Car dying - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-12-2013, 08:42 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Elgin ill
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,656
Car dying

Well trying to work a kink I just installed the vortech as we know but know having issues . When coming off throttle and putting car in neutral and slowing down the car dies and the little battery light come up meaning car died lol it smells really rich when it does and it will fire right back up. Also when the ac is on full blast it gets worse like it wants to die and idles really low . I checked the vaccum lines and everything is tight . I have no idea what to do
Moto111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-12-2013, 09:42 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Elmendorf
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,322
Sounds like your mass air flow isn't plugged in or is calibrated wrong
ZLwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 09:47 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Black5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Illinois
Posts: 395
Your maf is more than likely fine. Just needs tuning adjustment to your idle air. Went through same issue and know several other sc guys that have to. Tune just needs tweaking.

---------- Post added at 09:47 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:45 PM ----------

Op, clean out your pm box. Just tried to send you a message
Black5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-12-2013, 09:49 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Elgin ill
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,656
I did and brenspeed is tweaking it and going back and forth with me and it only happens after car is warm and 10-15 mins of being run . Also the ac practically makes car stutter and lights flicker and idle bounces like crazy from 500-780
Moto111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 09:50 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Elmendorf
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black5.0 View Post
Your maf is more than likely fine. Just needs tuning adjustment to your idle air. Went through same issue and know several other sc guys that have to. Tune just needs tweaking.
5.0s don't have idle air control. Only a tps sensor and a mass air flow sensor.
ZLwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 09:56 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Black5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Illinois
Posts: 395
Mine did same thing with Lund tune and Brenspeed tune. Brenspeed was able to improve it but never got rid of it after 3 tries(tunes). Finally Justin Bircham at JPC took care of it! Rpms never even dip anymore. Idles a tad high at 1k though but I don't mind.

---------- Post added at 09:54 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:54 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZLwhat View Post

5.0s don't have idle air control. Only a tps sensor and a mass air flow sensor.
I'm just quoting what JPC told me. I'm not a tuner

---------- Post added at 09:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:54 PM ----------

That's also how Brenspeed explained it to me as well. They were adjusting something.
Black5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 09:56 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Elgin ill
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black5.0 View Post
Mine did same thing with Lund tune and Brenspeed tune. Brenspeed was able to improve it but never got rid of it after 3 tries(tunes). Finally Justin Bircham at JPC took care of it! Rpms never even dip anymore. Idles a tad high at 1k though but I don't mind.
Did you drive to jpc? I have the email tune from brenspeed and they sent me a revised one and does same damn thing even after a wot run soon as I put it in neutral car dies and I have to restart it mind u I'm going 50+ lol
Moto111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 09:57 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Black5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Illinois
Posts: 395
I did drive to JPC.
Black5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 09:57 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Elgin ill
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black5.0 View Post
I did drive to JPC.
U have a pm hit me up
Moto111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 10:00 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Black5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Illinois
Posts: 395
You can keep it from dying if you let the rpms down while in gear. Like if coming to a stop whe in fourth just let yourself get down to say 10 mph before throwing it in neutral. It can be annoying but it'll keep the car running.
Black5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 10:04 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Elmendorf
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,322
That's a tps and MAF out of calibration. I'm telling you..
ZLwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 10:10 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Elmendorf
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,322
Did you data log your tune?
ZLwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 10:24 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Elgin ill
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,656
Back and forth when brenspeed I think field trip is in order
Moto111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 10:52 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Winter Haven
Region: Florida
Posts: 407
Tuner raised my idle to 800 rpm's when I got my supercharger installed.
chefron50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 08:19 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Elgin ill
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,656
So brenspeed sent me a revised tune to help trouble shoot and now this is what came up

P0016 and p052a both have to deal with camshaft postin timing Over advanced wtf !
Moto111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 10:42 AM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
DWC_SmOziLLa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lancaster
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,791
This has turned into a friggin nightmare for you. I know we all want to learn and be able to say " I did this myself "
But this is why you pay a professional to install and tune something. Because if something goes wrong it's their problem and you don't take your car off their property till it's done and done right.
__________________
Best 1/4: 1.90 60ft. - 12.15 @ 119mph on Street Tires.
460.25rwhp & 408.28rwtq SAE on a Dynojet 224xLC
Tuned by Matt Lepkowski, owner and operator a Performance Evolution in Smyrna, DE.
DWC_SmOziLLa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 11:35 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Elgin ill
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,656
Ya ya but what's done is done and if a Dyno tune doesn't fix it blower is coming off and in trading in car that's how pissed I am . Shouldn't be one issue after another the vortech tune should have been fine why else would they send it
Moto111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 11:36 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Elmendorf
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moto111 View Post
So brenspeed sent me a revised tune to help trouble shoot and now this is what came up

P0016 and p052a both have to deal with camshaft postin timing Over advanced wtf !
Did you make sure the camshaft position sensors are plugged in? You might have them swapped or not plugged in.

---------- Post added at 11:36 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:35 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moto111 View Post
Ya ya but what's done is done and if a Dyno tune doesn't fix it blower is coming off and in trading in car that's how pissed I am . Shouldn't be one issue after another the vortech tune should have been fine why else would they send it
It's likely not in the tune. It could be something simple as a loose connection somewhere. These cars are computers
ZLwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 11:43 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Elgin ill
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,656
No idea where those plugs are and only plugs touched where for throttle body and PVC and maf nothing else
Moto111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 12:17 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
TooSlow4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Arizona
Posts: 505
If I were you I'd return it to stock, sell the blower and trade it in for a diesel truck.
TooSlow4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 12:20 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Elgin ill
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,656
Lol this guy lol I just wana make sure those codes r tune related and not mechanical failure
Moto111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 12:46 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
TooSlow4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Arizona
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moto111 View Post
Lol this guy lol I just wana make sure those codes r tune related and not mechanical failure
You've had a field day with that car.
TooSlow4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 12:55 PM   #23
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,684
Why don't you just pay someone to fix/tune it and let them worry about it?
Mikeyt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 01:07 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Elmendorf
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,322
Those plugs are likely on the front of the cylinder heads right where the main bracket for the vortech would have bolted in. You could have knocked one loose while bolting that stuff on.
ZLwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 01:16 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Elgin ill
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,656
Il check tonight and clear codes and go from there thanks man
Moto111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 08:02 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
TooSlow4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Arizona
Posts: 505
So whatever happened to your car?
TooSlow4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



08:50 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.