Tuner wiped my ecu - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 05-25-2015, 12:38 PM   #1
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Cottonwood
Region: California
Posts: 7
Tuner wiped my ecu

Yesterday I went to upload a tune with my Bama sct x4 flash tuner. I took all the necessary steps to do so doing the same thing I'd always do. I turned my car off, plugged in the tuner and followed intrusions on the screen. Everything was going fine, I was really just changing the Rev limit in neutral to a higher rpm setting on the tune that was already on the car. After picking my setting the tune began to write to the car when all of a sudden the car freaked out and in the end the ecu seems to be wiped. When I turn the key now the car just beeps a lot and tells me to service everything, and won't even try to turn over. I can't even pop the trunk. I dont know what happens from here? My car got towed to the dealership but has to sit there until Tuesday before it can be fixed. Is my warranty voided because the tuner wiped it? What's the dealership gonna do to fix this?
ty_5oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-25-2015, 12:49 PM   #2
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Did you return the car to stock/update the tuner?
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 12:54 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Stangholio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: San antonio
Region: Texas
Posts: 222
I remember reading that happened to another guy. He had to send his ecu to Sct I think and they fixed it for him.
__________________
GHIGitty
Stangholio is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-25-2015, 01:52 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rapinator126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 9,253
Depends on the dealership.
My ECU completely got trashed about a year ago swapping to my nitrous tune. Had to completely replace it.
Chances are this is not what happened to you though. Should have let it sit for about 20 minutes updated the tuner and reloaded the stock tune. Then back to your custom tune.


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Rapinator126 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 01:53 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rapinator126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 9,253
But the #1 question is why would you change the rev limit in neutral? Rice much

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Rapinator126 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 02:23 PM   #6
Registered Member

Regular
 
oxford5pointoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Murica
Region: Other
Posts: 4,069
Hook line and sinker guys.


IG @Oxford5pointoh
oxford5pointoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 02:39 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
DWoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: League City
Region: Texas
Posts: 392
Seeing as how its his first post, I'm gonna go ahead and say he's f-ing with us. I'm sure he's back on his Honda forum. Or camaro forum. Same thing...
DWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 03:37 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Agent Kree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 76
That happened to me once, I was in the middle of tunning my car and turned it on by accident. It wouldn't turn on at all and all the lights were flashing. I called sct and they sent me a stock tune that forced itself into the ecu, and that solved everything. Car turned on normally after that.
Agent Kree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 06:28 PM   #9
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Cottonwood
Region: California
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by DWoody View Post
Seeing as how its his first post, I'm gonna go ahead and say he's f-ing with us. I'm sure he's back on his Honda forum. Or camaro forum. Same thing...
Not f-ing with you. I own a Mustang.
ty_5oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 06:30 PM   #10
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Cottonwood
Region: California
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapinator126 View Post
But the #1 question is why would you change the rev limit in neutral? Rice much

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
I changed the Rev limit in neutral to act as a launch control. It works and it's free, instead of buying a two step module.
ty_5oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 06:33 PM   #11
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Cottonwood
Region: California
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent Kree View Post
That happened to me once, I was in the middle of tunning my car and turned it on by accident. It wouldn't turn on at all and all the lights were flashing. I called sct and they sent me a stock tune that forced itself into the ecu, and that solved everything. Car turned on normally after that.
Hopefully I can do that too. Tried calling sct today but it's memorial day so they closed earlier than normal.
ty_5oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 06:39 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rapinator126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 9,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by ty_5oh View Post
I changed the Rev limit in neutral to act as a launch control. It works and it's free, instead of buying a two step module.
Lol

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Rapinator126 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 06:40 PM   #13
ME Bloodhound
Staff
 
Soccerluvr4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sacramento/Bay Area
Region: California
Posts: 14,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by ty_5oh View Post
I changed the Rev limit in neutral to act as a launch control. It works and it's free, instead of buying a two step module.

That is by far one of the worst ideas ever.


Bullitts are better than Bullets
__________________

Bullitt build paused pending graduation

HID end all thread
Soccerluvr4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 06:43 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Grabber Blue5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East Haven
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 3,510
This is why everyone should have a saved copy of their stock tune file on their computer.
__________________
2017 Dodge Challenger T/A Redline Tri-Coat
2015 Dodge Challenger Scat Pack Jazz Blue Pearl Sold
2015 GT Premium 401A Ingot Silver Sold
2011 GT Premium 401A Grabber Blue Sold
Grabber Blue5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 06:47 PM   #15
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Cottonwood
Region: California
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grabber Blue5.0 View Post
This is why everyone should have a saved copy of their stock tune file on their computer.
I have the stock tune, the programmer can't unlock the ecu anymore to get it on there. Everytime I try it just says error.
ty_5oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 07:41 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
mustanggt2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Tx
Region: Texas
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stangholio View Post
I remember reading that happened to another guy. He had to send his ecu to Sct I think and they fixed it for him.

Sounds like me.
Had to send in Ecu to them and they unlocked it and put stock tune back on all has been good since.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
mustanggt2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 07:41 PM   #17
Registered Member

Regular
 
Jon3.7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Deltona
Region: Florida
Posts: 399
Did you update your programmer via the downloadable updater from sct?

Sounds like you didn't.

I've had customers do the exact same thing, they buy a super chips or hypertech programmer for their vehicle, and don't listen to me when i tell them to update it before they plug it in.
__________________
2013 GT, A6, VMP Tuned, Lethal O/R H pipe, GT500 Mufflers
2016 EB, A6, Steeda Tuned, Steeda CAI
Jon3.7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 07:54 PM   #18
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Cottonwood
Region: California
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon3.7 View Post
Did you update your programmer via the downloadable updater from sct?

Sounds like you didn't.

I've had customers do the exact same thing, they buy a super chips or hypertech programmer for their vehicle, and don't listen to me when i tell them to update it before they plug it in.
Yeah I updated it the day before. I always make sure it's up to date before loading a tune.
ty_5oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 07:57 PM   #19
Registered Member

Regular
 
Jon3.7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Deltona
Region: Florida
Posts: 399
it's weird it won't return to stock, did it read the stock file?
__________________
2013 GT, A6, VMP Tuned, Lethal O/R H pipe, GT500 Mufflers
2016 EB, A6, Steeda Tuned, Steeda CAI
Jon3.7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 08:29 PM   #20
Registered Member

Regular
 
Ubnbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tazewell
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 3,532
You're not serious about neutral dropping your car.
__________________
Tint, louvers, Shelby brake light cover, sequentials, brake vent ring delete, Shorty antenna, JLT cold air intake, BAMA tune, VMP 2.5 S/C pulley, Ford racing shifter, MRT OR-H, SLP loudmouths, BMR adj PHB, BMR LCA, Eibach Pro-Kit, cobra jet big oval TB.
Ubnbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 08:31 PM   #21
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Cottonwood
Region: California
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ubnbit View Post
You're not serious about neutral dropping your car.
It's a manual, when the Clutch is in and you aren't moving it bounces at 3k rpm and once you dump it it goes back to a 7k Rev limit.
ty_5oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 05:15 AM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
mustanggt2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Tx
Region: Texas
Posts: 111
Everything was done right. Even programmer finished uploading file to Ecu and said it was done to start the car but as soon as I turned the key nothing and everything went haywire


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
mustanggt2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 12:42 PM   #23
Registered Member

Regular
 
olerodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Corvallis
Region: Oregon
Posts: 2,708
Just a question. I thought that when you downloaded a tune you were not supposed to update the programmer through the internet unless you had brought the car back to stock tune. They you would update the programmer and then download the updated program back into the car..................I thought that if you tried to revise the tune that was already in the car after you had updated your programmer on the internet that you would cause an issue...............is this true of false?
olerodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 02:02 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
b2673ad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mt Pleasant
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 427
Hello

Was this a second hand tuner or did you buy it direct from AM/Bama?
__________________
Kevin C.

2015 Roush RS1 Premium w PP
Roush Performance upgrade-- Tinted Windows
JLT Catch Can--Ford Racing Strut Brace
Flowmaster scavenger "Y" pipe resonator delete
b2673ad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Almost wiped out with a deer on the drive home yesterday... tym_v6 The Bar 7 04-08-2015 06:31 AM
Got wiped out :( Blu13stang Pictures and Videos 21 10-01-2013 01:47 PM
Solution for Locked ECU from SCT Tuner Untamed5.0 2011-2014 Mustang GT 7 07-05-2012 02:23 PM
ECU code FA23...sound right? MUSTANGJUNKY420 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 6 08-11-2003 05:35 PM
Superchip for ECU # BEH1 MUSTANGJUNKY420 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 3 08-02-2003 12:31 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



02:36 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.