2013 GT 6/MT clutch Grind - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-05-2013, 09:55 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: New York
2013 GT 6/MT clutch Grind

2013 - GT 6/MT, 4430 miles at about 10 months and have been having some mild notchiness clutch grinding for a while now. It comes and goes. Thought it might just have to break in more and eventually sort itself out.

I NEVER abuse my car or even run it hard except for a nice trip down the fast lane occasionally with no traffic and of course the radar detector. I'm still breaking it in you might say.
Well I have been driving manual transmissions for over 30 years (All but one of my cars have been manuals) and yes I do press the clutch pedal all the way down to the floor on every shift, but sometimes it misbehaves and wants to grind just a little or feels overly notchy going through espescially Neutral to 1st and also 1st to 2nd gears.
Sometimes I have to press the clutch a second time for cooperation. Sometimes just to get into 1st gear in the mornings I have to shift through the other gears first to get into 1st. Not all the time, that is what's troubling.
Anybody else have this problems. It seems worst when it's very cold outside.
I had the car in for the 5000 mile service today, but failed to mention it because, I figured they were not going to duplicate the events anyway or if they did I would lose my car for a week and they would dismantle my brand new GT and perhaps make it worse.
Suggestions or experiences would be appreciated

Thank You
Any suggestions.
Greg3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-05-2013, 10:04 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: California
I haven't heard of this problem on the 13 gt.
This has not happened to me I got 8,000m so far.
How long has it been happening for ?