Race tune from bama - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-23-2014, 12:44 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Ntbruncie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: PHOENIX
Region: Arizona
Posts: 997
Race tune from bama

Is there any negative effects of running the bama race tune on my 2014 gt all the time?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Ntbruncie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-23-2014, 01:00 PM   #2
Road Trip!
 
shrek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: California
Region: California
Posts: 44
Race tune from bama

Nope. Just run it

Also gas mileage I guess
shrek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 01:04 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Ntbruncie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: PHOENIX
Region: Arizona
Posts: 997
Haha ya I've noticed the fuel mileage has gone down. Thanks
Ntbruncie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-23-2014, 01:16 PM   #4
Site Sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Malvern, PA
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ntbruncie View Post
Is there any negative effects of running the bama race tune on my 2014 gt all the time?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
OP,

Aside from going through rubber and some fuel you're good to go! Swap it over on the Street if you're taking a long trip or just want to change it up for a little! Rest assured there's no harm that can be done and I would estimate that most if not all AM employees run their Mustang on the race tune daily.

-Alex
__________________
Alex Lazarus | AmericanMuscle.com
Toll Free: 1-866-363-4591
Bama Hotline: 888.226.9764 | M-F 9AM-5:30PM EST
WIN A SUPERCHARGED MUSTANG & 2017 RAPTOR!
Free Same-Day Shipping!
AMAlexLazarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 01:24 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
DallasStang77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Dallas
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,842
Maybe also: Speeding tickets
DallasStang77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 01:35 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Ntbruncie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: PHOENIX
Region: Arizona
Posts: 997
Also when switching tunes say from race to street do I need to load the stock tune then switch to the other tune wanted or do I just go in and tell it to load the street tune

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Ntbruncie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 01:36 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
DallasStang77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Dallas
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ntbruncie View Post
Also when switching tunes say from race to street do I need to load the stock tune then switch to the other tune wanted or do I just go in and tell it to load the street tune

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Yes always return to stock before uploading a new tune. Else the ECM gets locked and you're focked.
DallasStang77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 01:54 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Randeezy23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 88
Race tune from bama

Isn't the stock tune loaded to the tuner. How does it cause your ECM to lock up


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Randeezy23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 02:21 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
RJ13GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Roanoke Rapids
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 157
I ran my Bama race tune all the time. I enjoyed it. I wish the the tune i have right now with the Procharger shifted like the Bama tune.

Sent from my SCH-S720C using Tapatalk 2
__________________
2013 5.0, Black, Auto, Procharger P1SC stg 2, 4.13'' pulley(8 psi), JMS bap, 3'' x pipe, Circle D 3c, Kooks axleback, BMR control arms. 593rwhp
RJ13GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 02:45 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
DallasStang77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Dallas
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randeezy23 View Post
Isn't the stock tune loaded to the tuner. How does it cause your ECM to lock up


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
There's only one tune at a time on your car. For some damn reason the SCT can't upload custom tune over custom tune. You must return it to stock on your car then upload a new custom tune else the car ECM gets locked.
DallasStang77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 02:49 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Randeezy23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 88
I had a race tune on my vehicle then I was sent another tune from brenspeed and I replaced the race tune with new tune sent on my tuner then I uploaded to my ECM and I haven't had any issues


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Randeezy23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 02:55 PM   #12
Admin

Supporter
Admin
 
bucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lake Mary
Region: Florida
Posts: 5,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randeezy23 View Post
Isn't the stock tune loaded to the tuner. How does it cause your ECM to lock up


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Yes. What was being explained was to always return to stock before moving to another tune.

Example: You install a 91 octane performance tune, run for awhile, and now what to install a 93 octane tune. First re-install the stock tune, meaning go from the 91 octane tune to the stock tune. When that's complete, start the car. Then turn it off and continue with installing the 93 octane tune.

While all tuners and tunes may not have an issue going from one performance tune to another without first returning to the stock tune, it's recommended and safer to do so.
__________________
It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.
bucko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 02:57 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
DallasStang77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Dallas
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randeezy23 View Post
I had a race tune on my vehicle then I was sent another tune from brenspeed and I replaced the race tune with new tune sent on my tuner then I uploaded to my ECM and I haven't had any issues


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
What tuner do u have? Most people have the SCT. Might be some other devices don't run some checks. Programmatically it might be that the makers of the SCT runs a check to see if the ECM is matched to the device being that its "permanently" paired to one car and one car only.

Not sure about other devices but for my SCT it locked my car up twice. Both cuz I forgot to return to stock. Every time I return to stock then upload a new tune it goes perfectly.
DallasStang77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 03:04 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Randeezy23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 88
Sct from brenspeed


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Randeezy23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 03:06 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
DallasStang77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Dallas
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,842
Race tune from bama

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randeezy23 View Post
Sct from brenspeed


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Alrighty. You're lucky. A lot of people have had issues with getting locked out.

That being said its still better to be safe than sorry by returning it to stock first.
DallasStang77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 03:12 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Randeezy23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 88
My next tune is going to be a dyno tune cause I am going be adding a supercharger I will just let the tuner work his magic but that is good to know for future references, I have done this a number of times in the past and didn't have any issues, I have always used brenspeed when buying my tuners.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Randeezy23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 04:17 PM   #17
Site Sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Malvern, PA
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by DallasStang77 View Post
Maybe also: Speeding tickets
This could potentially happen!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucko View Post
Yes. What was being explained was to always return to stock before moving to another tune.

Example: You install a 91 octane performance tune, run for awhile, and now what to install a 93 octane tune. First re-install the stock tune, meaning go from the 91 octane tune to the stock tune. When that's complete, start the car. Then turn it off and continue with installing the 93 octane tune.

While all tuners and tunes may not have an issue going from one performance tune to another without first returning to the stock tune, it's recommended and safer to do so.
Could not have said it better myself! Hat Tip to Bucko! Don't hesitate to let me know if you're to have any questions or shoot me a PM and I'm here to help!

-Alex
__________________
Alex Lazarus | AmericanMuscle.com
Toll Free: 1-866-363-4591
Bama Hotline: 888.226.9764 | M-F 9AM-5:30PM EST
WIN A SUPERCHARGED MUSTANG & 2017 RAPTOR!
Free Same-Day Shipping!
AMAlexLazarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 04:57 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Ntbruncie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: PHOENIX
Region: Arizona
Posts: 997
Bucko thanks you answered my question perfectly.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Ntbruncie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 05:20 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Compstall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tacoma, WA
Region: Washington
Posts: 1,162
I asked the question with SCT, and they said you can flip from one tune to the next no problem, but if you have a fresh set of tunes downloaded to your tuner, always go back to stock first.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
__________________
- Brent
'11 GT Kona Blue Brembo
"Measure with micrometers, mark with a scribe, chop with an axe"
"I'm not new to driving. I've been doing it for a couple of years now." - Aphex
Compstall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bama hybrid tune vs race tune tq hp curve rick9550 2011-2014 Mustang GT 7 07-14-2013 07:54 PM
bama race tune > bama hybrid tune 13 stang22 2011-2014 V6 Mustang 11 04-16-2013 06:26 PM
Bama tune or lund tune or steeda tune Mustang32Bill 2011-2014 Mustang GT 89 11-12-2012 11:45 AM
Long Distance on a Bama 93 Race Tune Sl1nk 2011-2014 V6 Mustang 11 06-27-2012 11:04 AM
OR Xpipe and Bama 93 Race Tune Reinkey 2011-2014 Mustang GT 0 05-24-2012 09:42 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



03:00 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.