Ford Electronics/Programming Expert? Swapping 2013 Premium Cluster to 2013 Base - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-11-2012, 08:42 PM   #1
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Maryland
Posts: 1
Ford Electronics/Programming Expert? Swapping 2013 Premium Cluster to 2013 Base

So I have started the investigation into installing a gauge cluster out of a 2013 Premium GT into a 2013 Base GT.

I have gotten the part number and pricing details on the cluster, however I was hoping maybe someone from FORD, or someone experienced with the programming, etc could provide some input on any additional requirements beyond plug and play.

I thought I had seen a ford corporate employee on one of the forums who worked with the electrical systems/controller but cannot find the thread they were posting in.

Am I the only one interested in swapping the cluster? Mostly I'm interested in the Gauge information (Wideband, etc). But track apps would be awesome.
__________________
2013 Mustang GT Base (Black, 301A, Track Package & Recaros) - 2011 Honda CBR1000RR - 2010 VW Tiguan SE (4Motion, APR Chip) - 1995 BMW M3
doofoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-16-2012, 02:40 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
claudermilk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: California
Posts: 598
Re: Ford Electronics/Programming Expert? Swapping 2013 Premium Cluster to 2013 Base

The thought has crossed my mind. I suspect there's more to it than simply the gauge pack. You'd need the brain to drive the LCD panel with all those nice apps.

Since I have a tablet with Torque loaded & the needed BT ODBC II dongle, I'll play with that first. It will even migrate to the other car if it gets playtime, too.
claudermilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 05:29 PM   #3
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: Canada
Posts: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by doofoo
So I have started the investigation into installing a gauge cluster out of a 2013 Premium GT into a 2013 Base GT.

I have gotten the part number and pricing details on the cluster, however I was hoping maybe someone from FORD, or someone experienced with the programming, etc could provide some input on any additional requirements beyond plug and play.

I thought I had seen a ford corporate employee on one of the forums who worked with the electrical systems/controller but cannot find the thread they were posting in.

Am I the only one interested in swapping the cluster? Mostly I'm interested in the Gauge information (Wideband, etc). But track apps would be awesome.
Save yourself the money and time and just get a aeroforce gauge or two. You will be bored with the track apps after a week anyway
2011gt85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



10:04 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.