How to install a 2013 Mustang Track Apps Instrument Cluster in a 2013 Base model GT - Page 13 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Join Mustang Evolution Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-03-2014, 08:46 AM   #421
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Termin8er View Post
Hey guys I was going to go this route but I decided to just buy a premium cluster 2012 for my base 2012 is there a write on how to install the premium 12


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
I could be very wrong BUT i believe for a 2012 to 2012 since there is no trackapps and no screen etc, all you have to do is have it set for the mileage and install it and clear P.A.T.S. and Re-learn P.A.T.S. so it will start.
DeeJayTj is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-10-2014, 09:30 AM   #422
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wear monroe
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 3
I put that part number in and it has a drawn diagram but only shows the base are the LCD and base the same part number?
Duatind6327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-10-2014, 10:19 AM   #423
Registered Member
Regular
 
Deerslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Austin
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,017
Quote:
I put that part number in and it has a drawn diagram but only shows the base are the LCD and base the same part number?
First two letters determine the YEAR, the part numbers are the same, the last two letters determine the "package" the part belongs too. DR='13, ER='14, the last two letters are for base, premium, boss etc.
__________________
2013 GT : 6sp MT, Track Pkg, 3.73 Rear End, Brembo Brakes, Vortech V3 SC, Boss IM, BBK 90mm TB, JLT CAI, ID1000 injectors, BAP, Brisk Plugs, Tial BOV, Lethal OR X Pipe, 3" over axle to GT500 Quad Exhaust, Dynotech Alum DS, MGW Shifter, Eibach R2 Coil Overs, Bob's Billet LCA's, UPR adj. UCA, Eibach Adj PH Bar, TruCarbon Carbon Fiber inside/out. Tuned by Jon Lund II Three salvaged Bosses worth of Parts live on in this car. 636.49rwhp before Torque Booster added
Deerslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 10:28 AM   #424
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wear monroe
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 3
This is the part number I got
er3z10849ea
But the diagram on this on autonation looks like the base

---------- Post added at 10:27 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:27 AM ----------

Deerslayer I also sent u a pm.

---------- Post added at 10:28 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:27 AM ----------

Deerslayer I also sent u a pm.
Duatind6327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 10:38 AM   #425
Registered Member
Regular
 
dcruscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Milford
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duatind6327 View Post
This is the part number I got
er3z10849ea
But the diagram on this on autonation looks like the base

---------- Post added at 10:27 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:27 AM ----------

Deerslayer I also sent u a pm.

---------- Post added at 10:28 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:27 AM ----------

Deerslayer I also sent u a pm.
That's the part # for the 2014 lcd track apps cluster
dcruscher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 10:48 AM   #426
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wear monroe
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 3
So when I order the cluster do I just find a vin number off a random premium car off the internet or have to give them the one from my 14 base?
Duatind6327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 10:53 AM   #427
Registered Member
Regular
 
Deerslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Austin
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,017
Quote:
So when I order the cluster do I just find a vin number off a random premium car off the internet or have to give them the one from my 14 base?
If you want an '14 LCD track apps cluster, you need to provide a VIN to a '14 with a track apps cluster. If you provide a base cluster VIN, you will recieve a base cluster. They dont need the part number. If you provide a proper VIN of a the car that has the cluster you want, along with your mileage and what is wrong with your cluster, you will get what you need. If you just call with a part number, they are still going to want a VIN #, mileage.
__________________
2013 GT : 6sp MT, Track Pkg, 3.73 Rear End, Brembo Brakes, Vortech V3 SC, Boss IM, BBK 90mm TB, JLT CAI, ID1000 injectors, BAP, Brisk Plugs, Tial BOV, Lethal OR X Pipe, 3" over axle to GT500 Quad Exhaust, Dynotech Alum DS, MGW Shifter, Eibach R2 Coil Overs, Bob's Billet LCA's, UPR adj. UCA, Eibach Adj PH Bar, TruCarbon Carbon Fiber inside/out. Tuned by Jon Lund II Three salvaged Bosses worth of Parts live on in this car. 636.49rwhp before Torque Booster added
Deerslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 10:54 AM   #428
Registered Member
Regular
 
dcruscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Milford
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duatind6327 View Post
So when I order the cluster do I just find a vin number off a random premium car off the internet or have to give them the one from my 14 base?
Yes
dcruscher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 06:23 PM   #429
Registered Member
Regular
 
1QKSTEED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: North Carolina
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 28
I ordered my cluster last week and it arrived today but the cruise button is on back order. The dealership informed that theres a penalty for not returning the old cluster back within 30 days, has anyone else heard this? Worse case I'll go ahead with the cluster switch to avoid the penalty then button after it comes in.
1QKSTEED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 06:29 PM   #430
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: memphis
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 38
You can get the cruise button on ebay for 22 bucks. I ordered it and got it in two days. I had to because ford dealership here said they were on back order too


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
yacob454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 06:37 PM   #431
Registered Member
Regular
 
1QKSTEED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: North Carolina
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by yacob454 View Post
You can get the cruise button on ebay for 22 bucks. I ordered it and got it in two days. I had to because ford dealership here said they were on back order too


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Thanks for the info, I'll pickup one there.
1QKSTEED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 08:19 PM   #432
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Aurora
Region: Missouri
Posts: 437
I've almost decided to not do this modification. I work in Law Enforcement and the fact that you have to lie and come up with a BS story just to purchase one doesn't sit very well with me. I'm not a very good liar and I just know that they would be able to tell that my story is BS. Do they not test the returned clusters to see if the claims of something broken or not working are true? I just think it's BS to have to go through this to get a part.
__________________
2014 GT/automatic/Sterling Gray Metallic/GT500AB/GT500 OTA pipes/Bob's oil catch can/Ford aluminum finned diff cover. Ford STB.
70monte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 09:54 PM   #433
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: St-Hubert
Region: Canada
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70monte View Post
I've almost decided to not do this modification. I work in Law Enforcement and the fact that you have to lie and come up with a BS story just to purchase one doesn't sit very well with me. I'm not a very good liar and I just know that they would be able to tell that my story is BS. Do they not test the returned clusters to see if the claims of something broken or not working are true? I just think it's BS to have to go through this to get a part.
How are you supposed to interrogate a perp if you can't lie?
NoTop5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 10:08 PM   #434
Registered Member
Regular
 
Deerslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Austin
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,017
Quote:
I've almost decided to not do this modification. I work in Law Enforcement and the fact that you have to lie and come up with a BS story just to purchase one doesn't sit very well with me. I'm not a very good liar and I just know that they would be able to tell that my story is BS. Do they not test the returned clusters to see if the claims of something broken or not working are true? I just think it's BS to have to go through this to get a part.
I don't think anyone "likes" having to give a dealership information that is misleading just to buy a part, but it is not illegal. You give the information for the part YOU want. You are not saying that the VIN you give is yours, just you want a cluster for that VIN. When they ask what is wrong, say it was removed and is not working. technically.....no lies if that would make you sleep better. If you were to lie about your mileage, YES, that would be illegal and should be prosecuted. YOU ARE SIMPLY UPGRADING YOUR CAR, LOL this is not some top secret illegal activity Some just people just can't stop and give JUST THE INFORMATION needed to buy the part. If you start asking questions and saying things that are not asked can trigger Ford's internal procedures NOT to sell the part to you. There are MANY parts Ford will NOT sell you if you do not supply them with a corresponding VIN, clusters are just another part that they require a VIN for.

Go to a dealer and try to buy a OEM Boss Vinyl front quarter stripe without a Boss VIN ........not happening You can buy all of the other stripes, rocker, hood, rear quarter, but NOT the front quarters that have the Boss logo
__________________
2013 GT : 6sp MT, Track Pkg, 3.73 Rear End, Brembo Brakes, Vortech V3 SC, Boss IM, BBK 90mm TB, JLT CAI, ID1000 injectors, BAP, Brisk Plugs, Tial BOV, Lethal OR X Pipe, 3" over axle to GT500 Quad Exhaust, Dynotech Alum DS, MGW Shifter, Eibach R2 Coil Overs, Bob's Billet LCA's, UPR adj. UCA, Eibach Adj PH Bar, TruCarbon Carbon Fiber inside/out. Tuned by Jon Lund II Three salvaged Bosses worth of Parts live on in this car. 636.49rwhp before Torque Booster added
Deerslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 11:54 AM   #435
Registered Member
Regular
 
1QKSTEED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: North Carolina
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 28
Just ordered my cruise button from Amazon for $23 if anyone else needs one.
1QKSTEED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 12:10 PM   #436
Registered Member
Regular
 
Deerslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Austin
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,017
I now have everything (will tomorrow at least) needed to add OEM sync to the car. With this cluster, I will install the auto dimming mirror with the compass and mic. I had to get the RH steering wheel switch that had the voice/phone buttons, as well as the wiring harness that plugs into the compass mirror. FIRST QUESTIONS out of the dealer parts guy was: "I need the last 8 numbers of the VIN" Had a VIN handy for a '13 premium w/sync no nav and gave him the numbers and $45 and both parts will be here tomorrow He never asked me if this was MY car nor do I think he gave a rats *** about it.
Looks like the fully functional OEM sync is going to cost me a total of $285
to complete. From a salvage yard I got: '13 mustang sync module (apim), '13 shaker premium ACM, auto dimm mirror w/mic/compass ($175 all three). I bought a sync kit for the harness for $65, RH steering wheel switch (hpi) & mirror wiring harness ($45)

(Could have saved some $ by not getting the premium shaker ACM but for 75 it was a deal)
__________________
2013 GT : 6sp MT, Track Pkg, 3.73 Rear End, Brembo Brakes, Vortech V3 SC, Boss IM, BBK 90mm TB, JLT CAI, ID1000 injectors, BAP, Brisk Plugs, Tial BOV, Lethal OR X Pipe, 3" over axle to GT500 Quad Exhaust, Dynotech Alum DS, MGW Shifter, Eibach R2 Coil Overs, Bob's Billet LCA's, UPR adj. UCA, Eibach Adj PH Bar, TruCarbon Carbon Fiber inside/out. Tuned by Jon Lund II Three salvaged Bosses worth of Parts live on in this car. 636.49rwhp before Torque Booster added
Deerslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2014, 04:01 AM   #437
Registered Member
Regular
 
GMAN211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Orlando
Region: Florida
Posts: 39
Right behind ya,, DEERSLAYER .. waiting for my parts to come it...
__________________
2012 BOSS 302 - DYNOTECH Alum Drive Shaft,
SOLD - 2014 GT - Track Pack, Recaro & Tech Pack
13.09}
GMAN211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2014, 10:47 AM   #438
Registered Member
Regular
 
Deerslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Austin
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,017
Nice project GMan.....We'll work together to knock them out.
__________________
2013 GT : 6sp MT, Track Pkg, 3.73 Rear End, Brembo Brakes, Vortech V3 SC, Boss IM, BBK 90mm TB, JLT CAI, ID1000 injectors, BAP, Brisk Plugs, Tial BOV, Lethal OR X Pipe, 3" over axle to GT500 Quad Exhaust, Dynotech Alum DS, MGW Shifter, Eibach R2 Coil Overs, Bob's Billet LCA's, UPR adj. UCA, Eibach Adj PH Bar, TruCarbon Carbon Fiber inside/out. Tuned by Jon Lund II Three salvaged Bosses worth of Parts live on in this car. 636.49rwhp before Torque Booster added
Deerslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 11:49 AM   #439
Registered Member
Regular
 
GMAN211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Orlando
Region: Florida
Posts: 39
Any up dates on the SYNC
__________________
2012 BOSS 302 - DYNOTECH Alum Drive Shaft,
SOLD - 2014 GT - Track Pack, Recaro & Tech Pack
13.09}
GMAN211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 01:07 PM   #440
Registered User
Newbie
 
93KingCobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 2
Defiantly subbing for this thread..I would love to do this..
__________________
2014 Sterling Gray Mustang GT
93KingCobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 10:10 PM   #441
Registered Member
Regular
 
gamecock426's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Columbia
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 23
Just got mine done today and I couldn't be happier! Thanks for everyone's help on this thread as virtually all of my questions were answered throughout the thread and made it easy!
gamecock426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 12:32 AM   #442
Registered Member
Regular
 
GMAN211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Orlando
Region: Florida
Posts: 39
How to install a 2013 Mustang Track Apps Instrument Cluster in a 2013 Base mo...

Could someone PM me. I think the software I have for my VCMII is corrupted. Maybe someone could make a copy.


Sent from my iPad using Mustang Evolution
__________________
2012 BOSS 302 - DYNOTECH Alum Drive Shaft,
SOLD - 2014 GT - Track Pack, Recaro & Tech Pack
13.09}
GMAN211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 08:37 AM   #443
Registered Member
Regular
 
Devil Strider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Colorado Springs
Region: Colorado
Posts: 987
Will this work on a 2014 GT with sync? I have the tech package so I already have the cruise control as well as phone buttons.

Sent from my Galaxy Note 3 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Devil Strider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 03:50 PM   #444
Registered Member
Regular
 
GMAN211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Orlando
Region: Florida
Posts: 39
Yes it will work


Sent from my iPad using Mustang Evolution
__________________
2012 BOSS 302 - DYNOTECH Alum Drive Shaft,
SOLD - 2014 GT - Track Pack, Recaro & Tech Pack
13.09}
GMAN211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 08:15 PM   #445
Registered User
Newbie
 
GodfatherB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Woodinville
Region: Washington
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deerslayer View Post
Iceman, just enter the data for the ABS that I sent you.
Hey deerslayer would it be alright if you sent me a text i have a coupe questions and the thread has become cluttered lol 425-286-0188
__________________
2011 MUSTANG GT 415RWHP
I AM THE GODFATHER OF MUSTANGS
GodfatherB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 08:31 PM   #446
Registered User
Newbie
 
GodfatherB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Woodinville
Region: Washington
Posts: 6
im going to be atempting this on a 2011 GT Premium 6SPD Manual with my color so which cluster can i get to keep my color but also have 180 MPH another thing so besides the abd module vcmii and cluster and switches what else do i need
__________________
2011 MUSTANG GT 415RWHP
I AM THE GODFATHER OF MUSTANGS
GodfatherB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 08:33 PM   #447
Registered User
Newbie
 
GodfatherB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Woodinville
Region: Washington
Posts: 6
Can people also PM me the links they used to be able to buy all the items NEW
__________________
2011 MUSTANG GT 415RWHP
I AM THE GODFATHER OF MUSTANGS
GodfatherB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 02:38 PM   #448
Registered Member
Regular
 
1QKSTEED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: North Carolina
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 28
Questions

My 14 base going to a 14 premium. I can't remember if the vin# I gave the dealership to order cluster was a auto, will this matter? My car has a custom tune, would I need to flash back to stock or leave alone? Steering buttons are done, gauge cluster in hand and scanner will be here Friday. Any help would be great.
1QKSTEED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 05:54 PM   #449
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: St-Hubert
Region: Canada
Posts: 68
It shouldn't matter if it is auto or manual when you order. It matters when you do the asbuilt codes programming for the cluster. It also shouldn't touch your tune.
NoTop5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 06:34 AM   #450
Registered Member
Regular
 
1QKSTEED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: North Carolina
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 28
Sounds like I just need to research a 14 automatic with premium cluster and use that one for as built. Thanks.
1QKSTEED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 11:55 AM   #451
Registered Member
Regular
 
GMAN211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Orlando
Region: Florida
Posts: 39
DEERSLAYER BRECK
please clear your PM messages or if you get a chance read the one I sent

Thanks Man
__________________
2012 BOSS 302 - DYNOTECH Alum Drive Shaft,
SOLD - 2014 GT - Track Pack, Recaro & Tech Pack
13.09}
GMAN211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 01:18 PM   #452
Registered User
Newbie
 
GodfatherB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Woodinville
Region: Washington
Posts: 6
Can the VCM change my factory pcm vin from a 2011 to a 2013 because this is required to get track apps to work for me
__________________
2011 MUSTANG GT 415RWHP
I AM THE GODFATHER OF MUSTANGS
GodfatherB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 08:24 PM   #453
Registered Member
Regular
 
1QKSTEED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: North Carolina
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 28
Got installed today and it works great. A few hiccups on my behalf. Only had one key with me, so I had to wait for other key from my wife. It took a few times to program the keys, then came looking up asbuilt numbers. It all came together though. Thanks OP for this thread.
1QKSTEED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 08:04 AM   #454
Registered Member
Regular
 
GMAN211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Orlando
Region: Florida
Posts: 39
DEERSLAYER - the got the harness, switch and the sync module....
And ... Now I have Sync in my 2012 Boss 302!!!!
I need to get a 2013 switch. So I can talk to sync ...
Thanks for you DEERSLAYER...



Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
2012 BOSS 302 - DYNOTECH Alum Drive Shaft,
SOLD - 2014 GT - Track Pack, Recaro & Tech Pack
13.09}
GMAN211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 10:15 AM   #455
Registered Member
Regular
 
martinzusmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 37
Can someone PM me with a premium VIN so I can order the cluster? I am looking to order the cluster and from what I read AutoNation is about the best source, outside of finding a used one on eBay or car-parts. If anyone living in AZ has done this, And is willing to help, it would be greatly appreciated. Martin


Sent from my iPad using Mustang Evolution
martinzusmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Tags
2013 mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What mods can get 350+hp? Johnstonb93 2005-2010 V6 Mustang 82 11-01-2014 05:04 PM
1969 Mustang Coupe Restoration Project yellow99 Classic Mustangs 5 10-15-2011 11:05 AM
1995 Mustang SVT Cobra Project yellow99 1979-1995 Mustang GT 0 09-03-2011 06:51 PM
1971 Mustang Fastback Project yellow99 Classic Mustangs 0 09-03-2011 06:49 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



04:18 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.