TPMS - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-10-2013, 10:57 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
jkattchee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 352
TPMS

If you get a new set of wheels and dont want to buy new TPMS sensors could you just use the ones out of your current wheels, or do you have to buy new ones when you get new wheels?
jkattchee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-10-2013, 11:21 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tpost08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 624
I asked my local Goodyear and they said they'd charge me 20-25 dollars to switch them. Haven't done it yet due to the fact I can't fit 4 tires in my car.
Tpost08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 11:38 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
jkattchee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 352
Thanks man
jkattchee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-11-2013, 01:57 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tpost08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 624
No problem. I couldn't justify 200 dollars at the time to but new ones for the new wheels. So 25 max each time I want to switch rims isn't bad.
Tpost08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 02:24 AM   #5
It's not me, it's you.
Regular
Supporter
 
primer2tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 6,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tpost08 View Post
I asked my local Goodyear and they said they'd charge me 20-25 dollars to switch them.
That's really cheap! Discount Tire wanted $60 to swap out mine plus rebalancing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tpost08 View Post
Haven't done it yet due to the fact I can't fit 4 tires in my car.
Try harder! Lol, I've managed to squeeze all 4 rims & tires in my mustang before.
primer2tone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 02:53 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
ashpow24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Germany
Region: Other
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tpost08 View Post
I asked my local Goodyear and they said they'd charge me 20-25 dollars to switch them. Haven't done it yet due to the fact I can't fit 4 tires in my car.
Haha same problem here rims and tires, no room!
__________________
Have you ever noticed that anybody driving slower than you is an idiot, and anyone going faster than you is a maniac?
ashpow24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 05:45 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Elmendorf
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,322
I was told that they would be pretty much destroyed while removing them, and they are one time use. But then again, when I bought my wheels/tires I bought a package and all I had to do was put them straight on.

If they are in fact removable how would you transfer them though? You will have to have the set to be transferred to with you at the time regardless.
ZLwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 05:52 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
tc x 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 3,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZLwhat
I was told that they would be pretty much destroyed while removing them, and they are one time use. But then again, when I bought my wheels/tires I bought a package and all I had to do was put them straight on.

If they are in fact removable how would you transfer them though? You will have to have the set to be transferred to with you at the time regardless.
They sell a tool, most shops have it.
tc x 4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 07:12 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Evil2014GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Northern VA
Region: Alabama
Posts: 1,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by tc x 4 View Post
They sell a tool, most shops have it.
Yup. I choose to go ahead and get new ones installed on my rims/tires from AM, since I plan on keeping my stock rims/tires for the winter. If your doing the same thing, might as well pay $200 up front, instead on $100 each time you change them out.
__________________
2014 Mustang GT Base MT82 -Stock 3.73s, Roush axleback, Steeda 93R tune, Steeda Hi-flow X-pipe, 19" Charcoal AMR's, smoked front and rear side markers, 20% tint, quarter window louvers, Steeda Ultralite springs, Koni Str.t shocks/struts, MM camber plates, J&M adjustable panhard bar, BMR LCAs and relo brackets, Barton shifter and 2-post bracket, Black Modern Billet Grilles
Evil2014GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 10:05 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Elmendorf
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by tc x 4 View Post

They sell a tool, most shops have it.
Haha you're always Mis-understanding my posts and correcting me. I know they sell calibration tools. But in order to remove the sensors you have to dismount the tire from the wheel. I've heard at that point, the sensors are worthless and new ones need to be put in. That was all I was saying, and my next point was that he has two sets of wheels and one set of sensors so how would manage switching them?
ZLwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 10:25 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Evil2014GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Northern VA
Region: Alabama
Posts: 1,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZLwhat View Post
Haha you're always Mis-understanding my posts and correcting me. I know they sell calibration tools. But in order to remove the sensors you have to dismount the tire from the wheel. I've heard at that point, the sensors are worthless and new ones need to be put in. That was all I was sayinig, and my next point was that he has two sets of wheels and one set of sensors so how would manage switching them?
From what ive read there is basically a rebuild kit which allows you to reuse the original sensors. A waste of money IMO if you are going to keep the stock rims. I think he was referring to the remote that you need to sync the sensors which all tire shops should have considering all 07+ cars come with a tpms. Yes you are 100% correct, the tires need to be removed from the original rims to get the sensors off, but you can have them put on and synced to the new rims. But once again, a shop will charge atleast $125 to do so, might as well spend the extra $75 and have a set on both rims, and your own sync tool from AM and never have to worry about it again.
__________________
2014 Mustang GT Base MT82 -Stock 3.73s, Roush axleback, Steeda 93R tune, Steeda Hi-flow X-pipe, 19" Charcoal AMR's, smoked front and rear side markers, 20% tint, quarter window louvers, Steeda Ultralite springs, Koni Str.t shocks/struts, MM camber plates, J&M adjustable panhard bar, BMR LCAs and relo brackets, Barton shifter and 2-post bracket, Black Modern Billet Grilles
Evil2014GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 10:48 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
jkattchee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 352
If by he you mean me i was actually mean the TPMS sensors that come on the stock rims to be taken out and put in new wheels (i might not buy from AM is why i ask)
jkattchee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 01:48 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Elmendorf
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil2014GT View Post

From what ive read there is basically a rebuild kit which allows you to reuse the original sensors. A waste of money IMO if you are going to keep the stock rims. I think he was referring to the remote that you need to sync the sensors which all tire shops should have considering all 07+ cars come with a tpms. Yes you are 100% correct, the tires need to be removed from the original rims to get the sensors off, but you can have them put on and synced to the new rims. But once again, a shop will charge atleast $125 to do so, might as well spend the extra $75 and have a set on both rims, and your own sync tool from AM and never have to worry about it again.
Yes, you are understanding what I am saying. I just thought that the OP was wanting to use stock sensors in his new wheels and tires. I wasn't even referring to the sync tool which is worth purchasing just based on the premise you don't have to rely on a tire shop. I was more less stating the fact that I heard a tpms sensor is a "one use only" sensor and that he might have to buy new sensors for the new wheels anyways... That is all.

The sync tool is a whole different story
ZLwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 02:08 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
tc x 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 3,783
I wasn't trying to correct anyone, I was just putting it out there. I'm not running sensors at all. When my current tires wear out, I'll buy a second set and have them installed.
tc x 4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 03:53 AM   #15
It's not me, it's you.
Regular
Supporter
 
primer2tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 6,752
The sensors are reusable. I trashed two of my stock rims at the last drift event. I picked up two used rims from a junkyard that had no tires or tpms sensors. I went to a tire shop, bought two tires and had them swap my sensors over and they still worked. I didn't even need to recalibrate them.
primer2tone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 07:07 AM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tpost08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 624
Quote:
Originally Posted by primer2tone View Post
The sensors are reusable. I trashed two of my stock rims at the last drift event. I picked up two used rims from a junkyard that had no tires or tpms sensors. I went to a tire shop, bought two tires and had them swap my sensors over and they still worked. I didn't even need to recalibrate them.
+1. The man speaks the truth. "Reusable"
Tpost08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 07:20 AM   #17
Loc: Austin,TX
Regular
Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Austin
Region: Texas
Posts: 5,980
Never switched mine over and the light on the dash rarely comes on. When it does,I could care less.
DDTCM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 07:32 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tpost08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 624
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDTCM View Post
Never switched mine over and the light on the dash rarely comes on. When it does,I could care less.
Yeah. My old tires are in the garage with my car. So unless I drive around several hours a day. It never comes on. I leave for work. Park at work for 8 1/2 hours then come back home and it still hasn't come on. But if I'm doing a lot if weekend driving. It comes on.
Tpost08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 09:48 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
tc x 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 3,783
Mine comes on at around mile 20.
tc x 4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 04:25 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Grabber Blue5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East Haven
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 3,510
I don't run any sensors and my light comes on immediately. But I also could care less.
__________________
2017 Dodge Challenger T/A Redline Tri-Coat
2015 Dodge Challenger Scat Pack Jazz Blue Pearl Sold
2015 GT Premium 401A Ingot Silver Sold
2011 GT Premium 401A Grabber Blue Sold
Grabber Blue5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 09:40 PM   #21
Loc: Austin,TX
Regular
Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Austin
Region: Texas
Posts: 5,980
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tpost08 View Post
Yeah. My old tires are in the garage with my car. So unless I drive around several hours a day. It never comes on. I leave for work. Park at work for 8 1/2 hours then come back home and it still hasn't come on. But if I'm doing a lot if weekend driving. It comes on.
Lol, exactamundo. Mine are in the garage also and I don't drive too far so it hardly comes on.
DDTCM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 10:57 AM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Klaximilian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: California
Posts: 161
My light will come on from time to time. I'll just bring the old tires I just replace to America's Tire Co and have them remove the sensors and place them in my new GT500 19's.
Klaximilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



04:49 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.