Catch can questions. - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-18-2015, 08:09 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: New Hampshire
Catch can questions.

I have a 14GT that now has about 20k miles. I've never used a catch can before but understand there's some real benefits to using one.
Is it kinda too late to worry about adding one now or is any time the right time? Just how much oil collects in it every time it's due for an oil change? I'm currently doing mine between 3 to 5k miles with M1 extended performance 5w20 and Motorcraft filter FL500S.
I'm thinking of getting the JLT passenger side can. The main thing holding me back is its $120 and isn't one of those mods you buy and can see on your car and think..."That's sweet!" It's a hidden maintenance mod that may or may not be required , so spending that extra money keeps getting postponed for things like bills and stupid stuff.
Also, anyone running the Ford Racing FL820 larger filter? Benefits to it or no?
Waylap1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-18-2015, 08:36 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Missouri
I have run breathers (pvc delete) since 3000 miles. I have no vacuum issues nor codes. When I swapped intakes at 5k miles my intake ports (into the head) were coated with oil from the first 3k miles. I thoroughly cleaned them up before cj install. I honestly believe it helps a ton with the crankcase ventilation along with keeping knock down. No more burnt oil and gases (highly acidic) being recirculated through my engine. The usual experts will have their own opinions...
Old 07-19-2015, 12:10 AM   #3
Registered Member

Regular

Region: Oregon
I've been running a UPR Plug-n-Play w/Goodyear hoses for almost 5000 miles.