Getting into 2nd smoothly - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-31-2012, 09:24 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Getting into 2nd smoothly

Hey guys! I bought a 2012 Mustang GT about a year ago and ever since I've gotten it I've noticed it's sometimes difficult shifting from 1st to 2nd without getting the "double lurch." I've tried almost everything I can think of, but it's hard getting a smooth transition from 1st to 2nd. All the other gears are as smooth as butter. The shifter it self goes into gear fine, but when I let off the clutch, the car seems to jump. I'm still new to driving a manual so any advice on this would help out greatly! Thanks for any help.
blackmustang12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-31-2012, 11:27 AM   #2

Region: Washington
Are you letting off the gas when shifting? You are probably just giving it too much gas too soon and possibly lifting off the clutch to abruptly. I think once you get some more seat time with the manual you'll smooth it out on your own.
pwrdbym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 12:28 PM   #3

Region: Virginia
Mine will do the same thing if I just get rolling in first, shift to second and don't give it any gas.
Advertisement

Old 10-31-2012, 02:54 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Kansas
Send a message via Yahoo to Tominkc
That's your skip shift,, When under 2000 RPM's it will skip 2nd gear and go in to 4th!! Suppose to help save gas!!!! Get a tune and it will shut it off!!
Tominkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 03:36 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tominkc
That's your skip shift,, When under 2000 RPM's it will skip 2nd gear and go in to 4th!! Suppose to help save gas!!!! Get a tune and it will shut it off!!