Starting Up Your 5.0 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-01-2012, 06:59 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Msoler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Florida
Posts: 64
Starting Up Your 5.0

Anyone else have the occasional start where the engine cranks for a longer time before starting...sometimes up to 5 seconds. It's happened to me before here and there, but now twice in as many days. What's up with that!? Should I be concerned?
Msoler is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-01-2012, 07:33 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Napoleon85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Ohio
Posts: 3,045
Quote:
Originally Posted by Msoler
Anyone else have the occasional start where the engine cranks for a longer time before starting...sometimes up to 5 seconds. It's happened to me before here and there, but now twice in as many days. What's up with that!? Should I be concerned?
There's a tsb for that, take it to the dealer. You should only be concerned about people giving you a hard time for starting the 948th thread about this lol
__________________
Official Exhaust Thread Troller
Napoleon85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 07:36 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
2012Coyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 49
Re: Starting Up Your 5.0

I haven't had any issues are really seen any for that matter on other forums with this. I would take it in for a diagnosis to be on the safe side.

Any gas smell?
2012Coyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-01-2012, 09:20 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Msoler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Florida
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Napoleon85

There's a tsb for that, take it to the dealer. You should only be concerned about people giving you a hard time for starting the 948th thread about this lol
Oh I didn't realize this was a big topic of discussion. Lol
I'll look for the other threads. Thanks

---------- Post added at 10:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:13 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Coyote
I haven't had any issues are really seen any for that matter on other forums with this. I would take it in for a diagnosis to be on the safe side.

Any gas smell?
I haven't noticed any gas smell. Should I be concerned about taking it in for a diagnosis if I'm running a Lund tune?

---------- Post added at 10:20 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:14 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Napoleon85

There's a tsb for that, take it to the dealer. You should only be concerned about people giving you a hard time for starting the 948th thread about this lol
Can you post links for other threads on this and maybe the tsb? Thanks
Msoler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 09:39 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
avengnd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Stafford
Region: Virginia
Posts: 1,643
Re: Starting Up Your 5.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Napoleon85 View Post
There's a tsb for that, take it to the dealer. You should only be concerned about people giving you a hard time for starting the 948th thread about this lol
TSB # off the top of your head...
__________________
~ Alan Mustang Livin' and www.mustanglivin.com
2014 Shelby GT500
avengnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 09:48 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
2012Coyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 49
If the issue has a tsb then you shouldn't have to worry about having the tune but if not, Ford might try and say that it is causing the issue and deny you of any warranty.
2012Coyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 09:54 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Msoler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Florida
Posts: 64
I was reading a thread on another forum...shhhhh...and they said the dealer had to re flash their PCM, maybe with an update. If that's the case, they can't do that to my car with the Lund tune right? Maybe I need to contact Lund directly?
Msoler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 10:00 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
2012Coyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Msoler
I was reading a thread on another forum...shhhhh...and they said the dealer had to re flash their PCM, maybe with an update. If that's the case, they can't do that to my car with the Lund tune right? Maybe I need to contact Lund directly?
Yes they can reflash. They will see the tune but if there is a tsb for the issue then you shouldn't have any problems. If not, your warranty is now void because of the tune and you need to contact whoever you purchased it from.

And i believe it would have to be the ECM.
2012Coyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 10:28 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Msoler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Florida
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Coyote

Yes they can reflash. They will see the tune but if there is a tsb for the issue then you shouldn't have any problems. If not, your warranty is now void because of the tune and you need to contact whoever you purchased it from.

And i believe it would have to be the ECM.
Haha...yeah ECM!! Thanks for the info. I'm going to look for the tsb.
Msoler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 10:40 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Napoleon85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Ohio
Posts: 3,045
Re: Starting Up Your 5.0

If they reflash while you're tuned you will have problems. The SCT will be bonded to the car and you will have to pay $150 to have SCT unlock it for you. Unfortunately, you're going to need to return the car to it's stock configuration, load the stock tune, then take it to the dealer.

---------- Post added at 11:35 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:33 PM ----------

Also, I think that your tune will have to be re-written since your calibration code will change.

---------- Post added at 11:40 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:35 PM ----------

Also, I used this magical piece of technology called "Google" to find this for you guys

5.0L - calibration update - various issues - built on or before 8/16/2010
__________________
Official Exhaust Thread Troller
Napoleon85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 10:58 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
avengnd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Stafford
Region: Virginia
Posts: 1,643
Re: Starting Up Your 5.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Napoleon85 View Post
Also, I used this magical piece of technology called "Google" to find this for you guys

5.0L - calibration update - various issues - built on or before 8/16/2010
What is this magical technology you speak of? LOL Thanks...anyone experience this with their 2012?
__________________
~ Alan Mustang Livin' and www.mustanglivin.com
2014 Shelby GT500
avengnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 11:04 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Napoleon85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Ohio
Posts: 3,045
Re: Starting Up Your 5.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by avengnd View Post
What is this magical technology you speak of? LOL Thanks...anyone experience this with their 2012?
I thought this was limited to Job1 2011 cars ... not sure about it popping up on the 2012 model.
__________________
Official Exhaust Thread Troller
Napoleon85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 11:09 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
avengnd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Stafford
Region: Virginia
Posts: 1,643
Re: Starting Up Your 5.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Napoleon85 View Post
I thought this was limited to Job1 2011 cars ... not sure about it popping up on the 2012 model.
I'm sure it is, just curious if anyone with a 2012 has experienced it.
__________________
~ Alan Mustang Livin' and www.mustanglivin.com
2014 Shelby GT500
avengnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 11:29 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Msoler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Florida
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by avengnd

What is this magical technology you speak of? LOL Thanks...anyone experience this with their 2012?
This technology... www.lmgtfy.com
Ha Ha Ha!! Thanks for doing that for us...I'm being lazy tonight!
Msoler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 07:53 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Napoleon85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Ohio
Posts: 3,045
Quote:
Originally Posted by Msoler

This technology... www.lmgtfy.com
Ha Ha Ha!! Thanks for doing that for us...I'm being lazy tonight!
Lol I almost posted it as a lmgtfy link, but I was trying to check my inner *******
__________________
Official Exhaust Thread Troller
Napoleon85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 08:45 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
robesope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Maryland
Posts: 55
Re: Starting Up Your 5.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by avengnd View Post
What is this magical technology you speak of? LOL Thanks...anyone experience this with their 2012?
Not me.
__________________

2012 GT Premium
Brembo Brakes, 3.73 Rear
Electronics Package w/ Rear Camera
HID Headlamps
Borla ATAK Axle Back Exhaust
robesope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 10:02 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
GCR5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 33
I've had no problems with my 2012.
GCR5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 01:15 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
GT_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: Virginia
Posts: 76
Same. It's been very consistent.
__________________
2012 GT/CS | 3.73's, Raxiom smoked headlights, smoked tail lights, GT500 axlebacks, Steeda CAI, Bama Racing Tune (93), 20% tint |
GT_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 03:27 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
mgioia2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 104
2012 here and never experienced that...
__________________
2012 GT Pemium w/hood and spoiler package, auto
mgioia2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 12:48 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Notorious_rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Virginia
Posts: 352
So this happened to me today at lowes!! First time- i immediately turned key off after it wouldnt start and tried again- same thing- pulled key out amd gave it 10 seconds and it started- im tuned with mods- does this mean i have to go back to stock and get this problem fixed-- is it a recalibrarion of the ecu???
Notorious_rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 01:19 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
Msoler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Florida
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Notorious_rob
So this happened to me today at lowes!! First time- i immediately turned key off after it wouldnt start and tried again- same thing- pulled key out amd gave it 10 seconds and it started- im tuned with mods- does this mean i have to go back to stock and get this problem fixed-- is it a recalibrarion of the ecu???
That's what I'm worried about! Mine did it again on Friday so it's becoming more of a regular thing now. I would hate to have to reinstall the stock air box and load the stock tune to get this fixed, but it looks like I may have to. I might try contacting Lund first to see if he can just update the tune to have whatever changes/fixes are needed. 😖

---------- Post added at 02:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:18 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Msoler

That's what I'm worried about! Mine did it again on Friday so it's becoming more of a regular thing now. I would hate to have to reinstall the stock air box and load the stock tune to get this fixed, but it looks like I may have to. I might try contacting Lund first to see if he can just update the tune to have whatever changes/fixes are needed. dde16
Msoler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 02:07 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Notorious_rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Virginia
Posts: 352
I would juat drive it to the dealer, reflash to stock, then wait for them, then reflash back to tune and drive away
Notorious_rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 02:48 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
Msoler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Florida
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Notorious_rob
I would juat drive it to the dealer, reflash to stock, then wait for them, then reflash back to tune and drive away
Will it run ok while they are looking at it if I leave the JLT cold air intake on it and flash it back to stock? I know that CAI requires an aftermarket tune...
Msoler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 02:50 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
Notorious_rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Virginia
Posts: 352
I have jlt as well- it will run rough from what i have read but they should only keep it at an idle if the need to flash it-- but my knowledge on this subject is limited-

Anyone else??
Notorious_rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 10:33 PM   #25
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 3,606
I wonder if your experiencing cold starts.
wnt2gofst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 12:22 AM   #26
Moderator Emeritus
Regular
 
deadsp0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: MidWorld
Region: Other
Posts: 4,786
Advanced timing makes it harder to start, retarded timing makes it easy. Sounds like a tune /timing issue.
__________________
That's unimpressive
deadsp0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 03:16 AM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
Notorious_rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Virginia
Posts: 352
Considerig im not the only one and there is a tsb on it- id say it was the cAr and not the tune
Notorious_rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 09:54 AM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
Napoleon85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Ohio
Posts: 3,045
Re: Starting Up Your 5.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Notorious_rob View Post
I would juat drive it to the dealer, reflash to stock, then wait for them, then reflash back to tune and drive away
That won't work. Your calibration strategy will change and you will need a new tune.
__________________
Official Exhaust Thread Troller
Napoleon85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 09:56 AM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
Notorious_rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Virginia
Posts: 352
Ao i wouldnt be able to use the tune on my sct tuner at all after the tsb fix?
Notorious_rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 10:17 AM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
Napoleon85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Ohio
Posts: 3,045
Re: Starting Up Your 5.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Notorious_rob View Post
Ao i wouldnt be able to use the tune on my sct tuner at all after the tsb fix?
The SCT will be fine as long as you return the car to stock first. This removes the "marriage" between the tuner and the vehicle. Once you get the TSB done, you can read the calibration strategy from the ECU using the SCT and send it to your tuner for an update. Given the circumstances, I think any reputable tuner would do this for free. You need to contact whoever tuned your car for a definitive answer.
__________________
Official Exhaust Thread Troller
Napoleon85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 10:27 AM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
Notorious_rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Virginia
Posts: 352
the tune came from xxx motorsports in pcola lol-
Maybe i will just pay for a bama tune- since i got the xxx one for free----
Notorious_rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 10:29 AM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
Napoleon85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Ohio
Posts: 3,045
[QUOTE=Notorious_rob;1047095 the tune came from xxx motorsports in pcola lol-
Maybe i will just pay for a bama tune- since i got the xxx one for free----[/QUOTE]

Why is that an issue? Are they no longer around?
__________________
Official Exhaust Thread Troller
Napoleon85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 10:30 AM   #33
Registered Member
Regular
 
Notorious_rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Virginia
Posts: 352
No they r but im in virginia beach va now lol
Notorious_rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 10:48 AM   #34
Moderator Emeritus
Regular
 
deadsp0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: MidWorld
Region: Other
Posts: 4,786
Quote:
Originally Posted by Notorious_rob
Considerig im not the only one and there is a tsb on it- id say it was the cAr and not the tune
Considering only ppl with the issue have tunes..
__________________
That's unimpressive
deadsp0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 10:50 AM   #35
Registered Member
Regular
 
Notorious_rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Virginia
Posts: 352
Then why is there a tsb lol?
Notorious_rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My official 5.0 engine swap thread PureVenom 1979-1995 Mustang GT 35 10-06-2013 01:12 PM
Watch 5.0 Magazine test AmericanMuscle's 2011 V6! AMDanBailer 2011-2014 V6 Mustang 0 10-19-2011 01:47 PM
95 5.0 starting problem stangrunner 1979-1995 Mustang GT 27 09-13-2011 09:48 PM
2011 V6 versus 2012 GT 5.0 avengnd General Mustang Discussion 6 09-01-2011 05:49 AM
Boss 302 vs GT 5.0 poloka 2011-2014 Mustang GT 188 06-20-2011 05:08 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



07:29 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.