MT82 decided to Break Bad - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-28-2013, 03:48 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Illinois
MT82 decided to Break Bad

Quick Rundown:
3rd gear almost impossible to get into.

Before anyone asks:
Been driving manual my whole life. Have been working on cars since I was a little guy. ASE certified trans tech (even though I'm not a mechanic, i still keep up to date). Have built and owned several Mustangs. Have built trans both manual and automatic for 9 second whips. My home garage has everything but a lift (I even have a hydraulic press for splines, bearings, gears, suspension, etc). I'm not mr. know-it-all but I know a thing or two about cars, bikes, semis, etc.

Let's get on with it:
2014 GT Premium with Track Pack. My first OHC vehicle I plan on getting to the 9's. I've had several Mustangs in the past I've built, rebuilt, restored, etc - have never had an issue with auto or manual transmissions on a stock vehicle or after I beefed them up to withstand torque.

This morning 3rd gear decides to quit on me - synchros. I let the wife drive the car when she feels like it since she knows how to drive stick with the best of 'em. Taught her on my previous street Notchback and she even made a pass of 11.86 to my best 11.79! So she is well aware of how to handle a car with a little bit of power.

Shifting from 2-3 above 2200 RPM will yield a grind. A pause before you enter 3rd at the same RPM will fall in - but you can feel the hesitation as it doesn't want to go in just yet. Downshifting even at 1300 RPM from 4-3 also causes a grind. When the car is in gear it's all good.

I've never power shifted the MT82 since after reading so many issues and feeling a slight crunch from 1-2 and 2-3 - I wanted to get some miles on the trans ahead of time.