Installation of H-Pipe - a couple of tips - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-13-2015, 01:21 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Illinois
Installation of H-Pipe - a couple of tips

I know there are many threads about an off-road 'H' or 'X' and which is better. I decided to go with Lethal Performances 'H' pipe. Great construction and fit perfectly. The purpose of my post is to give a few extra pointers when installing your off-road pipe. I'm not a master mechanic (elementary school principal by day), but enjoy turning wrench on my car. I found I had to do a few small different things compared to what is mentioned on Youtube installation videos. For the novice to intermediate mechanic, I'm hoping this helps.

1.) Already a given, but PB Blaster on the bolts/nuts the night before.

2.) Use 6-point sockets instead of 12. This made a world of difference on the PITA passenger side nut.

3.) Speaking of the passenger side nut, use 3/8 extensions and not 1/2 extensions. By using the 3/8, you will be able to fit your extensions in the small space allotted and at the right angle to get to the nut. The size of 1/2 extension does not allow this and your will have to use a swivel.

I hope this info makes it easier for some. The installation was not easy by having the car on jack stands and doing it by myself. I am now a professional contortionist.

Now time for an AED tune!
litfuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-13-2015, 10:03 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Texas
I'll be adding one of the Lethal H-pipes this year, thanks for the helpful install tips.
Nater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2015, 10:11 PM   #3
Registered Member

Regular

Region: Tennessee
Awesome work bro! Nice to see an educator on. I work for the department of education in Kentucky.