkstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 08:20 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkstang View Post
Congrats! Now make sure to let us know the sound clarity difference and share some pics please!
The sound is completely night and day!!!!!
I originally just added a 12" 500 watt sub that helped, but the system still sounded like poop and the bass was insane lol.
Then I removed the sub and replaced all the factory crap with rockford fosgate and even added 2 7" fosgates in the door kinda like the premiums come with.
Added a 600 watt 4 chanel amp which sounded much better but still wasn't what I wanted.
Added the double din gps/blutooth/dvd/cd/radio/back up camera head unit and WOW!!!
So in the end I replaced everything stock but OMG was it worth it!!!
Here is a rough run down of the cost, all in CAD tax, duty and delivery included.

-Schosch double din face plate on ebay 210$ delivered to door and exchange rate.

6.2" double din awesome (lol) radio, 200$ to front door.

Dual 1200watt 600 watt Rms 4 channel amp, 115

4 6x8 and 2 6.75" rockford fosgate speakers 180$.

2 sets of schosche Rca 12" cables 30$

So $775 Cad which is around $550 Usd for everything, and it adds blutooth, voice navigation, and a free back up camera along with dvd playback, and most importantly the sound! Lol.

I highly recommend this route to anyone who isn't completely satisfied with their sound and was thinking about buying the Raxion unit!
You won't regret it!!

Sent from the future.
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 08:46 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
Hawkstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Sioux City
Region: Iowa
Posts: 1,273
Hmmmmm. Once I see how it looks I may be sold!!
Hawkstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 08:52 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
Being in Canada I had to pay shipping duty/taxes on everything besides the amp which I got here.
You guys could get everything for around 400 lol.
I did get a sweat deal on the schosche faceplate though.

Sent from the future.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1464054726372.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	39.0 KB
ID:	201457   Click image for larger version

Name:	1464054760729.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	52.8 KB
ID:	201458  

FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 10:22 PM   #23
Lord NoMoney
Staff
 
silverskoundrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: TX
Region: Texas
Posts: 5,630
Cool install. I'd like to see the 6.75s in the door when you have time & the head unit all hooked up on the scosche piece


Grabber Blue
__________________
@silverskoundrel
05 TL Mustang Base (the silverskoundrel) - sold
05 TL Mustang GT - sold
98 UA Mustang GT - sold
10 CI Mustang GT - slow
silverskoundrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2016, 10:50 AM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
Her is a pic of the door speaker install.
Once I receive the face plate I'll post more pics along with a little vid.

Sent from the future.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1464104924859.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	71.0 KB
ID:	201475   Click image for larger version

Name:	1464104967905.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	79.3 KB
ID:	201477  

FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2016, 08:09 AM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
20prima10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Flint mi
Region: Michigan
Posts: 765
You did the rite thing. Unfortunately the engineers who designed the sound systems made it so you really can't change anything with out changing it all. Any time you add and amp to that radio it causes issues. Been doing car audio a long time and the fords are very finicky unless you gut it all
20prima10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2016, 08:49 AM   #26
Lord NoMoney
Staff
 
silverskoundrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: TX
Region: Texas
Posts: 5,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by FastFord13 View Post
Her is a pic of the door speaker install.
Once I receive the face plate I'll post more pics along with a little vid.

Sent from the future.

Looks original! Lol


Slow Grabber Blue 3V
__________________
@silverskoundrel
05 TL Mustang Base (the silverskoundrel) - sold
05 TL Mustang GT - sold
98 UA Mustang GT - sold
10 CI Mustang GT - slow
silverskoundrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2016, 09:26 AM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by 20prima10 View Post
You did the rite thing. Unfortunately the engineers who designed the sound systems made it so you really can't change anything with out changing it all. Any time you add and amp to that radio it causes issues. Been doing car audio a long time and the fords are very finicky unless you gut it all
Absolutely agree!
A simple speaker install turned into a complete overhaul of the sound system!
Lesson learned lol.

Sent from the future.
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2016, 10:06 AM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
20prima10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Flint mi
Region: Michigan
Posts: 765
Lol I try to warn everyone about fords. But honestly any car or truck I do audio in I replace it all any ways. Your get a much crisper cleaner sound by doing this. A lot better sound control and I can make a system scream for rock and country make a few adjustment and have it pounding for rap depending on my mood. My systems always impress people with the quality sound I create in vehicles. There's a lot of math involved in a box for a sub to perform this way but I rather enjoy it. The rest of it is just running new wires and relocating speakers amps etc.
20prima10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2016, 08:37 PM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
So here is an update, I just received the Schosche faceplate and installed the new double din.
A word of caution to anyone ordering a double din from Europe on Amazon, their double din measures 7" x 4" and the Scosche/metra plates are 6.75"x 3.75"!
So a little work had to be done to make it fit.
Although the schosche is a nice piece its so not worth the price tag I've seen on their web site.
Lucky I scored this one used for 200 Cad on eBay.

Sent from the future.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1464658588215.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	55.2 KB
ID:	201791   Click image for larger version

Name:	1464658609403.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	56.7 KB
ID:	201792  

FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2016, 08:41 PM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
The sound is fantastic compared to OEM, but speakers/amp alone won't fix the problem, the head IMO is the biggest problem with our base cars.
So a small project of replacing factory speakers along with adding 2 6.75" in the doors turned into a complete overhaul lol, but sooo worth it!!!

Sent from the future.
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2016, 09:18 PM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
Hawkstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Sioux City
Region: Iowa
Posts: 1,273
That looks killer! How did you get it to read "mustang"?

And the premium head units are crap too.
Hawkstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2016, 09:22 PM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
Thanks.
And tbh it has nothing to do with the scosche faceplate.
Once I disconnected both harness from the radio without the schoshe faceplate it displayed mustang, I drove like this for a couple of days before the Schoshe was received.
I believe the Gt's display dvd.

Sent from the future.
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2016, 07:08 PM   #33
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Elizabeth City
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 148
Those of us with factory navigation are sorta screwed. It's so integrated into the car, auto climate control etc etc... I'm left with having to use a DSP to get the same sound as an aftermarket h/u.
__________________
2013 v6, performance pack, mt82 manual, MGW Race Spec shifter, SVE Drifts 19x9.5, H&R Supersport springs, Koni yellows, BMR panhard bar, adjustable UCA and LCA, shorty antenna, GT500 strut mounts, black painted roof, Roush splitters all around, GT hood and fog lights.
Josh_101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speaker install specs Lemonart Mustang Audio & Video 5 05-25-2013 11:32 PM
First Mustang...First Ford...First Car This Awesome! Debster New Member Introductions & Greetings 13 04-28-2013 01:30 PM
speaker install... devanslive Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 0 09-01-2012 11:43 PM
01 GT speaker problems. mrshancock89 1996-2004 Mustang GT 9 06-01-2012 03:28 PM
First Post, First Car, First Mustangg EdgeLivin New Member Introductions & Greetings 14 04-03-2012 01:49 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



07:21 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.