Raxiom Smoked Headlights problem - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 11-20-2013, 06:51 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
JonathanMustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Reyes
Region: Texas
Posts: 68
Raxiom Smoked Headlights problem

Hello all,

I had to turn on my bright lights because the halos aren't that bright.

The problem is that only the right light on my passenger side is working. Can it be an issue with the wiring on the driver side?
JonathanMustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-20-2013, 06:55 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Elmendorf
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonathanMustang View Post
Hello all,

I had to turn on my bright lights because the halos aren't that bright.

The problem is that only the right light on my passenger side is working. Can it be an issue with the wiring on the driver side?
What?

I have the same headlights. Two questions

1. Are you talking about the headlight itself or the halo?
2. Factory HIDs, no HIDs or aftermarket?
ZLwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 07:04 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
JonathanMustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Reyes
Region: Texas
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZLwhat View Post
What? I have the same headlights. Two questions 1. Are you talking about the headlight itself or the halo? 2. Factory HIDs, no HIDs or aftermarket?
Sorry. I'm talking about the headlight itself. Only the turn signal light works.
JonathanMustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-20-2013, 09:16 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
JonathanMustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Reyes
Region: Texas
Posts: 68
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2358785354.jpg
Views:	294
Size:	225.0 KB
ID:	137475



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1458234619.jpg
Views:	309
Size:	225.8 KB
ID:	137476
JonathanMustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 10:49 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Elmendorf
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonathanMustang View Post
Well if you have aftermarket HIDs I would suggest checking the ballast on that side. If your headlights are the normal halogens, I would suggest that you make sure it's actually plugged in in the back. It's also possible that you blew the fuse in your fuse box if you have factory HIDs. I don't remember the fuse number but it's under the hood if you did.
ZLwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 10:51 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
JonathanMustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Reyes
Region: Texas
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZLwhat View Post
Well if you have aftermarket HIDs I would suggest checking the ballast on that side. If your headlights are the normal halogens, I would suggest that you make sure it's actually plugged in in the back. It's also possible that you blew the fuse in your fuse box if you have factory HIDs. I don't remember the fuse number but it's under the hood if you did.
It's the bulb that went out. I don't have HIDs. I cannot find a H9 bulb. Am I able to use a silver star H11 bulb?
JonathanMustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 10:52 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
JonathanMustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Reyes
Region: Texas
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZLwhat View Post
Well if you have aftermarket HIDs I would suggest checking the ballast on that side. If your headlights are the normal halogens, I would suggest that you make sure it's actually plugged in in the back. It's also possible that you blew the fuse in your fuse box if you have factory HIDs. I don't remember the fuse number but it's under the hood if you did.


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1660503898.jpg
Views:	296
Size:	484.2 KB
ID:	137498
JonathanMustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 12:51 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Elmendorf
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonathanMustang View Post

It's the bulb that went out. I don't have HIDs. I cannot find a H9 bulb. Am I able to use a silver star H11 bulb?
No you can not. You should have an extra set of bulbs from the swap. I'd recommend upgrading to HIDs at this time or you can find h9 at a local auto parts store. Raxiom had a nice set of h9s made for these headlights if you're interested as well
ZLwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 12:58 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
2 Stangz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Las Vegas
Region: Nevada
Posts: 2,093
If you go HID's:

Intense White H9 6000k HID Light Conversion Kit
2 Stangz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 09:36 AM   #10
AmericanMuscle.com
Sponsor
 
AMDanBailer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,878
It sounds like the bulb just went bad. You can throw in a replacement bulb and I'd bet you're good to go! Or you could take this time to upgrade to a set of HID's. Either way, this is a simple fix ! Let us know if you have any questions or need some assistance. We can definitely help you out with a replacement bulb on us, if it was the Raxiom bulb that went bad!

Just shoot me a PM and let me know what I can do for you!

-Dan
__________________
Dan Bailer | AmericanMuscle.com
Toll Free: 866.727.1266| Mon-Fri 9AM-9PM Sat 10AM-4PM EST
Bama Direct: 888.226.9764| Mon-Fri 9AM-5:30PM EST
FREE SAME-DAY SHIPPING IN THE US-48 AND PRICE MATCHING!
AMDanBailer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 10:14 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
JonathanMustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Reyes
Region: Texas
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2 Stangz View Post
Thank you! What ballast series do I check?

* BALLAST SERIES:

Signature Series (35w)

Power Series (55w)

Stealth Series (Slim)

Volt Canbus Series (Premium)
JonathanMustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 02:32 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
2 Stangz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Las Vegas
Region: Nevada
Posts: 2,093
I recommend the stealth series!

I linked you to a set of 6000K or what I describe 6000K as "diamond white." It's white with a tiny hint of blue (cyan) in it. From my own testing, 6000K matches today's CCFL halo lighting the best. If you want a pure white (OEM-looking), go with 5000K. Honestly, you can't go wrong with either. Just some extra info, take it or leave it.
2 Stangz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 02:41 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
JonathanMustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Reyes
Region: Texas
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2 Stangz View Post
I recommend the stealth series!

I linked you to a set of 6000K or what I describe 6000K as "diamond white." It's white with a tiny hint of blue (cyan) in it. From my own testing, 6000K matches today's CCFL halo lighting the best. If you want a pure white (OEM-looking), go with 5000K. Honestly, you can't go wrong with either. Just some extra info, take it or leave it.
Thank you very much!! I'll go with the 6000K. Dumb question, but is the $69 HID Stealth Series for both lights or is it $69 each light? lol
JonathanMustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 02:46 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
2 Stangz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Las Vegas
Region: Nevada
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonathanMustang View Post
Thank you very much!! I'll go with the 6000K. Dumb question, but is the $69 HID Stealth Series for both lights or is it $69 each light? lol
The $69.99 price tag is for the entire kit, i.e. 2x 6000K H9 bulbs, 2x Stealth Series ballasts, 1x wiring harness, and a 1yr warranty with free shipping. Shipping usually takes 2-3 days.
2 Stangz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 02:56 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
JonathanMustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Reyes
Region: Texas
Posts: 68
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2 Stangz View Post
The $69.99 price tag is for the entire kit, i.e. 2x 6000K H9 bulbs, 2x Stealth Series ballasts, 1x wiring harness, and a 1yr warranty with free shipping. Shipping usually takes 2-3 days.
Just purchased them! Thanks again for your help.
JonathanMustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 03:00 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
2 Stangz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Las Vegas
Region: Nevada
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonathanMustang View Post
Just purchased them! Thanks again for your help.
No problem.
2 Stangz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 07:42 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
JonathanMustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Reyes
Region: Texas
Posts: 68
Now I have water vapor inside my headlights. Any suggestions?
JonathanMustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 08:27 PM   #18
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,684
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonathanMustang View Post
Now I have water vapor inside my headlights. Any suggestions?
You needed to seal the seams with silicone. Am will replace them if u send them pics. I sealed mine and they still let moisture in : / ended up selling that car before I could contact AM about it.
Mikeyt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 12:59 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
2 Stangz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Las Vegas
Region: Nevada
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonathanMustang View Post
Now I have water vapor inside my headlights. Any suggestions?
My smoked turn signals I bought from AM got moisture in them after a hurricane had just rolled in (had just installed them too). Turns out the instructions said it could actually happen and was normal. It took a few days but the moisture disappeared and never came back.
2 Stangz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 11:04 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Benzopyrene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Region: Texas
Posts: 93
Just got mine installed a few weeks ago, noticed the drivers side had a ton of condensation. Also noticed some free water along the seals at the bottom. Took em off, dumped al the water out that I could then I cracked the seal they had in place to get some extra out. Let it air dry by the window unit I have in my garage for about 4 hrs. All water appeared to be gone, so I resealed it, including where the rubber gaskets in the back were. Its been a lot better, still get a really tiny amount of condensation, but its much better. The problem I was having was the halo on that side was actually dimmer, but now its back to normal. Dont know what happened, but glad I fixed it. I do think its silly that I had to seal brand new headlights. Just wish I had seen that in the instructions somewhere. I emailed AM abut it before I did any of this, but never heard back from them, so just went ahead and tried to fix it myself. Warranty is probably no good anyway since I installed HID's. Hopefully they will continue to work.
Benzopyrene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 11:09 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
2 Stangz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Las Vegas
Region: Nevada
Posts: 2,093
^The wires that come out of the halo converter box and go to the CCFL bulbs themselves are REALLY sensitive. I found that shortening the wires actually made the light output brighter.
2 Stangz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 12:33 AM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
JonathanMustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Reyes
Region: Texas
Posts: 68
I just got my HID kit. Installing the HID bulbs right now. How do I close the cap behind the light bulbs. The HID kit wires seem to be in the way for it to close.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1005200000.jpg
Views:	206
Size:	521.3 KB
ID:	138362
JonathanMustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 03:04 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Elmendorf
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonathanMustang View Post
I just got my HID kit. Installing the HID bulbs right now. How do I close the cap behind the light bulbs. The HID kit wires seem to be in the way for it to close.
Cut a hole in it. Here is mine
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2830922023.jpg
Views:	132
Size:	551.9 KB
ID:	138432  
ZLwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 03:07 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
JonathanMustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Reyes
Region: Texas
Posts: 68
That's what I did. Now when I turn in my car I get this alert lol

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1510793146.jpg
Views:	145
Size:	409.4 KB
ID:	138434
JonathanMustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 03:57 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Elmendorf
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonathanMustang View Post
That's what I did. Now when I turn in my car I get this alert lol
Well lol, how did you wire the HIDs? I have to ask.
ZLwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 04:13 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
JonathanMustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Reyes
Region: Texas
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZLwhat View Post
Well lol, how did you wire the HIDs? I have to ask.
Lol I followed the instructions on this website:

Intense White H9 6000k HID Light Conversion Kit

It was pretty much plug and play. I did the single beam installation.

---------- Post added at 04:13 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:12 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZLwhat View Post
Well lol, how did you wire the HIDs? I have to ask.
It's weird because my alarm still works.
JonathanMustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 04:15 PM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Elmendorf
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonathanMustang View Post

Lol I followed the instructions on this website:

Intense White H9 6000k HID Light Conversion Kit

It was pretty much plug and play.
Did you get bi-xenon or single bulb?
ZLwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 04:18 PM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
JonathanMustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Reyes
Region: Texas
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZLwhat View Post
Did you get bi-xenon or single bulb?
I got the xenon bulbs.
JonathanMustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 04:19 PM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Elmendorf
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonathanMustang View Post

I got the xenon bulbs.
Okay, you are probably having issues with the ground wires. Where did you ground them?

If its not the ground wires, did you run the power wire straight to the battery or where did you run it?
ZLwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 04:26 PM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
JonathanMustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Reyes
Region: Texas
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZLwhat View Post
Okay, you are probably having issues with the ground wires. Where did you ground them?

If its not the ground wires, did you run the power wire straight to the battery or where did you run it?
Hmm it didn't have anything to groud the wires. It was all plug and play.
JonathanMustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 04:39 PM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Elmendorf
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonathanMustang View Post

Hmm it didn't have anything to groud the wires. It was all plug and play.
Well if it didn't have anything to ground the wites then you didn't get bi-xenon. The only way you're going to get a code like the one you got is by messing with the factory wiring in the radio, PATS system or drawing too much charge through your electrical system by grounding out wires.. Etc. do the headlights work Atleast?
ZLwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 04:54 PM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
JonathanMustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Reyes
Region: Texas
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZLwhat View Post
Well if it didn't have anything to ground the wites then you didn't get bi-xenon. The only way you're going to get a code like the one you got is by messing with the factory wiring in the radio, PATS system or drawing too much charge through your electrical system by grounding out wires.. Etc. do the headlights work Atleast?

I see. I'm new to the whole HID stuff. lol
These are the bulbs I received. Click image for larger version

Name:	4__51473_1377199650_519_415.jpg
Views:	172
Size:	87.5 KB
ID:	138459
JonathanMustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 05:11 PM   #33
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Elmendorf
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonathanMustang View Post

I see. I'm new to the whole HID stuff. lol
These are the bulbs I received.
So basically it was just a couple clips and that's it? If that is true then you just got a non-relay kit. I'd say that you are probably pulling too much voltage across one of those ballast
ZLwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 10:34 PM   #34
Registered Member
Regular
 
2 Stangz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Las Vegas
Region: Nevada
Posts: 2,093
H9 bulbs are single-beams (essentially low-beams) and are not bixenon (essentially low and high-beams). His kit most likely only came with bulbs and ballast, and not a relay harness that connects to the battery and chassis of the car.

@ZLwhat, from my understanding, halogen bulbs draw 55w each and the HID kit he ordered only draws 35w each.

@OP, are you sure you didn't loosen a connection vital to your factory security system when installing your HID's? If not, then there are three solutions you can try:

1) Simply unplug the HID ballasts, plug your halogen bulbs back in (you don't have to put them back in the headlight assembly), and see if you get that error still. If the error goes away, then it's the HID's. Proceed to the next two options:

2) Order and install these - Universal HID Capacitor (Pair) - HIDeXtra.com, if these don't work, send them back and HID Extra will completely refund you.

3) Order and install this - Universal HID Relay Harness - HIDeXtra.com, once again if this doesn't work, you can send it back for a full refund.
2 Stangz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 12:30 PM   #35
Registered Member
Regular
 
JonathanMustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Reyes
Region: Texas
Posts: 68
Thanks! They are going to send me a capacitor for free!
JonathanMustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



11:35 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.