Mustang Evolution Forum banner

Noob here. Looking for info on why cold air intakes are a waste of money...or not

Tags
cai
6K views 39 replies 12 participants last post by  olerodder 
#1 ·
Can someone with knowledge on the subject explain why a CAI is a waste of $? Or conversely, why they actually work?

I would appreciate any info.
Thank you in advance.

#2 ·
Because I'm too lazy to type, I copied this quote that might help you...

Ok, let's just take a look at basic physics.....

The2013 Mustang 5.0 V8, for example if close to stock (assuming 6,800 max rpm& 90% volumetric efficiency- note that is race car spec and likely higherthan reality) can only suck in a maximum of 535 CFM, and the OEM flat panel filter ( 12.375” x 9.675”) will flow 718cfm, ....so how can just a CAI force more air into an engine thatis already injesting everything it can? It can't plan & simple- basic lawsof physics without a forced induction system. What many view as an issue (is the plastic intake tube withits noise canceling design) actually increases air pressure. It is the samehydraulic concept used by fire fighters creating water supply where psi is low.By having the air cross the path at a 90 degree angle, the pressure isincreased proportionally. Fire fighters use what is called a “4-way valve” or“Blake Valve” at the hydrant where the water is cycled through the fire engine(pump) and sent back into the valve crossing the water flow at a 90 degreeangle. In this case it also acts as a sound canceling device! At low speeds,this can reduce the flow a tad (which is what most “feel”), but in terms ofpeak hp/tq, a good high flow filter is all that is needed....again, basicphysics.