New to this site. Got my 5.0!! - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-24-2011, 07:02 PM   #1

Region: Georgia
New to this site. Got my 5.0!!

So I'm new to this and I'm liking it so far. I have wanted a 5.0 since I heard they were bringing it back. Im also so thankful my parents bought it for me and I'm hoping its cuz i deserve it. Not many 18 year olds with a 5.0 out there. I have driven stick plenty of times but controlling 390 lb ft of torque is the hardest thing I've ever had to do. I got the start down but I am having difficulties with a couple of things. Every time I shift up (for example from 1st to 2nd gear) the car kinda jerks a little. What am I doing wrong? Stalling in public is SO embarrassing too haha luckily everyone is nice and doesn't honk. Also, I don't understand braking. What's the safest way to break? Break in gear? Or just put it in neutral and break?
vicente8a is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-24-2011, 07:04 PM   #2
Road Trip!

Region: Florida
Welcome to the forum!
sno4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 07:06 PM   #3
Regular

Region: Tennessee
Re: New to this site. Got my 5.0!!

Welcome

Reddit
Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-24-2011, 07:07 PM   #4
Road Trip!

Region: Other
Welcome.
First, are you letting out on the clutch a little to fast maybe to make it jerk?
The best way to brake is to step on the clutch and the brake at the same time if you are coming to a stop. If at a light, put it in neutral foot off clutch. This will save wear on your throw out bearing.
93CobraGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 07:30 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular

Send a message via AIM to JB3nd3r

Quote:
Originally Posted by vicente8a View Post