2014 GT Check Engine Light - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-25-2013, 10:58 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Charlotte
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 23
2014 GT Check Engine Light

I had a problem this morning when I left my house. When I hit the main highway outside of my neighborhood I accelerated and shifted from 1st to 2nd. There was a slight delay in acceleration when I shifted into second gear and then at 3500 RPMs the check engine light started flashing and the car had a serious reduction in power. I babied it to the next intersection and pulled over to turn it around. Once I got the car turned around the check engine light went out and the car seemed to be normal.

The only thing I have done to the car is Outlaw axle-back exhaust, put the JTL oil separator on the passenger side, and installed a drop in K&N air filter.

Anybody else ever experience this or know what could have caused it?
jlesp2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-25-2013, 11:56 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
TaylorF25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: Florida
Posts: 296
If you are still under warrantee ( in guessing you are) then I would have Ford take a look at it.
TaylorF25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 11:58 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
acornsmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Boca Raton
Region: Florida
Posts: 536
I just read about someone with the same problem , took it into the dealer and they just test drove it and it was fine. try disconnecting the battery? or bring it to the dealer you still have that beautiful warranty
acornsmoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-25-2013, 12:12 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Charlotte
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by TaylorF25 View Post
If you are still under warrantee ( in guessing you are) then I would have Ford take a look at it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by acornsmoke View Post
I just read about someone with the same problem , took it into the dealer and they just test drove it and it was fine. try disconnecting the battery? or bring it to the dealer you still have that beautiful warranty
Thanks for the responses. I had planned on taking it back to the dealer. I was just curious if anyone else had this issue and what could cause it.
jlesp2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 12:27 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Canada
Posts: 2,974
There are a thousand things that could cause it so, your best move is take it in, unless you have a code reader at home.

This engine has a number of serious protection strategies built in to the programming so, you likely triggered one of those.
__________________
2014 Premium GT, SGM, Brembo, Auto, Tech, Comfort, etc. GT500s, Steeda UCA, VMP auto N/A tune. 100 shot nitrous on BBR tune. Best e/t 11.42 at 120.64

2012 Premium GT, Candy Red, Brembo package, 3.73, MT82, Comfort, Tech, et al. Procal tune, Roush UCA, UMI poly LCA, GT500s, Steeda red bracket, Hoosier 28x10x16 bias drags. Best e/t 11.91 at 115.23 RIP
5LHO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 12:58 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
TooSlow4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Arizona
Posts: 505
When you have a problem with your car and its still under warranty,...take it to the dealer. Everyday there's a thread like this and every response is the same "take it in."
TooSlow4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 01:52 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
LovinmyGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florence
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 207
This has happened to me bout 10 times or so took it to the dealership it was my cylinders misfiring.. and they have no clue what to do, so they will prob reflash your pcm and tell ya its good..
LovinmyGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 02:18 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Charlotte
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by LovinmyGT View Post
This has happened to me bout 10 times or so took it to the dealership it was my cylinders misfiring.. and they have no clue what to do, so they will prob reflash your pcm and tell ya its good..
Thanks. I've been reading up on this a little bit and have to say I'm a little discouraged by what I've been reading. It sounds like there is a problem but Ford doesn't know what to do. At any rate, I will make an appointment and take it in and see what happens. Again thanks for the reply.
jlesp2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 03:21 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Grabber Blue5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East Haven
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 3,510
Sounds like it went into limp mode.
__________________
2017 Dodge Challenger T/A Redline Tri-Coat
2015 Dodge Challenger Scat Pack Jazz Blue Pearl Sold
2015 GT Premium 401A Ingot Silver Sold
2011 GT Premium 401A Grabber Blue Sold
Grabber Blue5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 04:07 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
LovinmyGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florence
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 207
Yea they keep givin me the run-around last time I took it in I brought it to AutoZone a couple days earlier and they said cylinder 1 and 4 misfired and cylinder 1 was a permanent misfire, took it to the dealership and they said sorry there's no codes so we can't work on it.. either AutoZone cleared the codes or they don't want to work on it, but I'm tired of dealing with this problem, especially reading how everyone else tunes there stangs and mods the hell outta them with no problems.
LovinmyGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 08:54 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Charlotte
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by LovinmyGT View Post
Yea they keep givin me the run-around last time I took it in I brought it to AutoZone a couple days earlier and they said cylinder 1 and 4 misfired and cylinder 1 was a permanent misfire, took it to the dealership and they said sorry there's no codes so we can't work on it.. either AutoZone cleared the codes or they don't want to work on it, but I'm tired of dealing with this problem, especially reading how everyone else tunes there stangs and mods the hell outta them with no problems.
A lot of people have similar stories. Seems if you get the light you need to take it right to the dealer and get it checked, otherwise when you turn the car off it will clear the code unless it happens more than once in the same cycle. I don't really know but I am going to the dealership tomorrow. Hopefully they can figure something out. Good luck to you, hopefully they figure something out for you soon.

---------- Post added at 09:54 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:53 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grabber Blue5.0 View Post
Sounds like it went into limp mode.
Yeah I'm pretty sure it did. But the funny thing was as soon as I pulled in a side street and turned around the light went out and it went right back to normal operation. Seems kind of crazy to me.
jlesp2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 09:50 PM   #12
Registered User
Newbie
 
the END's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Houma
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 2
I know we aren't quite the same but my '10 GT did this. Only difference was it didn't recover. Just lost a ton of power. It was a sensor. Can't recall which one as it happened at 500 miles or so. Really early. Throttle body I want to say.

---------- Post added at 08:50 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:46 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by the END View Post
I know we aren't quite the same but my '10 GT did this. Only difference was it didn't recover. Just lost a ton of power. It was a sensor. Can't recall which one as it happened at 500 miles or so. Really early. Throttle body I want to say.
I should clarify as that isn't a common term. Throttle position sensor. But like I said it was really long ago. And different engines.
the END is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 10:01 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Canada
Posts: 2,974
You don't lose any codes if you turn the car off. They have to be selectively deleted by Ford IDS or any other tuner or diagnostic black box.

An interesting insight: If you have tech pack, you can check your own codes without anything. Just press 3 and 6 simultaneously on the radio and you can enter bezel diagnostics, which will allow you to view DTCs and clear them.
__________________
2014 Premium GT, SGM, Brembo, Auto, Tech, Comfort, etc. GT500s, Steeda UCA, VMP auto N/A tune. 100 shot nitrous on BBR tune. Best e/t 11.42 at 120.64

2012 Premium GT, Candy Red, Brembo package, 3.73, MT82, Comfort, Tech, et al. Procal tune, Roush UCA, UMI poly LCA, GT500s, Steeda red bracket, Hoosier 28x10x16 bias drags. Best e/t 11.91 at 115.23 RIP
5LHO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 10:48 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
LovinmyGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florence
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 207
Thanks bleep2013 hopefully yours gets sorted too good luck
LovinmyGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 10:56 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
LovinmyGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florence
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5LHO View Post
You don't lose any codes if you turn the car off. They have to be selectively deleted by Ford IDS or any other tuner or diagnostic black box.

An interesting insight: If you have tech pack, you can check your own codes without anything. Just press 3 and 6 simultaneously on the radio and you can enter bezel diagnostics, which will allow you to view DTCs and clear them.
I'm gonna try this soon as I get off work lol thanks
LovinmyGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 05:28 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Charlotte
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by the END View Post
I know we aren't quite the same but my '10 GT did this. Only difference was it didn't recover. Just lost a ton of power. It was a sensor. Can't recall which one as it happened at 500 miles or so. Really early. Throttle body I want to say.

---------- Post added at 08:50 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:46 PM ----------



I should clarify as that isn't a common term. Throttle position sensor. But like I said it was really long ago. And different engines.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LovinmyGT View Post
Thanks bleep2013 hopefully yours gets sorted too good luck
UPDATE: Took it to the dealer today. They couldn't read any codes (apparently none registered). Said it could have been a misfire and if it was it has to happen several times in a row on the same cylinder before it will register a code. Said it also could have been the K & N air filter. Apparently it can cause a slight oil mist to hit the Mass Air sensor and cause a check engine light and put the car in limp mode. I'm a little skeptical of this scenario but I suppose it is possible. The service adviser was really cool so I don't think he was trying to jerk me around or anything. I'll just keep an eye on it and see what happens.

---------- Post added at 06:28 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:27 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5LHO View Post
You don't lose any codes if you turn the car off. They have to be selectively deleted by Ford IDS or any other tuner or diagnostic black box.

An interesting insight: If you have tech pack, you can check your own codes without anything. Just press 3 and 6 simultaneously on the radio and you can enter bezel diagnostics, which will allow you to view DTCs and clear them.
Thanks for the tip! I'm going to try this out tonight and next time I will know.
jlesp2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 09:51 PM   #17
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 16
You should have your dealer performance this TSB, on an other forum many user have resolve this issue with this TSB.

http://www.fordservicecontent.com/pu...sb13-06-15.pdf
Dineau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 10:03 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Charlotte
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dineau View Post
You should have your dealer performance this TSB, on an other forum many user have resolve this issue with this TSB.

http://www.fordservicecontent.com/pu...sb13-06-15.pdf
Thanks! If I have this issue again I will be sure to bring this up.
jlesp2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 09:01 AM   #19
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 16
normally you can replicate the issue easily...

With cold engine, drive wile mainting RPM around 4k RPM or accelerate hard while the engine is cold and the CEL should flash.
Dineau is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Tags
check engine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



10:34 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.