2010 gt sub/amp on stock radio? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-04-2013, 10:50 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
FORDuhl6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 654
2010 gt sub/amp on stock radio?

Is this hard to do what adapters if any do I need? Should I get it professionally installed?
FORDuhl6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-04-2013, 10:52 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dloza05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by FORDuhl6 View Post
Is this hard to do what adapters if any do I need? Should I get it professionally installed?
+1
Dloza05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 10:56 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Adogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by FORDuhl6 View Post
Is this hard to do what adapters if any do I need? Should I get it professionally installed?
I would recommend an aftermarket deck it will be easier because it will have the spot to plug in the amp right on the back of the radio
__________________
Don't hate....... appreciate
Adogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-04-2013, 10:59 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Dloza05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Alabama
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adogg View Post

I would recommend an aftermarket deck it will be easier because it will have the spot to plug in the amp right on the back of the radio
I think he prefers to keep the stock stereo just wants to know what is needed
Dloza05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 11:02 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
FORDuhl6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dloza05 View Post

I think he prefers to keep the stock stereo just wants to know what is needed
Yes thank you
FORDuhl6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 11:06 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Adogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by FORDuhl6 View Post

Yes thank you
I can look it up at my work and see what it says cause if your stock radio doesn't have an out for the amp you would have to go with some sort of adapter to make it capable I will get back to you with the info man
__________________
Don't hate....... appreciate
Adogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 11:58 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
sprdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: GTA
Region: Canada
Posts: 148
All you need to do is you need a sub amp that has high level inputs.You will need to run a good quality Red + power cable.I ran one right from my battery back to my trunk.
This will take you the most time.You can also include a proper size fuse for the
amp in the wire.

You will also need a ground cable,this is easy you can
use any part of the metal body of the car.You then just tap wires from your rear speaker output into high level inputs to the sub amp.

Do searches its not to hard, if you take your time and read up.
Also before you do anything disconnect your battery.
sprdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 12:42 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Delta vt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: California
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by sprdave View Post
All you need to do is you need a sub amp that has high level inputs.You will need to run a good quality Red + power cable.I ran one right from my battery back to my trunk.
This will take you the most time.You can also include a proper size fuse for the
amp in the wire.

You will also need a ground cable,this is easy you can
use any part of the metal body of the car.You then just tap wires from your rear speaker output into high level inputs to the sub amp.

Do searches its not to hard, if you take your time and read up.
Also before you do anything disconnect your battery.
This exactly. I did it myself. You can go a ford dealer and get the wiring schematic for the back for your stock deck.
Delta vt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 04:07 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
GE3G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Canada
Posts: 721
Very easy... 12volt from battery you need a trigger source to turn amp on an off when keys are in ingnition and ground... A crossover that converts a speaker signal to a rca output and thats it
GE3G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 05:18 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Compstall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tacoma, WA
Region: Washington
Posts: 1,162
I bought a crossover. Have yet to get consistent power to mine, its intermittent. I pulled the signal from the rear speakers. My theory is there are base filters to the rear speakers, which takes a strong base signal out then I lose enough signal to where my amp won't pick it up and send to the sub. I've checked my power/vround connections multiple times, wiring and everything. Very frustrating
__________________
- Brent
'11 GT Kona Blue Brembo
"Measure with micrometers, mark with a scribe, chop with an axe"
"I'm not new to driving. I've been doing it for a couple of years now." - Aphex
Compstall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 05:51 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mweigt07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: North Dakota
Posts: 322
You can use a 5 channel amp like the Apline v70 which has a auto turn on and high level inputs. Use a factory radio adapter and a reverse one to connect the amp in line of your radio and speakers. The 5th channel is a sub out which will only play low freq. I installed the same amp in different cars and is a very nice amp that will push over 350 watts rms at 2 ohms to a sub
Mweigt07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 06:19 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
DJwils08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: California
Posts: 35
For mine I just tapped off the back speaker in the trunk. Super Easy, sounds almost as good.

Go with this option unless your going for aftermarket deck.
DJwils08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 06:35 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
FORDuhl6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJwils08 View Post
For mine I just tapped off the back speaker in the trunk. Super Easy, sounds almost as good.

Go with this option unless your going for aftermarket deck.
And you didn't need to run a power cable for the amp to the battery?
FORDuhl6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 06:50 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Compstall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tacoma, WA
Region: Washington
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by FORDuhl6 View Post

And you didn't need to run a power cable for the amp to the battery?
Yes you still need main power from the battery. You tap off a speaker to get the sound input.
__________________
- Brent
'11 GT Kona Blue Brembo
"Measure with micrometers, mark with a scribe, chop with an axe"
"I'm not new to driving. I've been doing it for a couple of years now." - Aphex
Compstall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 06:52 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
FORDuhl6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by Compstall View Post

Yes you still need main power from the battery. You tap off a speaker to get the sound input.
So do I need to run the amp to the radio? Or
FORDuhl6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 06:58 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Compstall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tacoma, WA
Region: Washington
Posts: 1,162
With the factory deck you won't run any wires directly to the deck.
__________________
- Brent
'11 GT Kona Blue Brembo
"Measure with micrometers, mark with a scribe, chop with an axe"
"I'm not new to driving. I've been doing it for a couple of years now." - Aphex
Compstall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 05:02 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
FORDuhl6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by Compstall View Post
With the factory deck you won't run any wires directly to the deck.
Damn I'm so confused, so run a power cable to battery from amp, then amp to sub? Or e haunch way
FORDuhl6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 07:14 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Compstall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tacoma, WA
Region: Washington
Posts: 1,162
I understand, I was all jacked up also the first time I ever did this many years ago.

Say you've got a standard 4-channel amp.

4 wires (+/-) from amp to each speaker

1 reference wire, this is the wire that tells the amp to come on. Does not need a lot of power, just a few milliamps for the signal. Should connect this one to most any wire that gets power as soon as you turn the key.

1 large power wire from amp to battery.

1 large ground wire, ground to chassis - the shorter the better.

Finally, you'll have the RCA outputs from the amp. With most aftermarket decks you'd just run your RCA's from the amp to the back of the deck. With factory decks its more of a pain, and you need your sound signal from your factory speaker wires. You accomplish this by wiring in a convertor, then connect the RCA's from your amp to the convertor.
__________________
- Brent
'11 GT Kona Blue Brembo
"Measure with micrometers, mark with a scribe, chop with an axe"
"I'm not new to driving. I've been doing it for a couple of years now." - Aphex
Compstall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 07:18 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
FORDuhl6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 654
Do you happen to know where a converter can be had?
FORDuhl6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 11:47 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Compstall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tacoma, WA
Region: Washington
Posts: 1,162
Any car audio shop carries them, somewhere around $20 to $30
__________________
- Brent
'11 GT Kona Blue Brembo
"Measure with micrometers, mark with a scribe, chop with an axe"
"I'm not new to driving. I've been doing it for a couple of years now." - Aphex
Compstall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 06:15 AM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
SharprThnJilett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Republic
Region: Missouri
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJwils08 View Post
For mine I just tapped off the back speaker in the trunk. Super Easy, sounds almost as good.

Go with this option unless your going for aftermarket deck.
+1. Not the best sound but super easy.
SharprThnJilett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 07:10 AM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
FORDuhl6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by SharprThnJilett View Post

+1. Not the best sound but super easy.
Can someone write up how to exactly do this please?
Thanks
FORDuhl6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 10:28 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
FORDuhl6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by SharprThnJilett View Post

+1. Not the best sound but super easy.
Do you splice into the reap speaker wires for power from the sub?
FORDuhl6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 04:52 AM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
SharprThnJilett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Republic
Region: Missouri
Posts: 28
Run your power from your battery to your amp.

Run your remote wire from ignition to amp.

Ground your amp.

Hook your converter into your rear speaker wires.

This is a converter

http://www.mwave.com/mwave/SKUSearch...8#.UTnA8fq9LCQ

Run your RCA cables from your converter to your amp.

Hook your sub/subs to your amp.

Super easy. Fair warning, this is not the best sound quality. There are far better options.

---------- Post added at 04:52 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:48 AM ----------

The only thing that is different is that you are hooking your RCA cables into your speakers. The factory unit does not have RCA hook ups. Everything else is the same as a standard sub/amp install.
SharprThnJilett is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



12:42 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.