Howling noise - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-18-2014, 02:27 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Missouri
Howling noise

I am hearing a howling noise when I am going down the highway. Whatever it is, only makes the noise when I am accelerating either by pressing the gas pedal or the cruise control has kicked in. Very quiet when I am coasting. I have some people tell me it's my off-road x pipe, my gears or a bearing. If it was a bearing or the gears wouldn't it do it even coasting? I am not for sure what it is, i am not very tech savvy.I have a 2014 gt/cs with factory 3.73, off road x pipe, custom tune, and a jlt cai. Thanks
first.stang14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-18-2014, 02:43 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: West Virgina
Sounds like its the gear whine that many hear from the 3:73's. I had mine replaced once under warranty (mine also blew the pinion seal after about 9k miles). They wouldn't replace a second time due to "modifications that affected the pinion angle". Mine was originally due to improper installation from the factory - possibly the same thing? I know the 3:73's are notorious for this.
2013 Mustang GT w/ Track Pack - Steeda Ultralite Springs, Koni Str.t Struts/Shocks, BMR LCA & Relocation Brackets, BMR Adjustable UCA and Bracket, BMR Adjustable Panhard, DSS Aluminum Driveshaft, Bassani x-pipe and catback, MGW shifter, JLT CAI, Steeda Tune
Coyote5o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 02:52 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

If that is my problem and since I have a custom tune on my car, will it be covered on warranty? If they will do it, should I tell them that it does have a custom tune so they won't flash my ECM? Won't that lock my sct if they did flash it?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-19-2014, 11:47 AM   #4