Supercharger Installed - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 05-19-2014, 06:43 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Texas
Supercharger Installed

Once we ordered a supercharger from Team Beefcake Racing, I started studying the installation of the Vortech V3 supercharger. Talked at length with Terry at TBR and chose the route we wanted to go with the motor.

Vortech V3 3.60 pulley
Injector Dynamics ID1000 injectors
MaxFlow Boost A Pump Fuel Booster
Brisk Plugs (one step cooler)
JLT High Performance Intake
Jon Lund Tuned

Got a Roush Lower grill delete so she would be able to show her new teeth.
Once we got a break, I was pretty well versed in what we needed to do.
We began the install and break down of everything. Some of the sequencing of the build, looking back, we could have saved a LOT of time, had we done things in a different order. A couple of changes from the Vortech package we did, was replaced the supplied plastic coolant tank with an aluminum powder coated tank. We also blocked off and did not used the Vortech BOV. Instead, bought a prefabbed elbow with a Tial 50mm Race BOV.

Install was not too bad. Some of the most tedious things were building the supercharger bracket. Most of the modification stuff took the longest. Modifications to the coolant lines and locations and modifications to the fan. Once we began the actual building of the supercharger, it went pretty straight forward. I would say anyone with moderate mechanical skills can do this. My son did most of it so he is now VERY familiar with everything and how it goes together and what its role is.