Double clutch? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-12-2016, 01:30 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Wisconsin
Double clutch?

I've been driving stick for almost 25 years and I've never even heard of double clutching. Someone recently told me it's something one is supposed to do less you ruin your synchros and wear out other parts. I've yet to experience these problems in any manual car I've owned.

What say you?

Sent from my XT1096 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Brewcityf6b is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-12-2016, 01:56 PM   #2
Registered Member

Regular

Region: Washington
Double clutching is only needed when your transmission is non-synchromesh........so basically, not since the 60's.
It has to do with bringing the next gear selected up to speed so they don't grind when you shift --- not needed in a synchromesh transmission, which does exactly that for you.
Guard 5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2016, 02:02 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Connecticut
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guard 5.0 View Post
Double clutching is only needed when your transmission is non-synchromesh........so basically, not since the 60's.
It has to do with bringing the next gear selected up to speed so they don't grind when you shift --- not needed in a synchromesh transmission, which does exactly that for you.
Probably early 60s. My 65 Mustang has a 4 speed syncromesh transmission. If I remember correctly the 3 speed transmission in that car might not have had a syncro on 1st gear but I'm not sure about that. No need to double clutch our transmissions for sure.