2011 MT-82 leaking? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-12-2013, 08:51 AM   #1

Region: Alaska
2011 MT-82 leaking?

Hello all I'm a newbie and this is my first post. I was looking under the car today and noticed oil on the driver side of the tranny, Like a dummy I wiped it down with a rag before pictures so it doesn't look as bad at all in the pictures.

I was thinking it was the rear main but it doesn't appear to be, there's no oil on the oil pan and it looks like the worse of it is in the back.

I probably won't be able to take it in for awhile, just curious what you guys thought or if anyone else has had this problem.

AlaskanGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-12-2013, 09:19 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Indiana
It's really hard to tell with out pulling the trans. Could be the rear main seal on the motor. Or it could be the front seal on the trans. Best to keep an eye on oil levels of both til you figure it out. Doesn't look to bad at this point, but it will get worse eventually. Good luck and welcome to the fourm.
tc x 4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 09:41 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Region: New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlaskanGT View Post
Hello all I'm a newbie and this is my first post. I was looking under the car today and noticed oil on the driver side of the tranny, Like a dummy I wiped it down with a rag before pictures so it doesn't look as bad at all in the pictures.

I was worried it was the rear main but it doesn't appear to be, there's no oil on the oil pan and it looks like the worse of it is in the back.

I probably won't be able to take it in for awhile, just curious what you guys thought or if anyone else has had this problem.
That sucks, how many miles? Have u changed the fluid yourself? Or change the shifter??