Stock shift knob removal. - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 05-17-2012, 07:22 PM   #1

Region: Maryland
Stock shift knob removal.

I'm not a stupid man (don't ask my wife to confirm, please). I'm no mechanic, but I've installed a few mods, inside and out, some even under the hood.

Anyhow, the shift knob removal for this (picked it up yesterday, factory order):

…is just insurmountable. I've read all the how-tos, found threads on this site (google brought me here, actually), but I cannot get the thing off, and here's a key piece of info, potentially. Haven't seen it addressed in any searching:

Going lefty-loosy, the knob backs out (or up), gets to a where the silver ring on the knob itself is sitting maybe a quarter inch above the boot's 'o' ring, and the same distance above the base of the plastic thing inserted into the shift knob itself.

So the problem is, once it gets to a certain point, it just doesn't "unscrew" anymore. It still takes some elbow to spin it, but it's not going away from the bottom of the car any longer, and the plastic thing inserted into the knob itself is turning right along with the knob. Illustrations I've seen seem to indicate these two things need to separate, but I'll be damned if I can figure out how. No pliers small enough to get in there, even the little needle nose jobs.

I've pulled up while turning, pulled while not turning, and I can't get it. I'm hoping the threads are not crossed, though I should mention that I can--with some downward pressure--get the knob to start screwing back in, and get it flush with the boot material again. I've pulled the center console up hoping I could get to the bottom of the black plastic bit, but no dice there either.