Confused about first step in SCT tuning - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-18-2015, 08:43 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Columbia
Region: Illinois
Posts: 134
Confused about first step in SCT tuning

I am in the beginning stages of tuning my 2014 GT using an SCT x4 tuner. I have data logged the car and have sent them to my tuner and got his approval to move forward with the base tune. I have not uploaded any tunes from the SCT tuner to the cars ecu. However, my tuner said I should flash the car back to stock before I upload his base tune file. My question is, once you do this, it puts the stock file back on to the car and it is now off the SCT tuner. How do I get the stock file back? Should I flash the car back to stock, shut everything down and immediately start the SCT tuner up again and upload the tuner's base file?

I want to make sure I follow the correct procedures. Thank you in advance for your feedback and advice.
litfuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-18-2015, 10:09 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Black8thElement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,117
I could be wrong but once you marry your car to the tuner the stock tune should already be saved.



Black 2008 GT "to punish and enslave" edition
Black8thElement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2015, 10:10 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Black8thElement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,117
I could be wrong but once you marry your car to the tuner the stock tune should already be saved.




Black 2008 GT "to punish and enslave" edition
Black8thElement is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-18-2015, 10:12 PM   #4
Registered Member

Regular
 
natestang07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Soap Lake
Region: Washington
Posts: 5,321
Yep and then you can hook it up to your computer and save your stock tune just in case
natestang07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2015, 10:13 PM   #5
Registered Member

Regular
 
Ubnbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tazewell
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 3,532
Exactly right.
__________________
Tint, louvers, Shelby brake light cover, sequentials, brake vent ring delete, Shorty antenna, JLT cold air intake, BAMA tune, VMP 2.5 S/C pulley, Ford racing shifter, MRT OR-H, SLP loudmouths, BMR adj PHB, BMR LCA, Eibach Pro-Kit, cobra jet big oval TB.
Ubnbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 03:36 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Beviking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Syracuse
Region: New York
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by litfuse View Post
I am in the beginning stages of tuning my 2014 GT using an SCT x4 tuner. I have data logged the car and have sent them to my tuner and got his approval to move forward with the base tune. I have not uploaded any tunes from the SCT tuner to the cars ecu. However, my tuner said I should flash the car back to stock before I upload his base tune file. My question is, once you do this, it puts the stock file back on to the car and it is now off the SCT tuner. How do I get the stock file back? Should I flash the car back to stock, shut everything down and immediately start the SCT tuner up again and upload the tuner's base file?

I want to make sure I follow the correct procedures. Thank you in advance for your feedback and advice.
If you haven't uploaded any tunes to your car, then your car is using the stock tune so no need to "flash the car back to stock". When you upload his base tune, yes, the stock tune is stored on the X4. If you want to upload another tune in the future, then you would "flash the car back to stock" by uploading your stock tune back onto/into your car. Anytime you load a tune onto/into the car, whatever file is on the car gets stored onto the X4 and the file you choose goes onto the car. Once a tune is finish loading, you can scroll through the menu on the X4 to choose another option (load a tune, data log etc) so no, you don't have to shut anything down, you can immediately load the next tune.
Beviking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 03:44 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Columbia
Region: Illinois
Posts: 134
Thank you everyone for your help. Beviking, your explanation should be put into the SCT tuned manual. It would answer many questions for people.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
litfuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Confused on my next step johnathan2225 1996-2004 Mustang GT 9 10-09-2014 10:06 PM
Progress on long tube headers install and step by step insall Luna1994 2005-2010 Mustang GT 76 01-08-2014 04:51 PM
01 vert deck step by step Tec_ Mustang Audio & Video 5 01-22-2013 12:48 AM
Need a step by step Blackedout Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 2 05-22-2011 12:35 AM
w00t! one small step for me, one giant step for my car fast64 Mustang Audio & Video 5 06-02-2004 02:54 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



09:02 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.