SCT Tuner question? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-02-2013, 11:21 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Entotalenigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fort Drum, NY
Region: New York
Posts: 20
SCT Tuner question?

Hey guys I am new to the whole tuning scene and just curious how easy it is to change tunes. For example can I change tunes while driving? If not is it something that I can pull over and change quickly if my intent of a drive changes or does it takes a long time.

Please note that I am a new owner of a 2013 Mustang GT stock.

---------- Post added at 12:21 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:19 PM ----------

Also is this a good first mod or should I do something else first?
Entotalenigma is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2013, 11:23 AM   #2
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
The engine must be off in order to load a new tune. Takes 60-90 seconds to load the new tune.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 11:29 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Entotalenigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fort Drum, NY
Region: New York
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowflyn View Post
The engine must be off in order to load a new tune. Takes 60-90 seconds to load the new tune.
Do you generally feel the difference right away or is it something that takes time to adjust?
Entotalenigma is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2013, 11:35 AM   #4
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by Entotalenigma

Do you generally feel the difference right away or is it something that takes time to adjust?
It's an immediate difference in performance.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 11:57 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Grabber Blue5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East Haven
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 3,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowflyn View Post
Takes 60-90 seconds to load the new tune.
Not on these cars. Takes a lot longer than that.
__________________
2017 Dodge Challenger T/A Redline Tri-Coat
2015 Dodge Challenger Scat Pack Jazz Blue Pearl Sold
2015 GT Premium 401A Ingot Silver Sold
2011 GT Premium 401A Grabber Blue Sold
Grabber Blue5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 12:17 PM   #6
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grabber Blue5.0
Not on these cars. Takes a lot longer than that.
Really? I have a x3 and that's all it takes
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 12:24 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
nosympathy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: none
Region: Ohio
Posts: 3,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grabber Blue5.0 View Post
Not on these cars. Takes a lot longer than that.
not going from one tune to another, really is about 90-120 seconds I'd say, but still pretty fast. It is going from the stock tune on the car to a custom tune that takes for effing ever.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowflyn View Post
Really? I have a x3 and that's all it takes
agreed.
__________________
MustangEvolution ROCKS MY SOCKS!!!
nosympathy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 12:29 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Grabber Blue5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East Haven
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 3,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowflyn View Post
Really? I have a x3 and that's all it takes
Do you have a 2011+ which is the section you posted in?

---------- Post added at 01:29 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:26 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by nosympathy View Post
not going from one tune to another, really is about 90-120 seconds I'd say, but still pretty fast. It is going from the stock tune on the car to a custom tune that takes for effing ever.
Maybe a little faster but still not that fast. But we're talking about loading the tune for the first time here in this thread.
__________________
2017 Dodge Challenger T/A Redline Tri-Coat
2015 Dodge Challenger Scat Pack Jazz Blue Pearl Sold
2015 GT Premium 401A Ingot Silver Sold
2011 GT Premium 401A Grabber Blue Sold
Grabber Blue5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 01:26 PM   #9
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grabber Blue5.0
Do you have a 2011+ which is the section you posted in?

---------- Post added at 01:29 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:26 PM ----------


Correct but we're talking about loading the tune for the first time here in this thread.
Might want to check your reading comprehension level before getting smart on someone...

Op specifically asked how long it takes to change tunes...not load the initial tune
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 01:37 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Grabber Blue5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East Haven
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 3,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowflyn View Post
Might want to check your reading comprehension level before getting smart on someone...

Op specifically asked how long it takes to change tunes...not load the initial tune
So then the answer is no you don't own a 2011 up.


I've swapped tunes many times on my X3 and it never goes that fast.
__________________
2017 Dodge Challenger T/A Redline Tri-Coat
2015 Dodge Challenger Scat Pack Jazz Blue Pearl Sold
2015 GT Premium 401A Ingot Silver Sold
2011 GT Premium 401A Grabber Blue Sold
Grabber Blue5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 02:06 PM   #11
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grabber Blue5.0
So then the answer is no you don't own a 2011 up.

I've swapped tunes many times on my X3 and it never goes that fast.
Cool starry bra.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 02:35 PM   #12
It's not me, it's you.
Regular
Supporter
 
primer2tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 6,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grabber Blue5.0 View Post
So then the answer is no you don't own a 2011 up.

I've swapped tunes many times on my X3 and it never goes that fast.
Do you guys revert to the stock tune before you load a new tune?

I just skimmed through this thread but I was under the impression that to change a tune you have to reload your stock tune and then load the custom tune.

I've heard of people loading one custom tune over another and having issues afterwards.

Typical time it takes me to revert to my stock tune and then load a new tune from start to finish is about 18 minutes.
primer2tone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 02:38 PM   #13
Moderator Emeritus
Regular
 
deadsp0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: MidWorld
Region: Other
Posts: 4,786
Quote:
Originally Posted by primer2tone View Post

Do you guys revert to the stock tune before you load a new tune?

I just skimmed through this thread but I was under the impression that to change a tune you have to reload your stock tune and then load the custom tune.

I've heard of people loading one custom tune over another and having issues afterwards.

Typical time it takes me to revert to my stock tune and then load a new tune from start to finish is about 18 minutes.
My Stone Age chip takes two seconds!
__________________
That's unimpressive
deadsp0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 03:10 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Grabber Blue5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East Haven
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 3,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by primer2tone View Post
Do you guys revert to the stock tune before you load a new tune?

I just skimmed through this thread but I was under the impression that to change a tune you have to reload your stock tune and then load the custom tune.

I've heard of people loading one custom tune over another and having issues afterwards.

Typical time it takes me to revert to my stock tune and then load a new tune from start to finish is about 18 minutes.
Do you have to? No. But I always do. SCT seems to have too many issues for my liking so I go back to stock and then load the new tune. I also have the stock tune saved on my lap top but I still don't trust SCT.
__________________
2017 Dodge Challenger T/A Redline Tri-Coat
2015 Dodge Challenger Scat Pack Jazz Blue Pearl Sold
2015 GT Premium 401A Ingot Silver Sold
2011 GT Premium 401A Grabber Blue Sold
Grabber Blue5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 06:08 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
cbf102770's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 88
I have a 2007 GT and have no issues changing from one tune to another. Ive gone from street to race to street ro performance etc and no issues with tune or not first going back to stock Ford tune. Difference is felt immediately after change. Takes about 3-4 minutes from initially plugging sct tuner in. Not bad for what its doing, and yes I would say you could do it if you were out driving and decided you wanted to switch. With my tunes being 87 street 91 performance and 93 race, I wouldnt be switching unless I already had a tank of the particular octane in I was switching over to. I usually fill up from nearly empty with the new octane, then put about 10-15 miles on before I will change over. Read somewhere that Bama or was it SCT??? suggests running a tank full of new octane before changing to ensure the higher octane is in the system.
__________________
2014 Sterling Gray GT Premium 6 MT. Track Pack, Recaro Seats, Shaker Pro. Upcoming mods Roush axle back, JLT oil separator, Roush front splitter, MGW shifter. Trufiber Carbon underhood dress up.
cbf102770 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 06:14 PM   #16
It's not me, it's you.
Regular
Supporter
 
primer2tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 6,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grabber Blue5.0 View Post
Do you have to? No. But I always do. SCT seems to have too many issues for my liking so I go back to stock and then load the new tune. I also have the stock tune saved on my lap top but I still don't trust SCT.
My car is my DD so I don't wanna take any chances. 18 minutes is worth it to me.
primer2tone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 06:15 PM   #17
It's not me, it's you.
Regular
Supporter
 
primer2tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 6,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadsp0t View Post

My Stone Age chip takes two seconds!
Rub it in smart guy!
primer2tone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 10:36 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
tc x 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 3,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grabber Blue5.0
Not on these cars. Takes a lot longer than that.
My x3 always took 3-5 mins.
tc x 4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 11:04 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
BUSHGUTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by primer2tone View Post
Do you guys revert to the stock tune before you load a new tune?

I just skimmed through this thread but I was under the impression that to change a tune you have to reload your stock tune and then load the custom tune.

I've heard of people loading one custom tune over another and having issues afterwards.

Typical time it takes me to revert to my stock tune and then load a new tune from start to finish is about 18 minutes.
i was seriously looking into getting the sct tuner with the bama tunes for life and now thanks for talking me out of it. 18 minutes is absolutley unacceptable to me. when i had my honda the tuning device was hondata flashpro. it only took 30 seconds to load the tune and 90 sec inbetween tunes. that 18 min is absolutely crazy. if my desktop with a million programs running can load up faster than a tune something is wrong. i am a very impatient person. (type A personality) and that just wont work for me. thanks for saving me $380. now i have more money to spend on her for valentines day.
BUSHGUTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 11:17 AM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Elgin ill
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,656
Best mod and most crucial one if you plan on alot of add ons :
Moto111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 11:34 AM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
BUSHGUTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moto111 View Post
Best mod and most crucial one if you plan on alot of add ons :
yeah i know. catch 22, double edge sword. i think my modding has come to an end
BUSHGUTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 01:08 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Elgin ill
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,656
You know a cai and tuner claim better mpg
Moto111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



02:46 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.