2013 GT Drivetrain/Engine Question - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 11-20-2014, 08:37 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Texas
2013 GT Drivetrain/Engine Question

I come from the Camaro world, and their push-rod engine design. I am really only very knowledgeable on the LS engines, so I have a few questions about the drive train on my MT-82 and engine of course.

I bought a used 2013 Manual GT with 39k miles. Yes, that is a lot of miles but I do not drive more than 10k a year. I am a college student.

I still got a warranty on it, but before I take it anywhere Id like to hear some opinion. Whats the deal with the constant tick I hear from the front engine? Is that the lifters? fuel pump? Also the whine from the rear? Is that the drivetrain? I have no leaks back there but I am just curious.

Also what is with the lack of low end torque! I am assuming the stock tune is really ehhhh? But at some points I feel if I do not hit 3000rpm, I wont have any noticeable torque feels?
Jvibe92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-22-2014, 12:08 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Illinois
Do a search for the tick. Nobody seems to know for sure yet but quite common. Engine is a dohc engine with independent vvt. Lack of torque a tune will significantly fix but it'll never have quite the low end grunt of an ls3. Lack of displacement. As for the mt82....everything I see makes it sound like junk but seems to be hit or miss. I went with the 6r80 which seems to be almost bullet proof. I came from camaros and Trans ams myself. I think you'll like the car. I dint regret my decision to get my coyote over a 5rh Gen although a year ago if you would have told me I'd own a Mustang I would have laughed lol

Sent from my SM-N900V using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Old 11-22-2014, 02:08 AM   #3