bog at WOT - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-18-2013, 12:02 PM   #1
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: missoula
Region: Montana
Posts: 9
bog at WOT

Hi guys, has anyone had a problem with a bog at WOT after making a shift? I have a 2014 GT with 6sp and 3.73s. When I shift from 3rd to 4th at WOT it falls on its face for at least a sec and up to 3sec. I talked with the service manager at the dealership and he said its supposed to do that???? He said its programmed into the ecm. Something to do with the cats being dirty....didn't make sense to me. He sold me some fuel additive that's supposed to clean out the cats and he said the delay will be shorter. I've search the net with no success so if anyone has a clue what's going on here, that would be awesome.
daboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-18-2013, 12:07 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Martinsville
Region: Virginia
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by daboom View Post
Hi guys, has anyone had a problem with a bog at WOT after making a shift? I have a 2014 GT with 6sp and 3.73s. When I shift from 3rd to 4th at WOT it falls on its face for at least a sec and up to 3sec. I talked with the service manager at the dealership and he said its supposed to do that???? He said its programmed into the ecm. Something to do with the cats being dirty....didn't make sense to me. He sold me some fuel additive that's supposed to clean out the cats and he said the delay will be shorter. I've search the net with no success so if anyone has a clue what's going on here, that would be awesome.
Try it with traction control off. I know in my 14' with 3.31's when I do a hard 1st to 2nd it bogs and the traction light goes crazy.
cstone94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 12:16 PM   #3
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: missoula
Region: Montana
Posts: 9
It does it with trac control off or on. I'm shifting at 6500 so I know I'm not hitting the rev limiter...very frustrating.
daboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-18-2013, 12:22 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Martinsville
Region: Virginia
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by daboom View Post
It does it with trac control off or on. I'm shifting at 6500 so I know I'm not hitting the rev limiter...very frustrating.
Have you turned TC all the way off? These cars have 3 TC settings. If you tap the button once, it displays "Traction Control Off". Yet, it is still limited a little. If you turn it back on, then tap it TWICE, it says "Sport Mode" or something like that. Sport mode is still limited and good for launching in my opinion. Now, for the last one, if you are stopped, foot on the brake, and HOLD the TC button for 5 or 8 seconds, it says "Advance Trac Off" this setting turns it completely off. Maybe try the 3rd setting and see if it goes away.
cstone94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 12:33 PM   #5
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: missoula
Region: Montana
Posts: 9
Ok, thanks. Ill try it today.
daboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 02:08 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Missouri Hoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Lebanon
Region: Missouri
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by daboom View Post
Ok, thanks. Ill try it today.
"Advacetrac Off" is awesome and turns her completely loose. Just be careful not to let her start turning sideways on ya. If so, she'll get away from you very quickly. Almost lost mine, rapped out in 3rd. But damn it was fun.
Missouri Hoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 02:13 PM   #7
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: missoula
Region: Montana
Posts: 9
Hmmm...I tried it and all it will do is turn on or off. Maybe that's track pack only?
daboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 02:22 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Missouri Hoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Lebanon
Region: Missouri
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by daboom View Post
Hmmm...I tried it and all it will do is turn on or off. Maybe that's track pack only?
No, it's not Track Pack specific. Start her up, put on the brakes, depress and hold the Traction Control button down until the r/h instrument bezel information says, "Advancetrac Off", then release the button and give her a go.
Missouri Hoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 03:31 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Martinsville
Region: Virginia
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by daboom View Post
Hmmm...I tried it and all it will do is turn on or off. Maybe that's track pack only?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Hoss View Post
No, it's not Track Pack specific. Start her up, put on the brakes, depress and hold the Traction Control button down until the r/h instrument bezel information says, "Advancetrac Off", then release the button and give her a go.
Also note that you cannot be moving whatsoever.
cstone94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 05:14 PM   #10
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: missoula
Region: Montana
Posts: 9
I got it to work The bog is still there....its getting worse.
daboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 09:08 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Martinsville
Region: Virginia
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by daboom View Post
I got it to work The bog is still there....its getting worse.
Hmm, thats really weird. Maybe it is in the factory tune. Are you thinking of getting a tuner for your car?
cstone94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 09:25 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mr. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Moore
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 44
take your car to a different dealer if you can.

selling you fuel cleaner to clean your cats is equal to selling you windshield washer fluid when your car needs to be washed.

IF the cats were restricted which I highly doubt is your problem, fuel cleaner will not fix them.

by the way, the only proper way to correct for clogged cats is to remove and replace them. and since your car is brand new. it's a warranty item. so tell em to give you a credit for the crap they sold you and if they really believe the cats are still clogged have them replace them under warranty.
Mr. Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 09:29 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Martinsville
Region: Virginia
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Anderson View Post
take your car to a different dealer if you can.

selling you fuel cleaner to clean your cats is equal to selling you windshield washer fluid when your car needs to be washed.

IF the cats were restricted which I highly doubt is your problem, fuel cleaner will not fix them.
I doubt a 2014 has "dirty cats" haha. I agree with Mr. Anderson; take the car to a different dealership where they actually care to help you.
cstone94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 09:32 PM   #14
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: missoula
Region: Montana
Posts: 9
I agree. I think there's something wrong with the ecm. I can't believe they would program a bog....and no one else seems to know anything about it.

---------- Post added at 08:32 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:29 PM ----------

And I don't think I should have to buy a programmer to get rid of something that shouldn't be there in the first place.
daboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 09:32 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Martinsville
Region: Virginia
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by daboom View Post
I agree. I think there's something wrong with the ecm. I can't believe they would program a bog....and no one else seems to know anything about it.

---------- Post added at 08:32 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:29 PM ----------

And I don't think I should have to buy a programmer to get rid of something that shouldn't be there in the first place.
Probably so there's less stress on the transmission between hard shifts.
cstone94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 09:40 PM   #16
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: missoula
Region: Montana
Posts: 9
1st to 2nd has no problems, its done it once to me going from 2nd to 3rd, but almost everytime going from 3rd to 4th. Acts like its out of fuel or something. Really weird.
daboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 10:26 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Martinsville
Region: Virginia
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by daboom View Post
1st to 2nd has no problems, its done it once to me going from 2nd to 3rd, but almost everytime going from 3rd to 4th. Acts like its out of fuel or something. Really weird.
Maybe take someone from the dealership for a ride and see if they say anything about it and what it could be.
cstone94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 11:04 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Winter Haven
Region: Florida
Posts: 407
I would go back to the dealer or find a better one,could be torque management,the ecm shuts the power down some so when you shift it puts less strain on the driveline,a good tuner could turn that off if all else fails.
chefron50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 12:24 AM   #19
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: missoula
Region: Montana
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by chefron50 View Post
I would go back to the dealer or find a better one,could be torque management,the ecm shuts the power down some so when you shift it puts less strain on the driveline,a good tuner could turn that off if all else fails.
That sounds like something that makes sense. Ill look into it, thanks
daboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 09:02 AM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Coyote Fever5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Coachella
Region: California
Posts: 89
Mine just started doing the same thing at the track yesterday. Also a 2014. Did the dealer give you any real answers? Is it fixed?
Coyote Fever5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 12:38 AM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Winter Haven
Region: Florida
Posts: 407
It could also be torque management in the PCM. The PCM cut the power between shifts so you have less stress on the drivetrain . With a good tune you can get rid of all the torque management

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
chefron50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 11:09 AM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Coyote Fever5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Coachella
Region: California
Posts: 89
But is it odd for it to start doing it out of nowhere? I feel like I broke something since it wasn't there at first lol
Coyote Fever5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 03:59 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
Grabber Blue5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East Haven
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 3,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coyote Fever5.0 View Post
But is it odd for it to start doing it out of nowhere? I feel like I broke something since it wasn't there at first lol
Bone stock or are you tuned? Not enough info given.
__________________
2017 Dodge Challenger T/A Redline Tri-Coat
2015 Dodge Challenger Scat Pack Jazz Blue Pearl Sold
2015 GT Premium 401A Ingot Silver Sold
2011 GT Premium 401A Grabber Blue Sold
Grabber Blue5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 04:03 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
Coyote Fever5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Coachella
Region: California
Posts: 89
Bone stock. Just exhaust.
Coyote Fever5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 05:52 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
Grabber Blue5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East Haven
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 3,510
If stock why not take it in under warranty?
__________________
2017 Dodge Challenger T/A Redline Tri-Coat
2015 Dodge Challenger Scat Pack Jazz Blue Pearl Sold
2015 GT Premium 401A Ingot Silver Sold
2011 GT Premium 401A Grabber Blue Sold
Grabber Blue5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 07:57 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
Coyote Fever5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Coachella
Region: California
Posts: 89
I just got back. According to them everything is fine.
Coyote Fever5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 08:07 PM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
Coyote Fever5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Coachella
Region: California
Posts: 89
I just got back. According to them everything is fine.
Coyote Fever5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 10:44 PM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Winter Haven
Region: Florida
Posts: 407
It could also be the much cooler weather less traction with the tires so torque management kicks in

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
chefron50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 10:03 PM   #29
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: missoula
Region: Montana
Posts: 9
my car is tucked away for winter. i cant deal with this until spring
daboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 10:35 PM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
Red5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Clewiston
Region: Florida
Posts: 124
I experience the same exact thing today. I was on the way to school and I opened it up and when I went to shift into second the car just fell on its face for like a second then it came back up but I didn't think to much of it. Later on during the day the car would sometimes feel like it wanted to turn off when taking off from a dead stop but I could not get it to do it every time so I started to think it was all in my head. When going home I got on the highway in third but I decided to step on it again and while shifting into forth it felt like it wanted to bog once again.

It was cooler today here in FL so it makes sense that it could be TC but this has never ever ever happened before so idk. I did take the car in this monday to the dealer for a lower control arm issue and some door rattle, I was thinking that Its probably possible that they could have left something unplugged.
Red5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 10:14 PM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
ksnapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Oregon
Region: Oregon
Posts: 72
OP,

I think mine did this once before. But I believe it was in how I was shifting.

Question are you trying to slam it into gear?

Cause ever since then, I started to shift fast, not slamming and have never had that issue again.

Kyle
ksnapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 10:26 PM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
xhgwx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,215
If the dealer said it was fine I'd assume its TC kicking in. Or the TQ management system.
I know when I WOT my cobra the TC will kick in if the tires start to spin and bog the car so it doesn't get fishy.
xhgwx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 05:38 AM   #33
Registered Member
Regular
 
Coyote Fever5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Coachella
Region: California
Posts: 89
bog at WOT

I always leave tc off so it might be TQ management.
Coyote Fever5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 05:39 AM   #34
Registered Member
Regular
 
Coyote Fever5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Coachella
Region: California
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksnapp View Post
OP,

I think mine did this once before. But I believe it was in how I was shifting.

Question are you trying to slam it into gear?

Cause ever since then, I started to shift fast, not slamming and have never had that issue again.

Kyle

I wanna say I'm slamming it lol. I'll pay close attention next time or have someone in the car.
Coyote Fever5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 10:16 AM   #35
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 34
I believe its something in the stock tune. "Clutch Protect" or something like that. It can be tuned out. There are a few threads about it over at svtperformance.
Budwise is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



03:34 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.