Airbag resistor kit! - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Join Mustang Evolution Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-25-2013, 07:08 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
McQueen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,608
Airbag resistor kit!

So with the new racing seats my airbag light will come on and the only kit that I can find to delete the light is the recaro kit and it is 75$.
Is there a cheaper kit or can I make one myself? I have seen some people make their own online but don't know which would actually work and work best. HELP!!!!
McQueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-26-2013, 05:07 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Moore
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 44
yup,

bought the 05-10 simulators from ford (for those cars that didn't have that option, and soldered in resistors from radio shack

here, read post 54, I gave devildog the instructions on how to do it, dno't forget you need to swap the passenger side bladder out: he just did a small how to:

http://www.s197forum.com/forum/showt...air+bag&page=3
Mr. Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-27-2013, 11:56 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
McQueen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,608
Thanks, I can't see the website for some reason. How many ohms is the resistor needed ??
McQueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 07:43 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Moore
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 44
2 ohms, I just bought a 5 pack of 10 ohm resistors at radio shack and put them in parallel and soldered them in.
Mr. Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 09:38 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
McQueen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,608
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Anderson View Post
2 ohms, I just bought a 5 pack of 10 ohm resistors at radio shack and put them in parallel and soldered them in.
You soldered all 5?
McQueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 08:03 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Moore
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 44
Yes, five 10 ohm resistors in a parallel circuit equal 2 ohms. I did this because the 1/4 watt resistors pack was like 2 dollars at radio shack. I'm sure you can find a 2 ohm resistor online but after shipping and waiting for it it'll be more than 2 dollars.
Mr. Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 11:33 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
McQueen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,608
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Anderson View Post
Yes, five 10 ohm resistors in a parallel circuit equal 2 ohms. I did this because the 1/4 watt resistors pack was like 2 dollars at radio shack. I'm sure you can find a 2 ohm resistor online but after shipping and waiting for it it'll be more than 2 dollars.
I got these, are they right???
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3371476235.jpg
Views:	646
Size:	366.5 KB
ID:	126266  
McQueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 11:44 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
McQueen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,608
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Anderson View Post
Yes, five 10 ohm resistors in a parallel circuit equal 2 ohms. I did this because the 1/4 watt resistors pack was like 2 dollars at radio shack. I'm sure you can find a 2 ohm resistor online but after shipping and waiting for it it'll be more than 2 dollars.
I got these, are they right???
McQueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 11:54 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
McQueen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,608
Can I attach them to them self or do I need a wire to connect each.
Sorry for my ignorance on the subject, lol
Thanks for the help!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-297360960.jpg
Views:	400
Size:	372.5 KB
ID:	126269   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2096630918.jpg
Views:	451
Size:	394.9 KB
ID:	126270  

McQueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 01:01 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Moore
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 44
yes those resistors are the correct ones

love the artwork! yes, your picture is what they should look like. I just twisted/spiraled all the leads on mine and then soldered them together. I am assuming you did not get the 05-10 dummy load ford sells? if so not a big deal you should be able to just connect the leads to the airbag plug. I forget if that connector has male or female leads. whichever it is you could just get the opposite leads and crimp or solder the two ends to them and then attach them to the connector.

I would also recommend getting a large diameter piece of heat shrink to cover connector. not a high voltage circuit, but you don't want that grounding out on anything!

*edit- almost forgot, if your gonna go that route make sure you put some heat shrink over each side of the leads, so they don't touch each other, that will also short out the circuit.
Mr. Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 08:52 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
McQueen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,608
So I got all five in parallel and did a test run by just attaching the wires to the plug and it didn't work, the air bag light was still on. Should I use a bigger resistor or what could I have done wrong? Help!
McQueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 10:36 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
tc x 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 3,783
Five 10 ohm resistors in parallel, is still 10 ohms.
tc x 4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 11:25 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Moore
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 44
did you put both the drivers and passengers rail sensors back in also?

did you do a resistor pack for the passengers side?

tc x 4, you're incorrect. it's 2 ohms.

lemme break it down for ya, here is one of the ways to solve for Rt ( total resistance) in a parallel circuit:



the equation for resistance in a parallel circuit:
(R= resistance)
Rtotal = 1 / 1/R1 + 1/R2 + 1/ R3 + 1/R4 + 1/R5

substitute:
Rt = 1 / 1/10ohms + 1/10ohms + 1/10 ohms + 1/10ohms + 1/10ohms

do the math:
Rt = 1 / .1 + .1 + .1 + .1 + .1

continue work:
Rt = 1 / .5

vee-oh-lah!
Rt = 2 ohms
Mr. Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 11:43 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Deerslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Austin
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,017
Quote:
Five 10 ohm resistors in parallel, is still 10 ohms.
no, it would be 2 ohms. A fifth of the current (five resistors) will experience 10 ohms of resistance so the equivalent resistance would be 2 ohms.
__________________
2013 GT : 6sp MT, Track Pkg, 3.73 Rear End, Brembo Brakes, Vortech V3 SC, Boss IM, BBK 90mm TB, JLT CAI, ID1000 injectors, BAP, Brisk Plugs, Tial BOV, Lethal OR X Pipe, 3" over axle to GT500 Quad Exhaust, Dynotech Alum DS, MGW Shifter, Eibach R2 Coil Overs, Bob's Billet LCA's, UPR adj. UCA, Eibach Adj PH Bar, TruCarbon Carbon Fiber inside/out. Tuned by Jon Lund II Three salvaged Bosses worth of Parts live on in this car. 636.49rwhp before Torque Booster added
Deerslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 12:00 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
tc x 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 3,783
You guys are correct, I'd just woke up. Parallel is 2ohms, series is 50.
tc x 4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 04:33 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
McQueen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,608
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Anderson View Post
did you put both the drivers and passengers rail sensors back in also?

did you do a resistor pack for the passengers side?

tc x 4, you're incorrect. it's 2 ohms.

lemme break it down for ya, here is one of the ways to solve for Rt ( total resistance) in a parallel circuit:

the equation for resistance in a parallel circuit:
(R= resistance)
Rtotal = 1 / 1/R1 + 1/R2 + 1/ R3 + 1/R4 + 1/R5

substitute:
Rt = 1 / 1/10ohms + 1/10ohms + 1/10 ohms + 1/10ohms + 1/10ohms

do the math:
Rt = 1 / .1 + .1 + .1 + .1 + .1

continue work:
Rt = 1 / .5

vee-oh-lah!
Rt = 2 ohms
All I did was put the 5 resonators in the passenger side with the stock seat in the driver side.
Do I need to pass something from the older seats? Is there a way to not need anything from the other seats and make the airbag work all the time without the weight sensor?
McQueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 05:21 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Moore
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 44
okay, there are three things on the passenger side that need to hooked up. 1. the air bladder, care must be taken when removing it from the stock seat, it's in the lower section and it senses the weight of the passenger in the seat. and it needs to reinstalled in the new seat. 2. the seat track sensor, this is in the stock seat track and is a magnetic type sensor, look at the stock seat and find the sensor. remove it and install it on the aftermarket seat rail.( I had to rig mine up to work with the corbeaus. 3. and the resistor pack that you added. all these need to be in working order or you'll get a error.
Mr. Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 05:32 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
McQueen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,608
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Anderson View Post
okay, there are three things on the passenger side that need to hooked up. 1. the air bladder, care must be taken when removing it from the stock seat, it's in the lower section and it senses the weight of the passenger in the seat. and it needs to reinstalled in the new seat. 2. the seat track sensor, this is in the stock seat track and is a magnetic type sensor, look at the stock seat and find the sensor. remove it and install it on the aftermarket seat rail.( I had to rig mine up to work with the corbeaus. 3. and the resistor pack that you added. all these need to be in working order or you'll get a error.
Ok perfect the only thing is that I don't have a rail since mine are fix seats.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1411086823.jpg
Views:	281
Size:	413.6 KB
ID:	127114  
McQueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 05:32 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
McQueen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,608
And for the driver what do I need?
McQueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 06:05 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Black on Boss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Perry, GA
Region: Georgia
Posts: 7,204
This looks like it's getting way to complicated for me lol
Black on Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 06:28 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Moore
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 44
just the resistor pack and the seat position sensor for the drivers side. no need for an seat weight sensor as if your driving then it's a given there is someone in the seat, and it's not a infant or child.
Mr. Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 06:33 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
McQueen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,608
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Anderson View Post
just the resistor pack and the seat position sensor for the drivers side. no need for an seat weight sensor as if your driving then it's a given there is someone in the seat, and it's not a infant or child.
Man thank you a million, I couldn't have done this without you. I have everything 100% clear now, I thing lol
McQueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 06:41 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Moore
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 44
no problem, lemme know if ya got any other questions.
Mr. Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 09:43 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
McQueen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,608
One last question!

I don't have sliders BC my seats are fix, what do I do with the slider sensor them?
McQueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 11:04 AM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Moore
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 44
hmmm. that one may provide interesting. the sensor seems to be of a magnetic type. might be able to get the actual sensor within close proximity of base of a ferrite material (1/8"- 1/4") somewhere, heck anywhere since the seats are stationary.
Mr. Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 07:38 PM   #26
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Waxahachie
Region: Texas
Posts: 1
Mr. Anderson,
Thank you for the answers to the airbag question.


My challenge goes a bit deeper. I am using the complete harness and computer from a wrecked 2014 Mustang GT in a 1967 TVR. In essence, complete shift to a vehicle that has no safety standards, nor requirements. I have no airbags, nor sensors for accidents, and only wish to use the engine management, transmission management (6-sp. automatic), drive by wire, as well as all driveline and braking (ABS and Hub Sensors) electronics, none of the seat nor airbag systems as there is nothing there. Any way to just eliminate these systems, or will I need resistors at each one of the connections?
TVRV8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2016, 12:34 PM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Rockville
Region: Maryland
Posts: 202
I first tried the airbag delete plug from Ford, it did not work, so I have my airbag light on now.

I replaced the original resistor (~7 ohms) and with a 2 ohms one. Unfortunately, the airbag is still on now. How do I turn off the airbag light? Should I depower and repower the airbag system?

Thanks.
__________________
2014 Mustang 3.7L cyclone engine with 6 spd transmission. Mods: 93 MPT Race Tune, 3.31 Gears, Airaid CAI, BBK Shorty Ceramic Headers, Corsa Sport axle backs, Strut Tower Brace, Steeda rear seat X-brace, BMR Rear LCAs, GT wheels, MGW race spec shifter, Passenger seat delete, spare tire delete, Moroso battery relocation to the trunk.
liv4spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



06:44 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.