Bad Smell in Reverse - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-23-2013, 09:15 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Georgia
Bad Smell in Reverse

I have a 14' GT Manual and I notice a rotten egg like smell in reverse. It is particularly when I am backing into my garage. Does anyone else have this issue? I have been driving manuals for about five years so I don't think its my clutch.
Advertisement

Old 07-23-2013, 09:32 PM   #2
Road Trip!

Region: Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by ford302ize View Post
I have a 14' GT Manual and I notice a rotten egg like smell in reverse. It is particularly when I am backing into my garage. Does anyone else have this issue? I have been driving manuals for about five years so I don't think its my clutch.
That's un burnt fuel your smelling. It's probably normal. But you could have issues with your cats.
Mikeyt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 09:38 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Region: New Jersey
I'm sure this is after taking your car for a good run... When my car was new and I have it a GOOD run, it had a weird smell like that all the time... I always drive it like I stole it, that smell doesn't happen anymore... It's all part of the break-in phase, don't forget to keep your eye on the oil level too for at least the first 5k or so... After my first 5k, all noises and little issues are all gone
gtstyles2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-23-2013, 09:41 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Georgia
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtstyles2 View Post