Too lean bank 1 and bank 2 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-30-2015, 10:02 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Las Vegas
Region: Nevada
Posts: 20
Too lean bank 1 and bank 2

I have a 2010 mustang with the check engine light on reading the codes too lean bank 1 and 2 .how do I fix that ?
meno1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2015, 10:03 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rapinator126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 9,245
Who is your car tuned by?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Rapinator126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 10:09 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Las Vegas
Region: Nevada
Posts: 20
Well I bearly bought the car like a week ago so Im not sure if it's tuned or not.
meno1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2015, 10:10 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rapinator126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 9,245
What Is done to the car? You didn't ask if it was tuned when you bought it? Or was it from a dealership?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Rapinator126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 11:02 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Las Vegas
Region: Nevada
Posts: 20
Yeah I got it at a delear. It does have a after market air intake
meno1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 11:05 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rapinator126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 9,245
Which cai does it have?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Rapinator126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 11:08 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Las Vegas
Region: Nevada
Posts: 20
Codes P0171 & P0174 (Too lean bank 1 & Too lean bank 2)
meno1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 11:12 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rapinator126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 9,245
It could be a few things. Thats why I need to know more about the car.

But roughly.
1. The tune
2. O2 sensors are bad, usually show (stuck rich) when this is the case though.


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Rapinator126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 12:16 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
thelastsumurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Region: Florida
Posts: 371
If you have an after market CAI that requires a tune and you don't have a tune installed you can get a too lean condition. Put the stock CAI back on and clear the codes and see if the codes come back. In either case I'd go back to the dealer and bi##h about it.
thelastsumurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 12:19 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rapinator126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 9,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by thelastsumurai View Post
If you have am after market CAI that requires a tune and you don't have a tune installed you can get a too lean condition. Put the stock CAI back on and see clear the codes and see if the codes come back. In either case I'd go back to the dealer and bi##h about it.
somewhat. 90% of the time if you have a CAI that requires a tune, and you do not have one. Your car will not even iddle correctly do to the MAF signals being jacked up

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Rapinator126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 12:26 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Seanp94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Cherry hill
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 116
I bet it was tuned and the last owner returned the car to stock to keep his tuner. Now that you're using the car the check engine light is coming on because the cai on the car requires a tune.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Seanp94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 12:30 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
thelastsumurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Region: Florida
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seanp94 View Post
I bet it was tuned and the last owner returned the car to stock to keep his tuner. Now that you're using the car the check engine light is coming on because the cai on the car requires a tune.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Ditto
thelastsumurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 12:42 PM   #13
Registered Member

Regular
 
olerodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Corvallis
Region: Oregon
Posts: 2,703
I also had the same condition, although mine was just lean on bank#1.
I bought my 14 GT/TrakPak car with 2700 miles on the odometer. It had an Airaid CAI and SCT tuner, the tuner came with the car. When I took the tune out of the car to go back to the Ford dealer it was a little sluggish, throttle response was not the same crisp feel although the idle was fine it was not the same car without the tune. During the time that the tune was out I really never hammer it, I just drove like I had an egg between my foot the throttle pedal. When I got it back from the dealer I warmed it up, and found the nearest straight stretch of road, then hammered it..............the car would barely pull past 6,000 and just felt sluggish (compared to having the tune when it went past 7000). I came to a stop light and looked down and the check engine light was one so I drove home. I got my tuner and read the code and it was 171, lean on bank#1. The next day I called SCT and talked to Mo, and he told me that they get this quite often when someone puts the car back to stock tune and it has a CAI. I erased the code with the tuner, put the tune back in and everything is great once again.
With yours being lean on both banks............at least that part is good because that would tell me your distribution is pretty much spot on..............with mine being lean on just one side that's a different story that can only be fixed with a better tune...IMHO
olerodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 12:43 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Las Vegas
Region: Nevada
Posts: 20
Well at some point when the dealership had it .it did pass smog. So idk why it's giving this code now. I've been bringing the car back and forth because they try something new to fix it every time and the Engine light always comes back on. They changed the intake manifold gasket, they said the fuel pressure is good, they checked all hoses to make sure there wasn't a hole. What else could it be??
meno1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 12:48 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Las Vegas
Region: Nevada
Posts: 20
Exactly sounds exactly what's going on with my car. I do have a air raid intake also and when I hammer the car it doesn't have the power it needs like it doesn't push you back it just slowly goes up in speed but it's still fast just needs that extra hump. My car does idle smooth but it's also really bad on gas idk if it's just cause its a v8 or that something else is causing it to have bad gas mileage
meno1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 12:53 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rapinator126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 9,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seanp94 View Post
I bet it was tuned and the last owner returned the car to stock to keep his tuner. Now that you're using the car the check engine light is coming on because the cai on the car requires a tune.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Does anyone read what is posted from b4.
If thr cai requires a tune thr car will not iddle correctly without it. The MAF signals will be messed up

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Rapinator126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 01:03 PM   #17
Registered Member

Regular
 
olerodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Corvallis
Region: Oregon
Posts: 2,703
Quote:
Originally Posted by meno1994 View Post
Well at some point when the dealership had it .it did pass smog. So idk why it's giving this code now. I've been bringing the car back and forth because they try something new to fix it every time and the Engine light always comes back on. They changed the intake manifold gasket, they said the fuel pressure is good, they checked all hoses to make sure there wasn't a hole. What else could it be??
I have no idea why they would have checked it for smog because it was a front brake issue. When I first talked to Mo at SCT he told me anytime I take into the dealer I should bring it back to stock tune. He said that if I had the tune in it and the Ford shop hooked up their test equipment to the OBD port bad things may happen, like I would be locked out and unable to change the tune with my current tuner................so anytime I will take it for service I will take the tune out just to be safe.


Quote:
Originally Posted by meno1994 View Post
Exactly sounds exactly what's going on with my car. I do have a air raid intake also and when I hammer the car it doesn't have the power it needs like it doesn't push you back it just slowly goes up in speed but it's still fast just needs that extra hump. My car does idle smooth but it's also really bad on gas idk if it's just cause its a v8 or that something else is causing it to have bad gas mileage
So, do you have a tuner or not!
If you answer is no, then that's the first thing I'd do, or just put the stock CAI back on. Personally I don't think a CAI brings much to the party on the Coyote motor..............as I've proven to myself by taking my tune out. With the tune you won't know it was the same car.................in first and second without the tune I could spin the tires............with the tune I can put the car sideways at will in either 1st, 2nd, and sometimes in 3rd. With the tune out the motor struggled after 6000, with the tune it pulls strong up to 7500.
Don't walk, run to get a tuner......................it will really wake the car up!!!!!!!
olerodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 01:36 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Las Vegas
Region: Nevada
Posts: 20
Ok so if I get a tuner. I do it myself right? I've never looked into that.
meno1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 01:38 PM   #19
Registered Member

Regular
 
olerodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Corvallis
Region: Oregon
Posts: 2,703
Quote:
Originally Posted by meno1994 View Post
Ok so if I get a tuner. I do it myself right? I've never looked into that.
If a 70 year old guy can do it, I'm sure a youngster can.
Just go buy one, put the can'd tune in..................if you want more contact one of good tuners mentioned here and they can email you one................if you can operate a computer you can do this...............and if you have trouble you can call the tuner manufacture like I did to help me through my first load/unload.
Simple
olerodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 01:42 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Las Vegas
Region: Nevada
Posts: 20
Do you think it'll also fix my too lean codes?
meno1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 01:50 PM   #21
Registered Member

Regular
 
olerodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Corvallis
Region: Oregon
Posts: 2,703
Quote:
Originally Posted by meno1994 View Post
Do you think it'll also fix my too lean codes?
I'm not guarantying that it will solve the over lean condition. As long as you don't have vacuum leaks I would think it should.
It solved the issue I had on my 2014 Coyote motor and back in the late 90's (we didn't really have tuners like they have now) when I put a CAI on my 97 SVT Cobra............it was tuned on chassis dyno and the lean condition issue was fixed.
Running a lean motor can lead to replacing pistons and or a motor.............IMHO
olerodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 02:17 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Grabber Blue5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East Haven
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 3,510
I would not be putting a tune on this car until you deal with the codes.
__________________
2017 Dodge Challenger T/A Redline Tri-Coat
2015 Dodge Challenger Scat Pack Jazz Blue Pearl Sold
2015 GT Premium 401A Ingot Silver Sold
2011 GT Premium 401A Grabber Blue Sold
Grabber Blue5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 02:37 PM   #23
Registered Member

Regular
 
olerodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Corvallis
Region: Oregon
Posts: 2,703
Quote:
Originally Posted by meno1994 View Post
Do you think it'll also fix my too lean codes?
Grabber Blue5.0 made a good point, putting a tune in the car with the codes is probably not the best thing to do.
How many miles does the car have on it? Did the check engine light come on after you drove it for a day, week, or ????
Has the dealer deleted the codes before.............if not have them delete the codes. Take the car out and drive it easy...........don't go WOT, just drive it like an "ole lady" for a couple of days and see if the check engine line comes on.............my guess is that driving it this way it won't.................then after a couple of days of no check engine light go out and put the pedal to the metal...............if the check engine light comes back on then I'd be pretty sure it's going lean at WOT and although it still could be a number of issues like fuel pump, injectors or ????, I would almost bet it is the CAI. The only way to really check would be to have the dealer check the air/fuel ratio at WOT to see where it is. Just a guess, but if you have the codes cleared and drive it easy around town and on the highway...........and the check engine light doesn't come on at least that would be a start to narrowing in on this issue.
Just thinking out loud.
olerodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 03:15 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
Koryak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Boulder
Region: Colorado
Posts: 79
Try borrowing a scan tool or get the dealer to tell you the "freeze frame" info for when the lean code was set. This will give an idea of engine load & rpm at he time the lean condition happened. Another thing to look at is the "long term fuel trim" data which has to be high like + 20 - 25 percent.
If the CAI tube has oversize non-stock diameter at the air flow sensor position then the stock tune can't read the flow correctly - like other posters have said. I think this would likely show up at light throttle or idle but the freeze frame data will tell all.
Koryak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 03:30 PM   #25
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapinator126 View Post
Does anyone read what is posted from b4.
If thr cai requires a tune thr car will not iddle correctly without it. The MAF signals will be messed up

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
My car wouldn't even run without a tune for my cai. I think all we need to. Solve this is a tune

Sent from my VS985 4G using Mustang Evolution mobile app
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 08:47 PM   #26
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: San Diego
Region: California
Posts: 1
It's definitely the tune. I just ran into the same problem


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
danixenia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 09:26 PM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rapinator126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 9,245
listen people listen

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Rapinator126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 09:35 PM   #28
Registered Member

Regular
 
olerodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Corvallis
Region: Oregon
Posts: 2,703
I'm listening, but no one is saying anything
olerodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 09:46 PM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rapinator126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 9,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by olerodder View Post
I'm listening, but no one is saying anything
Read my previous post. Not rocket science

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Rapinator126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 11:37 PM   #30
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapinator126 View Post
Read my previous post. Not rocket science

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
I'm so bad at listening

Sent from my VS985 4G using Mustang Evolution mobile app
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 10:53 AM   #31
Registered Member

Regular
 
olerodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Corvallis
Region: Oregon
Posts: 2,703
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapinator126 View Post
Read my previous post. Not rocket science

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Which one...........none of them seemed to say anything.
olerodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 10:57 AM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rapinator126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 9,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by olerodder View Post
Which one...........none of them seemed to say anything.
Said exactly what it needed to. I could care less if any of yall listen or not. Not my problem.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Rapinator126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 11:45 AM   #33
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Las Vegas
Region: Nevada
Posts: 20
Ok was looking around my gas tank area and something caught my eye. There is a hose sticking out where u put gas in leading to the gas tank. There is a ripped hose just sticking out!! I think that's leading air in.
meno1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 12:50 PM   #34
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Las Vegas
Region: Nevada
Posts: 20
Well I went to mechanic and I guess ford put that there to drain rain water ugh
meno1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System too lean bank 1 and 2... Suggestions? Ethier95 2005-2010 V6 Mustang 2 09-27-2013 09:15 AM
Bank 1 and bank 2 running lean. Rich04 1996-2004 Mustang GT 19 04-23-2013 08:20 PM
system to lean bank 2 kingc cobra 97 SVT Mustang 5 01-27-2013 12:20 PM
1998 4.6 running lean on bank 1 and 2 eddie1 1996-2004 Mustang GT 22 11-28-2009 05:54 PM
left bank lean 98mustang2007 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 1 09-17-2007 08:42 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



02:42 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.