Mustang Evolution Forum banner

2011 MT-82 leaking?

9K views 17 replies 11 participants last post by  Alkhalil 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello all I'm a newbie and this is my first post. I was looking under the car today and noticed oil on the driver side of the tranny, Like a dummy I wiped it down with a rag before pictures so it doesn't look as bad at all in the pictures.

I was thinking it was the rear main but it doesn't appear to be, there's no oil on the oil pan and it looks like the worse of it is in the back.

I probably won't be able to take it in for awhile, just curious what you guys thought or if anyone else has had this problem.

See less See more
#2 ·
It's really hard to tell with out pulling the trans. Could be the rear main seal on the motor. Or it could be the front seal on the trans. Best to keep an eye on oil levels of both til you figure it out. Doesn't look to bad at this point, but it will get worse eventually. Good luck and welcome to the fourm.

#3 ·
Hello all I'm a newbie and this is my first post. I was looking under the car today and noticed oil on the driver side of the tranny, Like a dummy I wiped it down with a rag before pictures so it doesn't look as bad at all in the pictures.

I was worried it was the rear main but it doesn't appear to be, there's no oil on the oil pan and it looks like the worse of it is in the back.

I probably won't be able to take it in for awhile, just curious what you guys thought or if anyone else has had this problem.
That sucks, how many miles? Have u changed the fluid yourself? Or change the shifter??

#4 ·
tranny is all stock 18000 miles, I've only put 3500 miles on it (bought it used), and I was actually just getting ready to change engine oil and transmission. I'm hoping to bring it in to the shop before I leave town, and hopefully still have warranty on whatever needs to be fixed

#5 ·