tuning issues - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-10-2013, 02:26 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
achiles85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 20
tuning issues

Has anyone with an aftermarket radio had problems tuning their vehicle?
achiles85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-10-2013, 02:49 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Martinsville
Region: Virginia
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by achiles85 View Post
Has anyone with an aftermarket radio had problems tuning their vehicle?
I'm confused on why an aftermarket radio would cause any trouble tuning the vehicle... Why do you ask?
cstone94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 03:42 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
1lowGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Missouri
Posts: 3,903
Tuning isn't your problem.
__________________
2003 GT - full bolts ons, suspension, and drag radials
1998 cummins - 150hp injectors | FASS fuel kit | 4" straight pipe | 5" lift | BHAF | 20" wheels | edge juice w/ attitude | built auto trans with stall | closing in on 900tq | bigger turbo soon..

Follow me on instagram @nicknold for car and truck pictures
1lowGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-10-2013, 03:54 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
achiles85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 20
I recently tried updating my tune for some reason when I went back to stock the file didn't load and I ended up a blank ecm it was horrible...I want to put my updated tune on just nervous same problem will happen again

---------- Post added at 03:54 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:51 PM ----------

Pcm
achiles85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 05:58 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Martinsville
Region: Virginia
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by achiles85 View Post
I recently tried updating my tune for some reason when I went back to stock the file didn't load and I ended up a blank ecm it was horrible...I want to put my updated tune on just nervous same problem will happen again

---------- Post added at 03:54 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:51 PM ----------

Pcm
You aftermarket radio has nothing to do with this.

Which tuning device are you using?
cstone94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 06:35 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
achiles85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 20
Intune

---------- Post added at 06:35 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:33 PM ----------

I've used it before and had no problems and they worked really well with me when I called. I was just as to what couldve caused that to happen
achiles85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 07:13 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Martinsville
Region: Virginia
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by achiles85 View Post
Intune

---------- Post added at 06:35 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:33 PM ----------

I've used it before and had no problems and they worked really well with me when I called. I was just as to what couldve caused that to happen
I would just give it another shot. Do what the tuner tells you to do; as far as turning the key to on and off. Post back if you have any troubles.
cstone94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 11:37 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Maverick2004054's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cooper City
Region: Florida
Posts: 130
When you tune the coyote with a diabloSport tuner make sure you connect your car to a charger first! Many of the intune issues have come from low voltage during tuning! When my car was the test vehicle I lost access to my radio as well, after a few minutes on the charger and another go around everything was fine! Good luck and let us know what happens
Maverick2004054 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 04:27 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
achiles85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 20
So I was able to put the tune on today not really sure what caused the issue the first time...thanks for the input guys
achiles85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 01:33 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
DallasStang77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Dallas
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,842
There's some weird issues with tuners on my 13 Stang too.

9 out of 10 times my SCT tuner would fail when I return to stock. Well actually 6 of 7 cause I've retuned it that many times only.

Each time I would finally get it to work after letting it sit for an hour or two and let it reset. If I don't and try it after like 5-10 minutes it fails for sure.

So... I don't know why it fails but let it sit for a while and it should work. Stoopid SCT
DallasStang77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 01:57 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Maverick2004054's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cooper City
Region: Florida
Posts: 130
For some reason, unknown to me, there is a massive voltage drop on these cars when tuning, I played with mine yesterday and put a multimeter on it to watch after I fully charged the battery over night, initial voltage was 13.2 V removed the charger, during tuning voltage dropped to 11.6 V and after it was at 11.3 V. So the car has to be using a lot of power when wiping the tune and writing the new one onto the PCM...... I've never seen a drop like that before, my truck only drops 1.2 volts after a full charge then a tune.... So assuming people don't keep their cars on chargers the voltage drop is probably killing the tuning ability.... At least from what I have seen
Maverick2004054 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 05:29 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
achiles85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 20
Honestly I think it was from not allowing the car to cool down enough. I read about other people having the same issue and the car thinks the heat is a problem during the tuning. Lesson learned lol
achiles85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



04:49 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.