System too lean error code - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-13-2015, 09:08 PM   #1

Region: Texas
System too lean error code

Ok, I will admit right now, I'm new to upgrades and tuning but reading a lot and seeing others accomplishments made me adventurous. Recently after adding a cold air intake upgrade and a Bama tune 93 octane i started getting miss fires on #3 and stalling on higher RPMs. I put back to stock and was still doing it...ran it for a bit, took it into Ford and they replaced a bad piston 3 gasket??? and they told me to run 87 octane from now on to prevent future error code P0171 and P0174. Ford asked me if I had added any fuel additives or boosters and I said yes, but several tanks earlier. They stated my fuel system ratio was at 14% and should only be at 2% fuel ratio. Ford dealer also informed me running 87 octane was preferred. That didn't really make sense to me and went against what I seen, but I did it anyways...running 87 octane for a few tanks....once again the error code came up again a couple of days ago. So, I'm seeking advice on how to proceed with my 2013 GT 5.0. I also googled the error code and discovered it might be a leaking PCV.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2015-03-07-22-09-09.jpg
Views:	149
Size:	722.8 KB
ID:	179951   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2015-03-07-22-09-25.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	724.5 KB
ID:	179952  

fosterclnjnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-13-2015, 09:17 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Its probably the intake, or you need to replave your mass air flow sensor,.

Sent from my SM-T217S using Mustang Evolution mobile app
509pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 10:41 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Region: California