Ditching my Metra double DIN dash kit - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-09-2013, 02:04 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
InfinibandGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Ramon
Region: Other
Posts: 230
I have a 2012 GT. One of the first things I did was to get a dash kit to accommodate a double DIN. I bought the Metra (I think there are two versions at this point). It lasted just over a year.

The fitment on this kit is good. The electronics suck. Not industrial quality, more like Taiwanese quality . Even though the LCD and buttons look cheesy, if you have a good double DIN unit you won't care because you're going to just look at your deck.

The LCD back light failed, it sucks to drive at night. Metra wouldn't provide replacement parts even if I paid for it. I would have to buy the entire crappy kit again. No thanks.

It would be fine, if this was just a bracket, it's not. It's got the entire control system for your interior.

I'm looking at my stock stuff and its not as cheesy as this crap. The stock controls are actually pretty cool. I'm dumping this trash. I'm glad I saved my stock parts.

The Schochie kit is crap as well, from what I've read on other forums.

Just a heads-up.

How is everyone doing with their Metra dash kit after a year?
InfinibandGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-09-2013, 02:26 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
slonison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Teaneck, NJ
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 83
pics?
slonison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 11:30 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
InfinibandGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Ramon
Region: Other
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by slonison View Post
pics?
What do you want pics of? Here's a shot of the dash kit. The double DIN pioneer is there as well. I'm pulling it because the backlight is gone. Can't use the controls at night.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3709624481.jpg
Views:	9214
Size:	204.8 KB
ID:	117524  
InfinibandGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-10-2013, 12:28 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
InfinibandGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Ramon
Region: Other
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by InfinibandGT View Post

What do you want pics of? Here's a shot of the dash kit. The double DIN pioneer is there as well. I'm pulling it because the backlight is gone. Can't use the controls at night.
Here's the stock controls, should be familiar. These have about 200 miles on them. New I won't be lighting a bic lighter now to see the settings.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1058831217.jpg
Views:	4986
Size:	261.6 KB
ID:	117533  
InfinibandGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 12:32 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
InfinibandGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Ramon
Region: Other
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by InfinibandGT View Post

Here's the stock controls, should be familiar. These have about 200 miles on them. New I won't be lighting a bic lighter now to see the settings.
Metra garbage, I'll miss my double DIN. Too bad. I put up with this for months.
InfinibandGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 05:22 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Jago1021's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brandon
Region: Florida
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by InfinibandGT View Post
Metra garbage, I'll miss my double DIN. Too bad. I put up with this for months.
Thanks for the heads up! I was in the market on buying a Scosche kit, but wasn't 100% convinced on the quality of the climate control screen. I think I'll just stay with the factory radio.
Jago1021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 10:24 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Canada
Posts: 2,974
Seeing stuff like this, so happy I bought the OEM tech package for my car. Everything works so easily a cross-eyed monkey like me can figure it out without the manual and, should anything go wrong like, say, a GPS antenna failure like last month, I just politely ask Ford to fix it and they do.

'Course I'm even happier I didn't pay the ridiculous retail price for the tech pack either. It was basically free once all the discounts on the car were tabulated.

The stock stuff on your car actually does look pretty good and integrates with the interior better, visually, imho.
5LHO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 02:21 PM   #8
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Silicon Valley
Region: California
Posts: 1
I seek a radio housing from a Metra dash kit

If you're not using yours, can I buy it?
deepimpact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 02:42 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
scott_0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 774
if you want a great looking dash panel, look into the ADS-idatalink maestro kit, of course you'll need a dedicated Kenwood headunit, but the hvac controls are within the headunit and you also get access to OBDII readings, which enables you to check and clear CEL codes as well as gives you real time tire pressures, all on the head unit!!!

sent from my S4 using Tapatalk
__________________
2016 DIB GT Premium A6, Borla S-type axle backs, Rovos Pretoria wheels 20x8.5/20x10, Nitto N555G2 tires 255/35/20 and 275/35/20, Koni yellows, BMR springs
scott_0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 06:20 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
InfinibandGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Ramon
Region: Other
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by deepimpact View Post
If you're not using yours, can I buy it?

Sorry, I gave it to my buddy. He used it for a couple of months and the climate controls stopped working. It definitely had some issues.
InfinibandGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 04:35 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: oak hill
Region: West Virgina
Posts: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott_0 View Post
if you want a great looking dash panel, look into the ADS-idatalink maestro kit, of course you'll need a dedicated Kenwood headunit, but the hvac controls are within the headunit and you also get access to OBDII readings, which enables you to check and clear CEL codes as well as gives you real time tire pressures, all on the head unit!!!

sent from my S4 using Tapatalk
I have been thinking of getting a better head unit that has nav and all that on it. I have the base gt. What all would I have to buy to put one of these in? So all the controls that are on the dash now would be on the radio?
__________________
2013 Gotta Have It Green Gt, stock with American thunder axle backs, 6-speed
Green5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 11:05 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
12V Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Green5.0 View Post
I have been thinking of getting a better head unit that has nav and all that on it. I have the base gt. What all would I have to buy to put one of these in? So all the controls that are on the dash now would be on the radio?
All the controls would be in a screen in the radio and you would also have quick access to several functions (you choose when you program) on the button bar just above the radio.


You need:


ADS-MRR - the module
ADS-KIT-MUS01 - the dash kit and harness
Compatible Radio - 2013 or 2014 Kenwood DNN, DNX models


Crutchfield and Sound of Tri State are both authorized internet retailers for everything you need.


Cheers,
__________________
12V Guy
Automotive Data Solutions, Inc.
Montreal, Canada
maestro.idatalink.com
12V Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 11:13 AM   #13
Registered User
Newbie
 
Wanacustomx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Myrtle beach
Region: Rhode Island
Posts: 19
D


~Wanacustomx~
~Sound Ordinance Audio~
Wanacustomx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



07:36 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.