Finally making a little progress - Page 2 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 12-16-2011, 10:03 AM   #36
Moderator Emeritus
Regular

Region: Other
Quote:
Originally Posted by Napoleon85

People are mostly taking them off due to increased NVH. The "problem" is that the stiffer bushings and tubular construction of most LCAs/UCAs out there are more prone to transmitting drivetrain noise into the cabin.

People who want a cushy DD car don't like this and take them off, but it was likely that they just got the wrong thing. If you want to see some gains with minimal increased NVH make sure that you aren't getting spherical bushings, and if you can get LCAs that are not tubular (such as machined billet) you won't have as much increase.

Hope that helps and that I explained it well enough ... I'm not an expert in suspension by any means but this is just what I have found through my research.
Think he was referring to ppl taking off the Boss mani not the LCA's..
Advertisement

Old 12-16-2011, 10:31 AM   #37
Registered Member
Regular

Region: North Carolina
Re: Finally making a little progress

I was talking about the Boss mani.. I plan to do one myself still but not in the hurry like I was. I have saw on S197 and Modular about some guys taking them off.One guy does some road course and it is not optimal for him and I can see that.Some have been going to the drag strip and making passes with it and then pulling it right there at track and making passes and not seeing the gains they expected.Debatable.Some argue over if it's 1/4 or 1/8 passes.Some saying they loose on low end and gain on high.I think we all know it's a good mod,but it is for the upper RPM range to take advantae of it.