Help with 1st 1/4 mile runs - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-19-2012, 12:54 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Louisiana
Help with 1st 1/4 mile runs

Know this will be a pretty rookie question, but I've gotten plenty different answers on it. I'll be going to the track in about a week and I'm totally new at this. What gears should I pull off in? Should I go normal (1st,2nd,3rd)? Should I pull off in 2nd? Or should I pull off in 1st, skip 2nd and go straight to third? I have a 2012 base gt and I'm completely stock performance wise so I'm not expecting the greatest numbers (since I'm completely new) tips also would be appreciated. Thanks
Mustangreazon50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-19-2012, 01:55 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Canada
1-2-3-4 fifth if u need it. No need for a big burnout on stock rubber. Launch low... ~3k rpm... don't dump the clutch, roll out of it. shift quick. have fun. Expect something in the mid to high 13s. Until you get ur launch sorted out.
Old 06-19-2012, 01:55 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Region: New Jersey
Re: Help with 1st 1/4 mile runs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustangreazon50 View Post
Know this will be a pretty rookie question, but I've gotten plenty different answers on it. I'll be going to the track in about a week and I'm totally new at this. What gears should I pull off in? Should I go normal (1st,2nd,3rd)? Should I pull off in 2nd? Or should I pull off in 1st, skip 2nd and go straight to third? I have a 2012 base gt and I'm completely stock performance wise so I'm not expecting the greatest numbers (since I'm completely new) tips also would be appreciated. Thanks
Well first off, you're going to the track, welcome to your new addiction!! haha