Engine ticking after oil change?? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-08-2015, 12:30 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Florida
Engine ticking after oil change??

I just got my oil changed at the Ford dealership I usually go to and on my way home I hear that damn tick coming from the engine again. Did the same thing for about a thousand miles after my last oil change. I'm no expert on what causes the dreaded 5.0 engine ticking but I know this shoud not be happening. 2013 5.0 39k miles
Thanks

2013 Sterling Grey GT/Brembo package/SR Performance lowering springs/J&M adjustable panhard bar/Roush axle back/AEM CAI
Eric5oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-08-2015, 12:45 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Canada
nobody really seems to know what causes the 5.0 ticking, hell not even Ford has any idea. There are plenty of theory's but nothing is conclusive. when i bought my 2012 new it had the tick after my first oil change as well, i never had a problem with the car related to the ticking noise at all. I honestly just got used to it and didn't think anything of it after a little while. The tick persisted with my car for 2 years before i put a forged rotating assembly into it. funny enough i haven't heard the tick at all since i started my car back up a couple of months ago after getting built.
Old 10-08-2015, 01:43 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Illinois
Yes they do. It's the ac tensioner tsb. Look it up you'll see.

Sent from my SM-G928V using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-08-2015, 01:50 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Canada
well i stand corrected, granted last time i searched about the tick was a while ago. and now i see why i don't have the tick anymore, i took everything A/C related out of my car.