Problem with tuner - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-04-2013, 08:25 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
JJB82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Region: New York
Posts: 50
Problem with tuner

I have a 2012 gt 5.0 With a superchips tuner. I'm using the 91 performance tune. Recently the maintenance light has been coming on (the wrench) And earlier my vehicle got stuck in first gear. I pulled over turn the car off started it back up and the problem went away and the light was off. However, this is the second time the light has come on in two days. I am becoming a bit concerned. Has anybody heard of this happening? Superchips said it's not too related. I'm probably going to go to Ford to have it checked out. Does anybody have any input on this?
JJB82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-04-2013, 08:49 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Maverick2004054's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cooper City
Region: Florida
Posts: 130
Have you updated your tuner lately? Which tuner are you using? When I was testing the intune for DiabloSport I was getting a rough idle when the car was re learning the idle. I would suggest re-tuning to stock, and trying to update your tuner, then going back to your 91 Performance tune. May be a slight glitch in the program that didn't upload properly. This is the best advice I can give based on what you have said. Is their any other symptoms?
Maverick2004054 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 08:56 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
JJB82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Region: New York
Posts: 50
I did an update on the tuner. I'm not having any other problems with it and it seems to be somewhat inconsistent. I'm taking into ford service today just to be safe
JJB82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-04-2013, 09:03 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Maverick2004054's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cooper City
Region: Florida
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJB82 View Post
I did an update on the tuner. I'm not having any other problems with it and it seems to be somewhat inconsistent. I'm taking into ford service today just to be safe
Just make sure you return the car back to stock before you take it in. Don't let them find out its got a tune in it
Maverick2004054 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 10:32 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
gtstyles2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lodi
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 1,889
Maintenance light with the wrench I would imagine is a completely different problem than the check engine light. I'm only guessing but it could be the oil life monitor, I could be wrong... But I do know it has nothing to do with the tune. Did u ever reset the oil life monitor??
gtstyles2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 10:35 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
nosympathy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: none
Region: Ohio
Posts: 3,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtstyles2 View Post
Maintenance light with the wrench I would imagine is a completely different problem than the check engine light. I'm only guessing but it could be the oil life monitor, I could be wrong... But I do know it has nothing to do with the tune. Did u ever reset the oil life monitor??
Oil life monitor doesn't turn that on I don't believe. It just annoys you with message center notifications. Same as when your gas tank gets low.
__________________
MustangEvolution ROCKS MY SOCKS!!!
nosympathy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 10:23 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
JJB82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Region: New York
Posts: 50
I took it into ford they said the cars computer had the incorrect tire size programmed into it Which may because of a setting with the tune. By the way I returned The car to stock before going in and they had no idea the car had a tune which is great news
JJB82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 10:28 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Maverick2004054's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cooper City
Region: Florida
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJB82 View Post
I took it into ford they said the cars computer had the incorrect tire size programmed into it Which may because of a setting with the tune. By the way I returned The car to stock before going in and they had no idea the car had a tune which is great news
Good to hear! Glad you got it figured out!
Maverick2004054 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



10:58 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.