Cylinder 3 misfire - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-14-2013, 06:40 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
ItzSLash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Mount Pocono
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 25
Cylinder 3 misfire

Just got a P0303 code. The engine has been stumbling and finally it coughed up a code. I'm thinking coil, I heard I can switch the wires from one cylinder to another just to check if it's that coil. The wires don't seem long enough but I'm gonna try it. Just wanted to make sure it won't cause problems.? Also I'm thinking it was bad gas that effected an injector. Any thoughts?
ItzSLash is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-15-2013, 04:44 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Darkside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Long Island
Region: New York
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzSLash View Post
Just got a P0303 code. The engine has been stumbling and finally it coughed up a code. I'm thinking coil, I heard I can switch the wires from one cylinder to another just to check if it's that coil. The wires don't seem long enough but I'm gonna try it. Just wanted to make sure it won't cause problems.? Also I'm thinking it was bad gas that effected an injector. Any thoughts?
Have you gotten gas from somewhere you think is shady?
Darkside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 05:12 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
ItzSLash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Mount Pocono
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 25
No. But I put in 87 a few times by accident but that was a while ago. Since then I have made sure I only get 91. And since the problem started I put octane boost to help burn up all the crap. I've also reset the idle.
ItzSLash is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-15-2013, 05:30 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Grabber Blue5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East Haven
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 3,510
Are you tuned? Stock?
__________________
2017 Dodge Challenger T/A Redline Tri-Coat
2015 Dodge Challenger Scat Pack Jazz Blue Pearl Sold
2015 GT Premium 401A Ingot Silver Sold
2011 GT Premium 401A Grabber Blue Sold
Grabber Blue5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 05:43 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
ItzSLash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Mount Pocono
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 25
Stock
ItzSLash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 01:02 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Charlie_santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzSLash View Post
No. But I put in 87 a few times by accident but that was a while ago. Since then I have made sure I only get 91. And since the problem started I put octane boost to help burn up all the crap. I've also reset the idle.
Never use a octane booster those things are terrible for your motor. Try a different gas a good one. I personally only use Shell V-Power or Cheveron with Tectron stuff.
Charlie_santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 01:23 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rapinator126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 9,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie_santos View Post

Never use a octane booster those things are terrible for your motor. Try a different gas a good one. I personally only use Shell V-Power or Cheveron with Tectron stuff.
Torco is a good octane booster. But you have to be tuned for it
Rapinator126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 07:48 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Darkside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Long Island
Region: New York
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapinator126 View Post

Torco is a good octane booster. But you have to be tuned for it
What happens if u put torco in a stock car
Darkside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 09:38 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Charlie_santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapinator126 View Post

Torco is a good octane booster. But you have to be tuned for it
The motor can adjust uts timing for higher octane if you measure exactly enough torco needed for say maybe 95 octane thats really all the timing it can be adjusted if you just poured a ****tload in ur tank u better f*cken drain ur tank. That torco is good but can turn gas into 115 octane race fuel which a stock car cant handle at all!
Charlie_santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 09:41 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Darkside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Long Island
Region: New York
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie_santos View Post

The motor can adjust uts timing for higher octane if you measure exactly enough torco needed for say maybe 95 octane thats really all the timing it can be adjusted if you just poured a ****tload in ur tank u better f*cken drain ur tank. That torco is good but can turn gas into 115 octane race fuel which a stock car cant handle at all!
Understood, thanks. No I have it and haven't put it in yet. I'll prob put 1/8th the bottle. I was really only doing it for a cleaner burn for the engine.
Darkside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 10:02 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Charlie_santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkside View Post

Understood, thanks. No I have it and haven't put it in yet. I'll prob put 1/8th the bottle. I was really only doing it for a cleaner burn for the engine.
I ONLY use it at the track and make my gas 95 octane for my 93 octane tune. I also asked my tuner to see if the tune even if tuned for 93 if 95 would be okay he said its the max I coukd go without requiring a new custom tune for more. Just be careful with torco bro. Ive read forums where the person messed stuff up by unknowingly pouring it in and yea u know where im getting at.
Charlie_santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 10:08 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Darkside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Long Island
Region: New York
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie_santos View Post

I ONLY use it at the track and make my gas 95 octane for my 93 octane tune. I also asked my tuner to see if the tune even if tuned for 93 if 95 would be okay he said its the max I coukd go without requiring a new custom tune for more. Just be careful with torco bro. Ive read forums where the person messed stuff up by unknowingly pouring it in and yea u know where im getting at.
Thank you bro. Maybe I'll just hold off.
Not worth it
Darkside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 10:37 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Charlie_santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkside View Post

Thank you bro. Maybe I'll just hold off.
Not worth it
Yea bro just play it smart. Id start by running through ur tank and try filling up with 91 from shell or chevron bro and burning that tank and redoing it again. That will rule out the gas issue.
Charlie_santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 10:44 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Darkside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Long Island
Region: New York
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie_santos View Post

Yea bro just play it smart. Id start by running through ur tank and try filling up with 91 from shell or chevron bro and burning that tank and redoing it again. That will rule out the gas issue.
Yeah I don't want to take chances. I've already made a leap to change oil from 5w50 mc to 10w40 RP hps. Still shaky about it
Darkside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 12:53 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Charlie_santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkside View Post

Yeah I don't want to take chances. I've already made a leap to change oil from 5w50 mc to 10w40 RP hps. Still shaky about it
I stick with whats on my oil cap...but idk your weather etc so u may need that thick weight who knows
Charlie_santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 09:16 AM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
ItzSLash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Mount Pocono
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 25
Found the problem. The coil boot is split and it's arcing to the block.
ItzSLash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 01:46 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Darkside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Long Island
Region: New York
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie_santos View Post

I stick with whats on my oil cap...but idk your weather etc so u may need that thick weight who knows
What's on the cap varies so much. Most cars they say out 5w20 but actually 5w30 is better for the car. I have the exact same engine and I put 5w50? Because the expect me to track it. Which I won't do. I have to use my judgment to safe guard my engine.
Darkside is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



10:09 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.