5.0 Oil question - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-20-2012, 08:26 PM   #1

Region: South Carolina
5.0 Oil question

For the last 15 years I have run nothing but Mobil one on all my cars. These included 2 jeeps 160K V8 Grand Cherokee and V6 Liberty a nissan murano, a 2010 v6 Mustang, a 160K nissan sentra and a Kia Koupe.

The result? No oil leaks whatsoever, no breakdowns, no oil loss at all between changes, no perceptable wear on any engine component bathed in the oil.

I have no experience yet with the 5.0. What oil are you guys running? Are there warranty issues if we change the oil?

I heard that Ford was getting really ornery about the warranty. Now I know that this is the type of statement that attracts a lot of hear-say, fear-based commentary. Please be prepared to back your comments with facts, and please do not tell me about your uncles farthers couzins friend who knows someone that told him in a bar once that Ford was looking for reasons to ding customers on warranty - even if they only changed the oil from whatever was prescribed. Facts. Please.

I would love to hear your experience about the Oil, including possible oil consumption 1st hand experiences.
Lastgunfight3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-20-2012, 10:13 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Alabama
Re: 5.0 Oil question

I took my '13 GT to the local Ford dealer and had the oil changed at 1400 miles... had them put Mobil 1 in it with no problem. They said nothing about voiding my warranty or anything.

I can't say anything about consumption or any of that since it's only been 4 days.
lilredgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 10:16 PM   #3
The Blue Dragon
Regular
Supporter

Region: Kentucky