Tune question - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-13-2014, 05:43 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Yankee5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Los Angeles California
Region: California
Posts: 82
Tune question

I'm dropping off my car at the dealer do I put my computer back to stock or will there be any problem I have the sct tune on it right now so just want to know will it mess up my system thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Yankee5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-13-2014, 05:46 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
shunc01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,948
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yankee5.0 View Post
I'm dropping off my car at the dealer do I put my computer back to stock or will there be any problem I have the sct tune on it right now so just want to know will it mess up my system thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
When I go to my dealership I always put it back to stock and I put tape on the obd port so I know if someone is messing up with them.

Borla touring, airraid Cai, Mac ceramic shorty headers, frrp x pipe, 2010 gt500 rims, 35 % tint and more to come..
__________________
2016 GT RACE RED MANUAL aka " RAGING BULL"
Mods:
Borla stypes cat back exhaust, tint kit all lights, 5.0 race red shift knob, MMD V SERIES SPOILER... and more to come...
shunc01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 05:47 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Yankee5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Los Angeles California
Region: California
Posts: 82
Will be any problem if I just leave it like that or once I get it I just put the program back


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Yankee5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-13-2014, 05:53 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
mustangz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Virginia
Region: Virginia
Posts: 4,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yankee5.0 View Post
Will be any problem if I just leave it like that or once I get it I just put the program back


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
It can be a problem. If they need to search for codes, leaving an aftermarket tune on can make it difficult, and if they need to update the stock tune, they won't know the tune on it is not stock and will flash it.
__________________
2013 GT Premium, Red Candy Metallic, Recaro seats, Electronic package, Strut tower brace, Sway bars, SHR flush mounted window louvers, RTR street-spec axleback exhaust, Ford Racing Boss 302 Side Exhaust, RTR wheels, 50/35% Window tint, Steeda black shorty antenna, and Ford OE Matte Hood Vents.
mustangz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 05:53 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Yankee5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Los Angeles California
Region: California
Posts: 82
Will be any problem if I just leave it like that or once I get it I just put the program back


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Yankee5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 06:12 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
DallasStang77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Dallas
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,842
Tune question

What's the trip to the dealer for?

Oil change they don't touch the updates and such.

Warranty work sure you could bring it back to stock if you want.

Or just tape up the port and ask for no updates. The tech is no idiot. There are things that just won't run without a tune so whether you return to stock tune or not doesn't really matter (I.e. OR X/H pipes, Boss Manifold, pretty much any power adder other than a catback requires a tune).

Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
DallasStang77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 06:13 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Yankee5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Los Angeles California
Region: California
Posts: 82
Battery die but before that wouldn't change gears I'll stay at first gear


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Yankee5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 06:18 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
DallasStang77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Dallas
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yankee5.0 View Post
Battery die but before that wouldn't change gears I'll stay at first gear


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution

Yeah they'll run diagnostics. Just return to stock. They can still find out if they want to but at least don't leave it there for them to find it.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
DallasStang77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hybrid tune vs. race tune 13 stang22 2011-2014 V6 Mustang 37 03-30-2013 09:38 PM
to tune or not to tune.... rebeltx 2011-2014 V6 Mustang 24 01-02-2013 11:46 AM
Bama tune or lund tune or steeda tune Mustang32Bill 2011-2014 Mustang GT 89 11-12-2012 11:45 AM
Question on installing Bama tune if previous tune already loaded on car ljn21 2011-2014 Mustang GT 7 08-01-2012 11:08 AM
To tune or not to tune? grossnickle6612 2011-2014 V6 Mustang 10 08-24-2011 10:27 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



11:25 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.