Shorty Headers, H-Pipe and more - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-31-2013, 03:02 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Oregon
Shorty Headers, H-Pipe and more

I am making some modifications to let more air into the engine, so I am looking to upgrade my exhaust. I current have Borla S-Type axlebacks, which I really like, because there is pretty much no drone when taking it easy. I’d like to increase the volume at woot and achieve a old-school muscle car sound (lower note).

Please do not tell me to get long headers - I have to go with shorty headers, because I need to keep her street legal. I am also a daily driver, so I need to be able to pass DEQ.

What is suggested? Going with 2.75” tubes or getting 3” all the way back?

I am thinking of purchasing the follow from American Muscle:

* JBA Ceramic Cat4ward Shorty Headers
* JBA After-Cat H-Pipe - 3in to 2.75in

What am I missing? Should I reuse the stock cats or go with high-flow cats? Do I need a new cat-back, or can I use the stock pipes with my Borla axlebacks?

I am far from a mechanic and an exhaust guy, and would really like to make the right choice at first go. Please go easy on me and any advice and suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
Advertisement

Old 08-31-2013, 03:18 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: New Jersey
I also have Borla S Types, I did a resonator delete... Got 3' stainless steel pipes in place of them, very cheap alternative and makes it substantially louder WOT

http://youtu.be/aTrTAOmLVvY
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1107982739.jpg
Views:	239
Size:	139.3 KB
ID:	126838  
gtstyles2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 07:10 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Region: California