Steering problem after header install - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 05-09-2016, 05:48 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Virginia
Steering problem after header install

Hi everyone.
This is my first time posting on this site but I've come here for a lot of answers in the past and maybe you can help me again.
I just did a long tube header install on my 2012 GT this weekend. During that whole ordeal I had to disconnect the steering shaft from the u joint at the rack and pinion. Now that it's all put together, the steering wheel has a lot of dead space when I first start to turn either direction and it makes this popping sound that I can even feel in the wheel when it hits the edge that dead spot. For a second it feels like the steering is completely disconnected and then it pops and goes back to normal.
Every joint along the steering shaft looks fine and if I put my hand on the connection right behind the steering wheel where the shaft first connects, the pop feels the strongest.
Before I disconnected the steering shift during the header work, the steering was tight and responsive all the way around. Any idea what this could be?
J Vic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-09-2016, 06:42 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Texas
The shaft is rubbing (pause) against the header. Which headers did you install? Mine did that too when I installed it. It would pop pop pop as I turn however it has stopped a long time ago.
Joaquin_ii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2016, 06:53 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Maryland
There's gotta be a better solution then hoping it goes away!

Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
dave73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-09-2016, 07:16 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular